๐Ÿณ ๐Ÿ” Looking For Niche - The Complete Overview - Our Mission Statement ๐Ÿ” ๐Ÿณ

in #lookingforniche โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

LFNlogo.png

Table of contests:

  • What is Looking For Niche โ€“ The Brief Overview
  • A Bit Of History
  • LFNCOIN โ€“ The Looking For Niche Coin
  • Users Having Success With Looking For Niche
  • How does the Looking For Niche Tool and WhaleBoT work?
  • Current "Problems" We Want To Tackle
  • A Summary Of Our Vision

What is Looking For Niche โ€“ The Brief Overview

Looking For Niche is many things. Here is a brief overview of what it is and some of the things we do:

Looking For Niche is a:

  • Community for finding like-minded people
  • Community for finding other communities (A community hub, if you will)
  • Tool to find like-minded people by signing up to the tags that interest you
  • Tool that exists in many Discords - not just our own (through WhaleBoT)
  • Place to kick-start niche communities
  • Place to promote your niche community and get rewarded when you keep on growing it.

Our home is the Looking For Niche Discord, which you can find here:

https://bit.ly/lookingforniche

A Bit Of History

Two months ago, I started the Looking For Niche (LFN) Project. I envisioned a place where everyone could get together and find like-minded people in their niches. I hoped it would someday become a place as well as a tool that would help attract interest for even the smallest of niches.

At first, the process was manual. You had to ask the Looking For Niche Discord chat if anyone was interested that thing you like. It was not optimal though, so soon after the incarnation of the project, @alexpmorris helped by coding my bot idea into WhaleBoT, automating the process of finding people like you!

Now we are more than 280 members, many of which have started searching for buddies on the Looking For Niche Discord server! We have already helped kick-start friendships and even whole communities!

If you do not know, how that works, do not worry, I will elaborate further down this post. For now, know that you can use the LFN tool on our Discord chat to sign up to tags. If you sign up to a tag, it will show you others who also like that tag. That way you can find each other instantly!

LFNCOIN โ€“ The Looking For Niche Coin.

Not only, have we found friends and helped found communities, Looking For Niche also has its own CryptoCurrency token now: LFNCOIN.

LFNCOIN is a token that is rewarded to people who help Looking For Niche as well as their own niche grow! In other words, you now get rewarded for growing a community and making friends. 1 LFNCOIN is currently worth a 100 % upvote from me (that will be adjusted as needed).

If you want to know, how to use LFNCOIN, head over to this introduction:

LFNCOIN for LFN Community Upvotes!

I want to show people, that there is always someone interested in the same thing they are โ€“ also that obscure niche only few know about. By incentivizing community builders to keep building, I think we can help build not just those communities, but in my opinion all of Steemit as a platform for the smallest of hobbies and interests.

I see many users not engaging anyone. The only thing they end up doing, is post their Steemit links in post-promotion chat rooms, never getting many eyes on their content. By engaging others through those chat rooms instead, you have a unique chance to get to know others, and get your content seen by people that care.

By using the LFN tool, you are able to find people that are much more likely to about you and your content. When I introduce the tool, most people do not understand what it does until they try it. At first, you might not find anyone in your niche tag, but soon enough, when you try signing up for a few different tags you like, and others do the same, you get connected with real, like-minded people, that care!

Looking For Nichetive

We want to incentivize community builders to keep building. We will do this by helping users start their communities and support these communities with LFNCOIN as rewards, as long as they keep their community active and growing. We call this Looking For Nichetive. It is a way for Looking For Niche to support your small community project, and give you a small token of thanks for creating things for Steemit to take part in.

Users Having Success With Looking For Niche

@outerground was looking for people interested in street photography and street-art. I helped him set up a Discord as well as give him some pointers for starting. Today he runs a community about exactly street photography and street art! You can check that community out here:

Street Photography / Street Art Photography COMMUNITY on Discord.. All Welcome !

If you want to join the the street-photography/street-art chat community, head over to their Discord here: https://discord.gg/GZfYTqc


[Photo by @outerground taken on broadway market East London]

@paulag was looking for different data-analysis, business intelligence and excel type of tags. She found another person interested in studying data: @datageek. This led to Paula giving @datageek free access to her online teaching material. Now @paulag is starting up a business intelligence community on Steemit known as BISteemit. Check out one of her latest posts about an analysis of Steemit delegation here:

Analysis of Delegation and Steemit Data Challenge โ€“ Steemit Business Intelligence


[Image by @paulag from the post on delegation]

@heart-to-heart signed up to the community and quickly, started looking for people interested in travel and health. Since then, she started looking for people in the tag vegan โ€“ and now she ended up founding a community about veganism! She is running a competition to get the community going right here:

Attention: There's a New Competition in SteemitTown! Weekly Challenge Starting This Week! Enter Now!

