Backyard Oasis Project - Part 1 - Building Our Koi Pond

in #life7 years ago (edited)

About a year ago I made the decision to build out our backyard area into a functional relaxation and entertainment space, we called it the Backyard Oasis Project.

Now we don't have a lot of space in the back, roughly 9ft x 25ft with an A/C unit poorly positioned near the middle. The space was primarily used to grow food in container gardens, but the growing season was limited to 7 months due to the shadow cast down by the second story of our Townhouse during the "winter" months. As I moved into Hydroponics a few years back, I slowly reduced how much food was grown in back yard. The time had come to re-purpose the space.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-00-SteemPowerGarden.jpg

I created a rough sketch of what I wanted to build and how I wanted to layout the space. When I asked my wife and son for input on what they would like to have, a fish pond was high on the list. With that, I designed the space around a central above ground Koi pond. With a plan in place, I began by building the Koi pond first.

I never thought I would be posting about this build, so the pictures were taken with my cell phone in more of a "text to my wife" progress report style. ;-) So a few steps are missing, but I will explain in the text what I did.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-01-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Marking out the shape with string.

I centered the pond in relationship to our view from inside the house and set the side planter column bases first. With the position set, I used a string to mark out a slightly curved shape to the pond. I wanted to have a "pocket" off to the left side that the fish could hide in so I extended that edge more than the right side.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-02-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Stacking the blocks and stone to build the structure.

First, I raked out the small river pebbles until I hit dirt to have a solid base, then I began to set the stones. I used thin concrete blocks to created the back wall to save space. To make sure that stayed in place I hammered 2 pieces of 1/2 rebar through the blocks into the ground on each side of the center post. Then I set the retaining wall stones around the front to make the base level. In order to created that side pocket, each level of stone would then step in slightly more until it match up in relation to the right side by the top level. This was my first time ever building something like this so I made it up as I went along.

I back-filled the area with the small river pebbles to make a smooth base and curved transition to the side walls.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-03-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Loosely fitting the liner and filling the pond with water.

Once I got all the stones stacked and glued with construction adhesive, I carefully unfolded the pond liner and filled it up with water. As the water level rises, you need to adjust the liner and work with the overlaps to tuck and fold them as neat as possible. The weight of the water will compress the liner into every corner and make it impossible to adjust later, so you have to get in there and work with it as it fills.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-04-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Smoothing out the lining and trimming off the excess.

Once filled, I wrapped the liner over the top, glued it down and trimmed off the excess. I used extra paver bricks to hold the liner down while the adhesive dried.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-05-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Chiseling the cap stones to fit the curve of the pond.

Adding the cap stones was the most difficult part of this whole project. I have to chisel each stone by hand to get an exact fit around the curve of the pond and to make the cut edges look natural. I did not want to use a machine saw to cut the stone and lose the natural edge look. I cracked a lot of stones on accident during the process. If this is how the pyramids were actually build, I feel their pain.

I worked my way around from back to front, right to left, and glued down the stones as I went along. I then went back in with an exterior stone grout to fill in the spaces to make a smooth top.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-06-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Completed pond up and running.

Once completed, I added in a 250 gph submersible pump wrapped in a mesh bag to keep out debris and buried it under river rocks. I also added in underwater LEDs that turn on/off with a remote.

I then mixed in water purification additives and let the pump run for about a week before adding in the plants. I have a mix of living and artificial plants in the pond. The final step before I added the Koi fish was to install a charcoal filter system in the back of the pond, I use a Tetra Whisper EX70 dual-sided filter. It is designed for large indoor aquarium tanks, but it's been over a year now and it works great with my pond with no issues. I replace the filters once a month.

I have a mix of edible and non-edible plants around the pond. Currently we have blackberries, strawberries, basil, and oregano, the grapes in the picture (left pot) did not survive the summer heat in containers.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-07-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Custom-built automatic feeder being tested.

Having realized I just added 6 more mouths to feed, I needed an automatic feeder system to delegate that responsibility to. I researched a lot of larger Koi pond feeders but non of them fit how I wanted, nor would they blend into the pond the way I wanted so i decided to build my own.

