Ten Days of Reflection: Challenge Day 2. Bass Point Marine Reserve. NSW. Australia. Original photography.

in #magicalmoments6 years ago (edited)

May the clarity of light be yours.
May the fluency of the ocean be yours.
May the protection of the ancestors be yours.
~John O'Donohue.

There's something about the ocean and rockpools that really calls to our spirit isn't there?

The ocean had been calling me for a long time, to stay for more than just a few hours here and there. And when she calls, eventually the time comes when you find a way to answer.

The few days I was able to spend last winter, walking along the beach between Shellharbour and Bass Point Reserve, absorbing all her 'life energy' were so precious.

Bass Point Reserve is a 72 hectare coastal jewel, located just south of Shellharbour Village and contains one of the few littoral rainforest areas in the Illawarra.
Source: Bass Point Reserve

One of those remote and wilderness areas, this coastal area requires a different way of seeing, for one to see all the beauty that's there. Not surprisingly I found that the longer I stayed on the reef, the more I was able to slow down and be open to its rugged and extraordinary beauty.

This photograph was taken just before reaching the Bass Point Headland: The little cove, sheltered from the strong winds that have given the area the reputation of being extremely dangerous. To be continued in another article.

The vertical sides of the rocks and their reflections reminded me the Western Australian Kimberley red cliffs ~ In miniature.

1000.ORIGINAL.jpg

Shallow rock-pools on the way to Bass Point Reserve.

Photograph: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: ISO 160: 35 mm: f/5.0: 1/60 sec.


The rules of the challenge are simple and can be found HERE.


Thank's so much @ilovedietcoke for creating this inspiring #tendaysofreflection challenge where the beauty of reflections: Whether they be in nature or the 'material world' can be highlighted for all to enjoy.


I nominate Daniel @irreverent-dan: A beer-loving photographer who occasionally ponders the meaning of existence to participate in this challenge ~ Or anyone else who has an eye for reflections.


Ten Days of Reflection.
Ten Days of Reflection: Challenge Day 1.


Other photographs: Shellharbour to Bass Point Marine Reserve.

  1. Shellharbour and Bass Point Marine Reserve.
  2. Magical Moments on the Reef at Shellharbour: Sydney South Coast.

The sand at Bass Point is dull in colour, course and gritty ~ And on the surface appears to be quite mundane.

In my next article I'll share some photographs of the most ordinary sand patterns you may have ever seen for @kus-knee's The Mundane as Art: Sand Patterns.

T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1.png

Sort:  

Amen,beautiful landscape photography thanks for sharing.

Thanks Abbie.

Not postcard perfect. Never-the-less extraordinarily beautiful in so many ways. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 13:37:10
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 35.20/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 30
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thanks so much @photocontests.

This is the first time I've participated in #landscapephotography.

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Beautifully done!

Thanks so much Katie.

These tidal shallow pools have so much life in them. Could spend hours just gazing down into their crystal clear water. Magical. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

They are gorgeous! I love tide pools when I visit the beach.

My first impression of these reefs was that I'd seen much more exciting reefs. But when you look below the surface it was like looking into another Universe. Maybe that's why we love tide pools so much ~ Especially as visual artists. 🦋

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thanks ever so much @pixresteemer. Always appreciate your visit and sharing. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66490.29
ETH 3513.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54