@heart-to-heart is now one of our Looking For Niche Community Advocates


[Photo of @heart-to-heart from her community contest]

Our latest Community Advocate @steempowerpics have started looking for people interested in gardening and hydroponics. He recently wrote a post about his impressive backyard oasis project on the @steempowergarden account:

Backyard Oasis Project - Part 1 - Building Our Koi Pond

He hope to find more people interested in gardening and hydroponics, so if that is you, head over to our Discord and hit him up!


[Photo of @steempowergarden's backyard oasis]

Helping start communities and promoting them too

In Looking For Niche we want to help you find your niche and build a community around it. You are able to find people that like your content and in turn, you probably like their content too! By starting your community with LFN we can help you get going, and get the word out there. If you keep growing the community, we will even help reward your community with LFNCOIN along the way!

We have even rewarded users who have helped others find their niche and niche communities! It is all about incentivizing everyone to keep growing and keep on going. No matter how alone you seem to be โ€“ you certainly are not!

How does the Looking For Niche Tool and WhaleBoT work?

WhaleBoT is really easy to use. First make sure you are connected to our Discord server. Click this link, if you are not: https://bit.ly/lookingforniche

Step 1

Now on the Discord server, go to the channel known as "looking-for-niche-tagging". In there you will find people already using the Looking For Niche Tool.

Step 2

In the "looking-for-niche-tagging" channel, just write the following:

  • Whalebot LFN And then your niche

That could for example be:

  • Whalebot LFN Gaming - if you are a gamer looking for other gamers.

And you will find others in your niche!

Here is an image of how that works:

See? WhaleBoT introduced me to others interested in Gaming. Now I can start chatting with them, follow them or maybe collaborate with them in the future on a post about gaming!

If you want to know more about how that works go here:

WhaleBoT - How To Use It And What It Can Do For You ๐Ÿณ

Current "Problems" We Want To Tackle

We want to grow of course:

When more people use the Looking For Niche tool, more people will be able to find a niche. Even if you already have an established community, signing up to that tag through the Looking For Niche Tool can help others find you and your community.

We are small fish in the sea:

My Steemit account @rawbinhutt is relatively small compared to other community starters. It is still limited what I can achieve alone. This is why I enlist others to help me as Community Advocates and more. If you would like to help, contact me through the Looking For Niche Discord: https://bit.ly/lookingforniche

Right now I get help from two amazing folk: @steempowerpics and @heart-to-heart. Maybe I can add you to that list one day?

People do not understand what Looking For Niche is:

I can see why it can be hard to "get it" right away. Looking For Niche is still a young community and it is a whole new way to find like-minded people and build communities for Steemit. The best way to learn about it is to try the tool yourself. It is really easy to use, once you see it in action. Feel free to ask me any questions you might have.

A Summary Of Our Vision

Looking For Niche seek to empower niche content creators and communities by giving people a platform where they can find each other - and even the smallest of niches. We hope to grow large enough for every single Steemian to be able to find someone else interested in their content. We support communities that partake in the Looking For Nichetive by giving the community builders and their users rewards, guidance and promotion, so they can be seen and heard.

We wish to continue growing and hope you will take part in our journey.

Become a member of Looking For Niche today!

All you have to do is join our Discord server by clicking the image below

- @rawbinhutt

Sort: ย 

Yeah I did find @paulag through the LFN discord when I was looking for someone interested in data analysis and I'm so glad I met her. She is awesome!

Ah right, there we go, I'll add your name to the article.
I am glad you found use of LFN like that! And yes @paulag is super cool! :D

Thanks for the mention :)

@paulag is indeed awesome. She has some serious talent with data analysis and how she applies it to various aspects of Steemit and the blockchain.

Hi @rawbinhutt ~smiles~ lookit you man! This looks very much like the very thing I've been waiting to cross my path here on Steemit.

I think you might remember me but that's ok if you don't. I do remember you and remember how you're an idea guy. This is a great idea!

UVed/Rsed/Following...again };-)>

Keep on Steem'n on!

logyx

Sure I do, and thanks for checking out LFN, I am glad you like it!

Great LFN overview Rawbin! Thank you for the introduction and support here. I will do my best to help spread the word.

And thank you for helping me get the word out! :D

Upvoted and resteemed

Really wonderful topic of valuable information Thank you

I feel very happy to upvote and follow you. Please help me upvote

What If there was a shout-out channel, that way you could alert other people from LFN about your new steemit posts. The channel can always be muted if it gets to crazy for some people.
Eg,
whalebot lfn "....." "steemit link"
Hi "everyone interested" check out my new post about "....."
I think that would be better than the post and run.