I purchased a small $20 feeding timer on Amazon design for small tanks and fish flakes and using one of the Koi food containers made a large capacity feeder that could ration of larger types of food. I built a wooden cover box with plastic fronts to protect it from rain. I went out every morning for 2 weeks to watch and verify it was working correctly and giving out the right amount of food.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-08-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Automatic feeder with bamboo sticker to make it look nice.

Once I was sure the feeder worked perfectly, I took the time to wrap the container in one of my faux-bamboo vinyl wraps to make it look good. It's the same sticker wraps I use on my garden system pipes.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-09-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Solar Powered LED Light Spheres

The newest addition to out pond is floating solar powered LED lights that I also bought on Amazon. They are very bright and add a really nice colorful glow to the pond at night. They batteries lasts about 4 hours after sunset, which is long enough for any evening get-togethers we have here, then they recharge in the sun by day.

Backyard-Koi-Pond-10-SteemPowerGarden.jpg
Happy Koi swimming around in our pond.

We have 5 different color Koi, 1 large long-tail Goldfish, and 1 Plecostomus (suckermouth catfish) in our pond.

I hope you enjoyed taking a look at our backyard Koi pond and learning how I built it.


I'm happy to announce I have become an Official Community Advocate for the the Looking For Niche (LFN) project. The purpose is to help connect people with similar interests here on Steemit. Simply join the LFN Discord, it's free, and use the friendly WhaleBoT to enter your interest or "niche". It will reply with a list of other users registered with the same niche.

Example: Whalebot LFN Gardening

WhaleBoT will reply with: These other users are also interested in talkin' about "gardening"!

Find the Looking For Niche Discord Here:

https://discord.gg/GRnFQhQ


If you think others will enjoy this Please ReSteem it!


If you have any questions or comments, just drop a reply below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

Thanks for reading, now get out there and get GROWING!

Sort:  

This is incredible, Robin shared it with me somehow and I am so glad he did! I don't think I have asked whalebot to connect me to gardening yet because I have so many other interests going on but it is actually one of the main reasons I came on here! The whole time I was reading your post I was thinking of how badly I wanted one of these for myself then guess what?

I HAVE A KOI POND!

Oh my goodness... how does one even forget that? Well my fish wrap around in almost a moat in my outdoor living space, I live in Bali and Koi ponds are everywhere so I was thinking of them they way I am used to, not the way you have it here (all pretty and fancy with the lights, I love it!) Congrats on this major project! It looks wonderful!
=D

LOL that's funny. Thank you so much for the kind words.

Rawbin is doing great things the LFN. Good way to bring people together like this.

Wow that's a fantastic setup for the pond! I really like the addition of LED lights!. Do you have any night photos with lights on? :D
Looks like a cozy area too!

Thanks Rawbin, Yeah it's really nice now. I will have another post with how I built the seating and bar area next.

Here are 2 pictures at night

Looks good! I'll check out the seating/bar once it's up.

great craftsmanship! This makes me want to make a koi pond even though I always thought it was something I could never do. Thanks for the inspiration!

Thank you :-) I had no idea what I was doing at first, but I saw a small, quickly put-together wall around a pre-formed pond liner on display at Lowes and that gave me the idea to just build the whole thing up with those stones. The next weekend I forcefully committed myself to the task by purchasing the stones. LOL

Wonderful post @steempowergarden! :) The pond looks amazing Chris. That's a beautiful little space you've got there. Very relaxing! :)

Hope you are well my friend!

Thanks Tony, Things are good. Just been super busy with all the last minute back to school stuff for Daniel.

Great pond!! We seem to kill all our fish every year. Hope you're fish are happy with their new home!!!

Oh no :-/ -- So far so good with ours. They seem happy.

Quite the project and it turned out spectacularly well! So glad you'd saved the pictures. They illustrate the process quite well!

Thank you. It was a tough build, but it came out really nice in the end. I'm glad I took the time to build it all.

This post has received a 35.71 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @steempowerpics. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SteemPowerPics from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I am following ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00