Weekend Market MRT Sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Non Food Items

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

Last week I posted some of the food on offer at the weekend market at MRT Sutthisan in Bangkok Thailand. But this market has more than food! Today, I am showing you some of the non food items and a bit more of the scene.

The market runs on Saturday and Sunday from about 3-4 in the afternoon and closes when it gets dark at about 7. I am always late, so lets get started!

I had to wait for a motorcycle to leave, just to be able to get in today. Some of the market is fenced, some is blocked by stalls, and some places like this one gather motorcycles. The entire market area is so jam-packed that you have to choose your entry wisely.

Market Friday entrance mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

These talking dinosaurs are in a big stall with every kind of toy your small child would want to have.

Market Friday talking dinosaurs mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

I brought three pairs of reading glasses with me when I came to Thailand, and I did not need to. Glasses are for sale everywhere you go and often set out just like this. Eyeglass vendors are very commonly seen on any street.

Many people wear the non-prescription type of glasses for eye protection on the busy streets of Bangkok. Few besides Westerners wear sunglasses. I get asked about mine frequently as Thai people wonder if I have weak eyes. We walk on the side of the road here. You never know what might fly up into your face from the traffic, so the clear ones are the way to go - day and night.

Market Friday glasses mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun (2).jpg

Plastic household items are sold in many of the stalls. These cups and and containers are a very tiny part of what is on offer to fill your every need.

Market Friday plastic mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

More plastic in another stall! This little girl was holding money and very intent on finding something she wanted to buy. As you see by the sign, everything in the area she is looking at is sold for 20 thb, which is 60 cents usd.

Market Friday plastic scene 2 mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

Jeans of many varieties are in this stall, though I do not know where you would go to try them on. I am always very impressed that nothing is out of place here in this curious section of off-brand knockoffs. This is one of the busiest aisleways in the whole market. You have to be patient in this area, just to walk along.

Often I read advice in my SE Asian groups for Westerners: Do not bring your jeans with you. It is too hot and humid here for them to be comfortable and the fabric holds moisture. But SE Asians definitely wear jeans and some of these are "dry-fast," so that must reduce the problem.

Market Friday jeans mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

Oddly enough, the jeans are sold across the aisle from this display of raw pork products. Most of the other clothing is off in the back and I think the jean seller must pay extra to be in this high-traffic prime location.

Market Friday fresh meat mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

I'm passing up the chicken sticks for the moment as I am taking photos now. My friend here knows I will be back, but I will not be buying the rice - it's only liver on a stick here for me! Out of the many liver on a stick vendors I know of, this place is one of the best and most friendly.

I don't need to rush for this stall as it is one that stays open until the very last moment. I think the other vendors must buy from here after they close their own stall. If I get here too late for anything else, I will still be able to get my liver. In the back of this shot you can see a glimpse of the barbecue that continually turns out more meat sticks.

Market Friday rice and chicken sticks at mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfun.jpg

It's getting dark now, so I need to buy some rice and get my other purchases done. Who knew I would be buying rice balls in Thailand tightly wrapped in plastic bags for about 20 cents! I certainly had no idea, but this is the cheapest and most convenient way to buy rice. One or two of these packets will last me a week. I get the red variety for an extra 2 thb.

Market Friday dark rice mrt sutthisan Bangkok Thailand Weekend fitinfiun.jpg

Many stalls will already be sold out and closed now. The rest will go quickly as night falls. Next week I will show you more of the scene.

Here is a short video taken on another day before I did my shopping so you can get an idea of the size and scope of my favorite converted parking lot.

And the continuation of that video will show you the winter coats!

My post is for #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle. This is an awesome place to find all kinds of things for sale around the world so please do stop by!

I am blogging about weight loss to help others get thin and healthy like I did. If you or anyone you know is struggling to beat obesity, please follow along and you can do this too.

Before and after later that same life fitinfun.jpg

Let's Pretend to Lose Weight - Deciding to track your weight and face reality
Yes, You CAN Lose Weight! - Finding out your BMI and getting over excuses
Weight Loss - Let’s Get Started Today - First steps to successful weight loss
Portion Sizes and Nutrition How big is a portion of food?
Weight Loss Bad Ideas Don't try these!
Easy Exercise - Stretching and Walking If you are fitness walking, stretching before and after will help you in many ways.

Help Us Stay on Steemit

If you would like to help my son @bxlphabet and I stay on steemit, but your upvote is just not enough, here are my wallet and PayPal addresses where I will be so grateful for any help. Any input or ideas will be so welcome.

BitcoinCash - BCH

1Bmcyk8Fk9micU3RWjWu3H1P2fvHyj71d6

Bitcoin - BTC

362ncqbi6qJn1daB8mrRrjYYWJ2HwpvcPZ

Dash - DAS

Xs7xdJHeRHRqdwF8RQuo6tPHUdXPm7viZp

Litecoin - LTC

Lhuh274DFkS6CNq4SJjhNem242QYwcTu59

Byteball

6IMJINL2UG3XPT2WJDUGNGBDC4HUCOXL

PayPal Thailand:

[email protected]

PayPal US:

[email protected]

Sort:  

All over the world there are these types of markets, and I have always liked to see what new things surprise me.

Yes, it is really amazing to see the difference and also how they are the same!

Want a FREE RESTEEM?
Follow Me & Will resteem your blog for free !!
Do not forget to provide your blog link which you want to resteem.

Source
Leaving comments asking for votes, follows, or other self promotional messages could be seen as spam.

More Information:

The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Got You, Thank you so much for the information.

You have 231 followers. I have over 5000. You need to up your game with this nonsense.

This is not nonsense. Everyone have to start from Zero (0). But, No worries, thank you so much for your reply.

You would be much better off to create content people want to read instead of spamming people's posts with your useless resteem offer. If this is how you start, I do not see success coming your way.

I have this older post of ideas on how to do better on steemit. Do not vote for it, but it has some good ideas that may help you.

Make Money Blogging on Steemit Top Tips and Checklist for Better Results!!

Also this one is old too, but gives you ideas for better upvotes.

Minnow Tips! Get Upvotes Now!
steemit minnow tips get upvotes now fitinfun.jpg

Thank You. Let me grow through it. It will help me for sure. Thanks for your advise.

You're welcome. Good luck.

This is purely local market..thanks dear

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 23 SBD worth and should receive 184 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hello, my loyal @trufflepig bot. You always give me hope and thank you so much for the encouagement!

I love your markets and also have come to love Thailand, from you and several others that post for #MarketFriday on a regular basis. The food and prices are amazing and the other markets with tupperware, coats and other things is staggering.

I would be in shoppers heaven! LOL

I know you will be leaving there, but, I know the draw of Thailand will lure you back! Thank you so much for your awesome Market! I so appreciate the time spent gathering and putting it together!

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

You are the best, @dswigle. I am so glad these posts give you the urge to come here. It is really a wonderful place.

Hi @fitinfun! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09