❄️♡❄️ Magical Moments on the Reef at Shellharbour: Sydney South Coast. Original Photography. Color Challenge.

in #magicalmoments7 years ago (edited)

Alone.
Totally alone.
Except for my thoughts.
Now: Bright red reef. Shelves of time.
~Ally.

1000.1-6.RED.CR.jpg

It is the function of art to renew our perception. ~Anaïs Nin.

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: ISO 100: 35 mm: f/6.3: 1/60 sec.


1000.1-6.RED.lighter.jpg

What we are familiar with we cease to see. ~Anaïs Nin.

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: ISO 100: 35 mm: f/6.3: 1/60 sec.


Magical Moments on the reef: Shellharbour to Bass Point Marine Reserve.

I still can't seem to find the words to adequately describe what it was to be, photograph and create on the reef between Shellharbour and Bass Point Marine Reserve. So let me simply share these two photographs, taken on the reef and colour morphed using LightRoom.

❄️♡❄️ Magical Moments:

Magical Moments is not a 'challenge' ~ My vision is that it will become more a 'Curated Gallery' where selected contributions will be Upvoted and Resteemed and in time awarded ~ In some as yet unknown way.

Your article for Magical Moments can simply be an image or set of images and/or descriptions that have the power to transport your audience to the special space (outer and/or inner) that you were in, when you experienced that 'Magical Moment.'

For more details, gently touch the 'reef' below:

wishing you many red rock

Sort:  

Beautiful photos

Magical indeed. Reefs are such amazing worlds to visit.

Thanks so much Melinda. First impressions these reefs can be almost like wastelands ~ Nothing much seems to be there. But then as you slow down, you begin to not just see, but feel more and more of the incredible beauty that's within this vast micro eco structure.

MAGICAL moments red rock

Fantastic dear friend :) Follow you

Thank you so much @saqib. The underwater world on the reef was so magical. Inspiration for one's fantasy to soar.

MAGICAL moments red rock

I would love to meditate here Ally :) Thank you for sharing this portal for my consciousness to dive into <3

Reiki Hugs!

Such a pleasure to share this wondrous space with you @reiki-trail.

On the surface the reef appears to be just a very 'ordinary' series of (almost drab) rock ledges. But the longer I stayed ~ S 🐌 L 🐌 O 🐌 W 🐌 L 🐌 Y ~ Carefully walking over them ~ Tuning into the life that was teeming in the tiny crevices and tidal pools, the more enchanting this eco micro world became.

Two of the four days that I stayed at Shellharbour, I was able to spend the entire day, by myself, on the reefs and beach ~ From before sunrise till after sunset. Although I sat in the early morning (after photographing the sunrise) the entire day virtually became like a meditation.

Bass Point Reserve was a few kilometers along the beach: The energy of this area is V ✼ E ✼ R ✼ Y special. I sensed it while I was there ~ But didn't know its history till I returned home and researched it:

The indigenous people of this land occupied the Bass Point Reserve area for some 20,000 years prior to the arrival of European settlers and it was and continues to be a significant traditional meeting place.

To be continued.

MAGICAL moments red rock

Ally - I've been here before in another lifetime..... all I can say is.... reading your reply has moved me to tears..and brought deeper into the portal that opened yesterday when reading your post.

It is clearly time for me to explore this part of a past life...I thank you for this opportunity and cosmic prodding :)

Love You SiStar!!!

5 months later @reiki-trail. The impulse to share more about my experiences and the photographs taken at Bass Point is alive and kicking.

I just shared an article relating the majesty of sand and stars for: The Mundane as Art: Round 8: Sand Patterns.

At Bass Point I had to look WAY past all my preconceptions of what makes a beach beautiful.

Perhaps I'd been there before too. As a 'cityite' I don't have a lot of personal contact with our indigenous people ~ Yet I do feel a connection with them. One day I'll have to tell my own story about the delightful connection I had with Burnum Burnum.

Live the edit and reds intrigued about magical moments so off I go to see

Thanks so much Jay.

'Magical Moments' is still in her infancy. Not a 'challenge' in the usual sense of the term at Steemit. But it sometimes can challenge us to write about and illustrate those moments that stood out as having been special or 'magical' in some way, to us.

I really hope you'll have lots and lots of magical moments, that you'll wish to share ~ Just use the tag #magicalmoments as one of the 5 allotted tags.

MAGICAL moments red rock

Ok cool thanks for the info

You are lucky to have seen those, never saw any ref in real! The red in the second photo is stunning :)

5 months later @jamisa. Initially the reefs didn't excite me in a visual sense. But gradually I began to see just how lucky I was.

I'm sharing more about my experiences and the photographs taken at Bass Point at the moment at: The Mundane as Art: Round 8: Sand Patterns.

The red is a tad exaggerated though. Artistic license. 🦋

You have moved me into a fairy tale and dream, thank you :)) Lovely my friend :) Up

I have so much trouble keeping up with responding Margaret. But as they say: Better late than never.

The more I gazed the more I saw. And the more I saw, the more this underwater world became fairy tale like. And I understand now why the original people of this land gravitated to Bass Point.

Seems like the time is right now for me to share more about this amazing 'Dreamland': I just shared an article relating the majesty of sand and stars for: The Mundane as Art: Round 8: Sand Patterns.

Beautiful!!!! Especially love photo number 2! ♥☺

5 months later @realmeandi. Thanks so much. At Bass Point all my preconceptions of a beautiful beach gradually faded away.

I'm starting to share more about my experiences at Bass Point at the moment. There certainly was some magic at work there. Although the red in both images was brought out with Lightroom.

I wasn't sure about it at the time as I was experimenting, but am so pleased to hear that it appealed to you.

The first article is at: The Mundane as Art: Round 8: Sand Patterns.

Hi @allyinspirit ! I just descovered all you comments so thank you very much for stopping by and for your previous time! I am glad you are back. Looking forward to your posts. Btw for some reason I do not get Steemit notifications so I am always late with my replies as I see comments a few days later. I should chech that section more often. 😉 Have a lovely weekend! ☺

😊 I'm just about always late with my replies even when I receive Steemit notifications. But lovely to connect with you again. 🦋

Thanks so much Maya. Five months later and I was inspired by your beautiful photographs of sand in 'The Mundane as Art' Challenge to go back to my original photographs and select some for the challenge.

It seems like now is the time to share more about this magical place.

The Mundane as Art: Round 8: Sand Patterns.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65853.52
ETH 2697.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86