Seven Day Poetry Challenge. Day 2. How to see different layers of water all at the same time. Original photography. Poetry.

in #magicalmoments7 years ago (edited)

Let me.
Walk upon the sands.
Near the shores of Shelley Beach.
Let me gaze into pools. With jewels just out of reach.
~Ally.


I've been invited by Isabel @nolasco to participate in @dejan.vuckovic's Seven Day Poetry Challenge.

The rules are simple:

Write one poem every day for 7 days.
Use the tag: #poetrychallenge as one of your 5 tags.
Nominate a different person every day to join you in the challenge.


Jewels just out of reach.

This second 'poem' was inspired by memories of time spent alone at Shellharbour and Bass Point Marine Reserve, a three hour train trip from Sydney: Rekindled by photographs taken there of old weathered shells and the rockpools they had lain in for eons, as well as a few photographs of the most ordinary sand patterns you may have ever seen for @kus-knee's Mundane as Art: Sand Patterns Challenge.


My writings.

In my initial article: Seven Day Poetry Challenge. Day 1. We three kings I spoke about my 'poems' only ever being a few short lines and how they are developed freeing as I'm sharing one of my photographs.

Of how: Words come to me, which I sometimes have to find out what they actually mean: My love of the obvious as much as the obscure and my desire for minimalism although my creations are propelled to complexity.

And how: I use single words and short phrases that are often interrupted and flow onto the next line, to lose their original meaning.

In imagery, I've always loved transparency: Be it in watercolour and acrylic glazes, collage and sculpture and now in my own work with glass and ice. And it occurs to be that this quality might come into my writing now as well, in some still un-be-known to me way.

Sweeping curves. Jewels just out of reach.

1000.ORIGINAL-14.jpg


Layers of water currents.

Have you ever become aware of the different layers of water currents, when you look down into rock-pools? It's mesmerizing.

Surface ocean currents can be deep and narrow while other currents are shallow and wide. Some move quickly while others move more slowly. Currents are often affected by the shape of the ocean floor and can also change in depth and speed over time. Source: Surface Ocean Currents.

Gaze softly upon the surface of the water of a rock-pool and you may actually see different layers of water moving in different directions at different speeds. I only just noticed this a few years ago and ever since have been totally enthralled by it.

Still water. Surface ripples. Multicolored Jewels.

1000.ORIGINAL-17.jpg


How to see different layers of water all at the same time.

An easy way to train yourself to see these different layers all at the same time is to look into a rock-pool. Look at the bottom layer: The shells and starfish, crevices and crabs. Now see the top surface layer: The light dancing on the ripples of this layer of water as it comes and goes. Now you may notice that there is a layer in-between. And as you tune in: You can see all three layers moving at different speeds.

Maybe there are many many more layers, but I'm in Sea Heaven when I see three.

Rock crevices. Sea Creatures. Barely a ripple. So close you can almost touch them.

1000.ORIGINAL-5.jpg


Once again: The 'poem' with a few shifts and a second verse. All sung to the beat of Orinoco Flow:

Let me walk.
Let me walk. On the shores of Shelley Beach.
Let me gaze. Let me gaze. To jewels just out of reach.

Let me see.
Let me see. Far beyond the surface waves.
Let me love. Let me love. This space that none enslaves.


I'd like to nominate a musician and writer of poetry and prose, Jerry E Smith @jerrytsuseer as my second participant for the Seven Day Poetry Challenge.

Thanks so much Dejan @dejan.vuckovic for initiating the Seven Day Poetry Challenge and a heart felt thanks to Isabel @nolasco for nominating me.

People I have invited to join the Seven Day Poetry Challenge.

  1. @sunscape

Art and Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
Camera: Sony Alpha A7 Mark II.
Processing: Lightroom.


T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1.png

Sort:  

Wow. This is such a beautiful post!

A simple and beautiful poem enhanced by "the Jewels just out of reach" image. Is that how it actually looked or is it filtered?

I didn't know you could see different layers of water moving in different directions. I'm gong to take a closer look next time I'm near a rock-pool.

"Words come to me, which I sometimes have to find out what they actually mean". What a lovely idea. Trying to think if this is true for me. I once doodled the word Athos, thought I'd made up but then discovered it was the name of one of the 3 Muskateers!

This has filled me with inspiration. I'm going to head to the attic today and create some art of my own. 😍

Thank you!

Thank YOU so very much Gillian.

For me they were absolutely magical in almost neutral shades, but I did enhance the depth of colour a little for this 'poem.'

I'll share another series with greenish pearly oyster shells sometime and leave the colour as it was.

I've also seen different layers of water moving in different rhythms in deeper waters as well Gillian. Looking down from jetties. Once you see it, it's really magical.

No-one had ever told me about it. It was something I just started seeing and ever since then, I look for it.

Have fun in your attic. I'll look forward to seeing what you do. Would you like to be nominated for this challenge? You don't need to be of course, but it would be great to nominate you.

MAGICAL MOMENTS copy.png

Yes. I would like to be nominated. Thank you. I couldn't find any information about it though. Could you direct me to the original page?

I searched for the original post when Isabel @nolasco nominated me Gillian. Couldn't find it as @dejan.vuckovic has posted a lot more of his personal images since then.

Don't know how long it has been going for or anything much about it really. Just that when it was presented to me, I had the feeling to participate. More to inspire me into writing more about my work. No rewards, except personal.

The 'rules' are basic: And I can't see that anyone will hold you to them.

Write one poem every day for 7 days.
Use the tag: #poetrychallenge as one of your 5 tags.
Nominate a different person every day to join you in the challenge.

I think I've broken the 'rule' about one poem every day ~ But that was very much on the cards from the beginning. 😊

I'll probably post my next 'poem' tomorrow. And will be absolutely delighted to nominate you. You don't need to wait till then to start though. Hope you enjoy the 'challenge' now.

PS: The one rule to stick by: 'Use the tag: #poetrychallenge as one of your 5 tags' so I'll be sure to see your 'poems.' 🦋

Thanks for the info @allyinspirit. If it's not too late please go ahead and nominate me. It will be a challenge to write poetry I think, especially without a topic for inspiration so I'm curious to see what emerges. 😍

Pleasure Gillian. Hope to have my next poetry post ready soon. Will be a pleasure to nominate you in it.

Most of the time I start with an image I'd like to share, and let the words come as I look at it. And combine it with whatever is happening around me at the time. Might be something someone says to me or something I hear on the radio or read.

Juxtiposing impressions from different sources can be interesting. I don't worry if my poems make sense ~ Because sometimes new and unexpected meanings come from the juxtapositions.

Everyone will have their own interpretation of what poetry is. For me it doesn't have to rhyme or meet any past 'rules.' Have fun. 🦋

That's a great idea . . . to start with an image. That's what I'll do. Thanks! 💙

Gillian, I've just invited you: Infinity smiles. 🦋

Thank you. I'll be starting later today! Excited and nervous at the same time!

What a beauty...! With jewels just out of reach. Love the image and the sense within... and without reach. As you only see the layers if the water is still. We shall not touch... we shall contemplate. As so many other thing in life. Well done, sweetie, love this! Big kiss and hug!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64503.74
ETH 3188.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56