Ten Days of Reflection: Challenge Day 3. Tidal pools at Shellharbour. NSW. Australia. Original photography.

in #magicalmoments7 years ago (edited)

I walk.
Upon the reefs. Carefully.
Feeling the salt air. Hearing the silence.
Of a pelican gliding. A roaring tunnel of turquoise.
Shimmering golden light. Dances. Reflections of the morning reef.
~Ally.


This coastal area requires a different way of seeing, for one to see all the beauty that's there. Not surprisingly I found that the longer I stayed on the reef, the more I was able to slow down and be open to its rugged and extraordinary beauty. ~Ally.


These photographs were the last, taken on my last morning at Shellharbour.

Same immovable little rock in front of the same solid part of a ledge of the reef.

1000.ORIGINAL-8.jpg


However the golden reflections cast onto the water from the reef ledge were dancing with joy and the eternally changing crystal turquoise light, just as each wave curled was truly Food for the Soul.

1000.ORIGINAL-5.jpg


Ten Days of Reflection Challenge.

The rules of this challenge are simple and can be found HERE.


Thank's so much @ilovedietcoke for creating this inspiring #tendaysofreflection challenge where the beauty of reflections: Whether they be in nature or the 'material world' can be highlighted for all to enjoy.


I'd like to nominate @lightsplasher: A lover of life through 3D graphics, art, photography, writing, cryptocoins and zen to participate in this challenge ~ Or anyone else who has an eye for the magical beauty of reflections.


Ten Days of Reflection.

Ten Days of Reflection: Challenge Day 1.
Ten Days of Reflection: Challenge Day 2. Bass Point Marine Reserve.


Other photographs: Shellharbour to Bass Point Marine Reserve.

  1. Shellharbour and Bass Point Marine Reserve.
  2. Magical Moments on the Reef at Shellharbour: Sydney South Coast.
  3. Seven Day Poetry Challenge. How to see different layers of water all at the same time.

About Shellharbour
About Bass Point Reserve


Art and Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
Camera: Sony Alpha A7 Mark II.
Processing: Lightroom.


T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1.png

Sort:  

I enjoyed your reflections with your reflection photos. I esp loved the gold shimmer in the waters set against the strength of the rock and the waves.

Nicely done.

I don't think I'd ever seen a golden shimmer on water quite like this before @countrygirl. It could hardly be seen in the photographs until I brought it out a bit more with Lightroom.

These photographs are such poor replicas of the water and light in motion, as I actually saw it. But I guess that's the nature of nature and photography. 🦋

It's very true that the photos just don't bring all the senses and memory together. I know. You have to be there.

You did a great job of bringing out the golden tones and to those of us seeing them, we get to experience them differently than real life, but it's still enjoyable.

That day was just for you. I believe that. When I experience nature in an awe inspiring way, I believe it was just for me. Not in a selfish way, but in a way like a gift.

Beautiful photos and words, that place looks so peaceful.

Thanks so much Michelle.

Was 'a breath of fresh air' to have a holiday completely by myself. Even though it was only for a few days: Time expanded.

Lovely to connect with you. Following you to see more of your amazing fashion photography. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy.png

Thanks for the pleasure! Great photos!

Thanks so much Olga. There are many different beaches in Australia. And the reefs are teeming with sea-life. So pleased you liked this glimpse of the reefs. @olga.maslievich. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy.png

What a gorgeous contrast of colors in your reflection photo. Just beautiful Ali

Thanks so much @sunscape. Not sure why the reflection was so golden. It may have been just the light reflected from the reef shelf or it may have been due to something under the water as well. Whatever it was, the effect was sheer magic.

A beach I stayed at more than a year ago now, 400 kms north of Sydney, had the most amazing crystal turquoise waves. I spent hours trying to capture the waves just as they were curling to capture this magical light. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy.png

You certainly managed to capture the wave perfectly, but that golden glow... wow. I see these colors in a seaside soap in the near future.... hmmm

Amazing landscape dear Alison! Beach is gorgeous :)

Truly was an amazing landscape Maya.

Your sunrise/sunset photographs inspired me to photograph the sunrise at Shellharbour too. I hadn't taken sunrise photographs before ~ And this was the perfect place. Just being up before dawn was magical. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy.png

This is amazing! Do you use presets in LR? I was reading your post expecting to see that you used film so the Sony threw me off. The color is so similar to film, I'm floored that it's digital!

Thanks so much Katie.

I don't use presets but edit each image individually according to what it needs in LR.

I play with most of the settings, contrast, highlights, shadows, luminance etc. Generally, I tend towards muting saturation, but in most of my images of Shellharbour and Bass Point, I increased the vibrancy and saturation. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy.png

You did a great job! I use a color and a black and white preset which I then tweak as the image needs. I also have a separate preset for film. I do this for consistency, as a portrait/wedding photographer I have to have a style that is the same across the body of my work so my clients know what they’ll be getting. That said, my presets are built off of freebies I found online but I changed them to what I like so all I need to adjust typically are white balance and exposure.

Thanks so much Katie. I've seen presets before, but haven't tried using them. I'll look into it with the idea of adapting a few to suit my personal preferences. Sounds like it would make life a lot easier instead of editing ever single photograph from scratch. 🦋♥︎🦋

Alternatively, if you consistently edit the same way, you can create your own preset, I did a combination. I downloaded a freebie and then tweaked it and I still make small adjustments to each image but it cuts my editing time WAY down.

Beautiful photos Ally. You always bring a very welcome sense of piece with your images. Thank you! 💙

So lovely to hear that my photographs can give you a sense of peace Gillian.

Photographs can take you there, in a sense, but it requires the interaction of your imagination as well. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy.png

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 4/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 09:28:50
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 58.60/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 48
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thanks so much @photocontests. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57