I am not sure, what the difference is compared to the post-promotion channel. Can you elaborate? Feel free to do so through Discord if you wish, or here if you prefer :P

Tool to find like-minded people by signing up to the tags that interest you [this] tool that exists in many Discords - not just our own (through WhaleBoT)

This is the one differentiating thing?

I mean everybody is looking for a community for finding like-minded people. That was what actually put me off in the 1st place. Like:

Due, we all want that..

Can you elaborate? I am not sure what you mean.

Well it seems the only thing that discerns LFN from other community efforts like yours is the whalebot LFN subject to find other users or?

There are new projects being (helped) stated and supported by LFN (Looking For Nichetive) already. But I suppose, if you don't want to partake in community creation, then LFN is a community hub that directly and indirectly connects various communities via WhaleBot. It's a way to bring everyone using WhaleBot together at a meta level. There is no requirement (for non community builders) to use the dedicated Discord other than it makes it easier to connect with those, you find through the tool.

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

Sure but what more can we do? I'm willing to help, of course I am! I'm just critical and I have high standards :D

So what about this:

What if we would post links to related posts from other writers in your posts? Like in the bottom or even referencing them? People who are reading could get to know other writers from the community as well.

I was publishing transcripts of the truth about vaccines and then it occured to me who else is writing about it. So I'll be linking to them for reference.

I will be adding curation to the list of LFN activities, but I don't think I will be doing it like your example. I'm not sure of the click through value to the writer, it's probably not very valuable unless you write about the post in question.

However, I have already written a few posts about the members of LFN and their niches/posts, and I will be delegating this out to people interested in helping with curation. I haven't found a way to do it in any different way compared to other curation projects (you wished for discernible features) nor am I sure, if it would be better to have a different dedicated account for such a project.

If you have other ideas, feel free to reach out on Discord.

I see a lot of people are trying to do the same thing but I don't get the differnces or why not cooperate with say build-a-whale?

But sure it's your baby and I have no right to complain :) It's just the effort and if it is worth it when other people are doing the same.

But who knows, maybe the LFN is great for creating exactly those niches and tags. One thing that frustrates me is the duplicate usage of tags i.e. there are multiple ways of saying the same thing.

#BISteemit is a great example of how to properly do a tag, it's Business Inteligence and regarding the platform Steemit. Technically however someone could use #BISteem as well and it'll be the same thing.

Maybe talk about it in Discord and then bring it up next Saturday on the Whaletank?

I see a lot of people are trying to do the same thing but I don't get the differnces or why not cooperate with say build-a-whale?

Build A Whale is fine project in my opinion. However, they write about people that use Build A Whale (to my knowledge), in other words, it's not immediately compatible. I see no problem in having multiple similar projects (or curation really being sub-projects in the case of Build A Whale and LFN).

But sure it's your baby and I have no right to complain :) It's just the effort and if it is worth it when other people are doing the same.

Feel free to critique, I welcome different viewpoints. Regarding whether it's worth the effort: Maybe, maybe not. Time will tell. I enjoy building LFN and people are sometimes requesting me these types of additions. I see no reason to not add curation, or to add something else similar to other projects. I believe LFN on it's own is a fairly unique project that can stand alone, if enough people find value in it, but at the same time, I love to branch out with things, that make sense to me.

But who knows, maybe the LFN is great for creating exactly those niches and tags. One thing that frustrates me is the duplicate usage of tags i.e. there are multiple ways of saying the same thing.
#BISteemit is a great example of how to properly do a tag, it's Business Inteligence and regarding the platform Steemit. Technically however someone could use #BISteem as well and it'll be the same thing.

Yes I would say it is (but I am obviously biased). As described in the post, @paulag found people through LFN, and if I am not mistaken, LFN was among the inspirations to her wish to have a community about data and probably even the community around the tag she started #BISteemit.

Yes someone could use BISteem instead, but if they are part of the BISteemit community, there is really no reason for them to do so.

A better example would be something like comic and comics. Comics is a trending tag in itself, but comic is also being used everyday. Would it make sense to only have one tag? Yes and no.

Yes because: If people want to be a collected community, then they can start building comics as the only tag. LFN is a tool to find people for such a community.

No because: People should be able to use the tag they wish. If they feel comic is more applicable to their content (maybe it's a one of comic strip and not a comic book series). Then they should be free to use that instead.

And yet again, if you have some ideas, please feel free to reach out on Discord. It's much less asynchronous than having to write collected thoughts here every other day :P

I can't yet say, if I will bring the curation project to Whaletank or not just yet. I usually sign up later, when I have things figured out.

This is interesting. It seems a little confusing at first, but I expect if I just go ahead and check it out, it will all make sense. I might do that!

It probably does, but once you try it, it usually makes immediate sense. See you on there!

I just became a member of this community. Hope to meet a lot of sports and business related people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24