Analysis of Delegation and Steemit Data Challenge – Steemit Business IntelligencesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bisteemit7 years ago (edited)

The ability to delegate Steem power was introduced in HF18 four months ago. Delegation gives you (delegator) the ability to transfer the rewards of Steem power that you own to someone else (delegatee).  However the ownership of that Steem remain with you, the delegator. 

Since inception of delegation 138,698 Steemians have received delegated power from 3053 delegators.  I know in more recent times services have become available to hire Steempower.

At the moment 40,893,978,390.2991 vests are delegated from the owner account to other Steemit accounts.  That’s whopping.

The first thing I did when I had the data modelled was look to see if there were any outliers in terms of the amount of Steem vests delegated or the number of accounts delegated to.

)

The pink dot on the bottom right represents @ned, with over 7m in vests delegated to very few people.  We can also see Steem is an outlier delegating to 137K accounts.

Let’s now have a look at the top delegators in terms of vesting shares.

The top delegator in terms of vesting shares delegated out is Ned with 7.2M vests delegated.  That’s a lot of power, and did show up as an outlier.   @Steem and @Blocktrades are also delegating a considerable amount of Steem power at a combined value of 7m vests.

Looking at the next chart we can see the accounts that have the most Steem power currently delegated to them

The 6 accounts highlighted in the above chart represents the delegation of Steem made by @Ned on the 8th Aug.

The person in receipt of the most delegated Steem power is @kpine which has all been delegated by @riverhead.  

We saw above in the outlier chart steem delegates to a lot of accounts.  Lets see now how many accounts delegators delegate power too

 

It is obvious from this that Steem is delegating to the most amount of accounts.  Further investigation has shown that the amount delegated to each account is only very small.

One account that caught my eye here was @warren.buffet .  I wonder is that really him?

The opposite side of this is the accounts in receipt of delegation.

I recognise a few from this list.  Minnowsupport I delegate a small amount of Steem to myself.  There are a few others in there from minnowsupport too, @msp-creativebot, @msplovebot, @msp-shanehug, @muxxybot are all that’s to the efforts of minnowsuooprt and @aggroed.  I have been following these guys for a while and it’s awesome to see they are getting results.  Okay enough of the plug for @minnowsupport.  Let’s get back to the data.

The maroon colour represent the delegator, and it is easy to see how cluster are formed.  The large cluster on the top are delegating to @ubg and @estonia.

What would be very interesting to see would be how the delegated power has been used?

 This would involve looking at the accounts that had delegation and reviewing the voting habits of these accounts during the time of holding the delegated Steem.

Steemit Data Challange

So a shout out to all the members of #BIsteemit.  Here is your first challenge.

  How has delegated power been used? 

 You have 1 week to prepare this analysis, visualisations and post.  The post must have the #BIsteemit tag, and you must also post to the #BIsteemit tag on SteemitBC.

Entries for this competition must be in by Sat 19th Aug and I will announce a winner on Sunday.

The prize, well I have some whaleshare tokens I won.  I can use these to summons a whale vote on content on my choice.

So get analysing. I look forward to reading your entries. pop a comment below if you are in.

Don’t know about the #bisteemit community and tag?

Launch of #BISteemit tag and Community– Providing Valuable Insights Behind the Steemit Data


Just on a side note:

I am also part of Minnowsupport on discord.  They have included me in the "Six of the Best" and I need your vote.  So when you are done voting and commenting on this post ;-) please do pop on over and vote for me in this competition (and if I win…..I get delegated Steem!)

https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@accelerator/six-of-the-best-map9-minnow-contest-vote-now-win-upvotes


Sort:  

delegation is the best to invest

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

I'm very interested to know why those top 6 accounts have had sp delegated to them.

Are you the guy outed as soc puppet farmer?

I'm not sure how you came up with an accusation like that considering a simple look at my profile would show you I run a community of a couple hundred steemit users on discord.

you have for sure mistake @rt395 for this other steemain.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by paulag from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

To be honest this is all confusing to this dog. I have no clue how to do anything you mentioned. I'll just keep on keeping on. Good luck to you. Just being truthful here.

Excellent post! I'm shocked this hasn't resulted in a higher payout. Great job! Personally, I think the ability to delegate is being abused by many on this platform. It's just selling the ability to upvote your own content and in the process reducing 'merit' as a factor in determining content quality. I'm sorry to say I'm losing faith in steemit each day but posts like this restore my confidence somewhat.

thank you. I am glad you liked the post

I would love to see this analysis. I would guess the answer is to upvote your own posts. If people are using it for other reasons that would be interesting.

hope you are going to look at the data @eroche and see what you can find out :-)

Wow, that's a lot of delegation and that cluster graph look really cool!! Ned has recently delegated huge SP to 6 accounts, wonder if those people will curate quality posts of minnows or just upvote themselves. As for the contest, it would be fun to see what people bring in. I am not a good analyst with the numbers, so I will watch it from outside!!

I can't imagine why sweetsssj needed anything delegated.

Ya, that's actually very strange.

well when you look up those accounts on steemd etc the votes seem to be to other accounts too, but a pattern of "regulars" so prob people that account follows.

@paulag maybe that kind of data can be graphed out or put into the cluster to show a common upvote trend for those top account that were given delegated SP. Is there a clean "inter-voting" pattern , or one that is even and standard to what we all do.

thanks for your feedback, yes it will be fun to see what people bring in

its interesting report, consider estonia is a country and i see there only 600 delegated power, so seems it was before, but ye its interesting to see where they voted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57800.38
ETH 3127.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40