Dr. The Leaping Koala_ my journey in life # 6_ Why I was born?_Part 2

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I come back to my personal story to continue writing about my journey to figure out why I was born, if there is anything to be figured out.

In Part 1 of the story I told you in a nutshell about my family, especially my mother and her unhappiness and unwillingness to have the child (me) that was conceived and lived inside of her until born, despite all her efforts to prevent it. The only effect that her antiquated trials of abortion (using home remedies) had, was speeding up the delivery, and so, at about 7 months of pregnancy time, I was born.

Quoted from part 1:
"As I spent the first few months of my life confined inside a hospital incubator, eager anticipation of my rapid departure was building up after the verdict of having possible developmental debilitations was given...."


source

My seemingly feeble being refused to give in and carried on living, even if it was hardly welcomed. Even more than just living, I stubbornly defied the wishful verdict of developmental abnormalities that was used to justify the cold welcome I received when arriving to this world. I became a sponge that was fresh and ready to absorb any knowledge it was given. I started fluently speaking in both Arabic and English languages by the age of two, just by hearing my other siblings speak it or by listening to the radio or watching TV. I was counting and performing mathematical calculations much advanced to my age and I started showing talents for poetry, portrait sketching and abstract art.

I was such an obviously different child to the point that my father, who is very resistant to showing any emotions, became noticeably affectionate and proud of me, which was to everyone's surprise. As this continued to happen, the love and recognition I received from my father further ostracized me from my siblings and even from my mother who became even more upset and distant.


source

However, as I grew older and my body as well as talents grew with me, my father became highly disconcerted and told me once "You are my best child; I wish you were born a boy". Unaware of how perturbed he was or why, I felt very sad and dejected at the time. With every passing day, my delight for being loved by my father slowly faded away as his appreciation of me diminished steadily and until such time where I felt that I was not only rejected by my mother and siblings, but also my father was rejecting my existence as a girl.

As if that was not enough, my life became extremely difficult when my father’s health began to decline as rapidly as the influence of my elder brother, who was overly and religiously controlling, increased. As he, and my other older brothers, began governing every aspect of my life, what I could call living life somewhat as a human being came to an end, while living as a lifeless zombie became the norm. I was not allowed to leave home, visit friends or commute to school without permission. I was prohibited from applying to medical school, as it required mixing between genders! My school years were spent between my room and the classroom. Funny how I loved going to school as it was considered the highlight of my daily life, where I could see different people living and laughing.


source

As my life force withered away, I forsook my talents, my curiosity, and anything that makes me different in an attempt to conform. I hated myself, my body, my face and even more than anything, I hated the fact that I was born a girl! I remembered my father's words over and over again

"I wish you were born a boy"

and wished they were true.

Had I been born a boy I would be free to do what I want, when I want and how I want. I will always be praised, whether I am doing good or bad, as long as I am a boy. I will always be forgiven and given all I wanted, no matter how smart or stupid I am, as long as I am a boy. I will always be loved and accepted, no matter how honorable or horrible I am, as long as I was a boy.

"Why was I born a girl not a boy?" I kept asking myself, as I felt powerless and worthless. "Why was I born at all?" as I felt with every passing day that I wanted to die.

“Only if I could be reborn..." So I wished...

To be continued...

Dr. The leaping koala :)

Many thanks for reading, commenting and upvoting

P.S: Thanks to @scrooger for the divider :)

TEAMCANADA-GENERICFOOTER2 (1).png

Logo courtesy of @bearone

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing, these kind of early childhood experiences can remain with you forever. Talking about it is a good approach to letting go of them.
I will keep on reading your posts secretly hoping for a happy ending... Much love...

Hi @bubke, as usual, I am always thrilled to read your comments. Thanks for reading and for your "secret" wishes. They are always welcome :D

Spoiler:
I am happy now. So I guess your secret wishes worked even before you physically wished them ;). But there are several challenges I had to go through before I reached my happy state.

Love and peace :D

Hello, MAP19 has started! please go to "Six of the Best" MAP19 Minnow Contest [Vote Now - Win Upvotes]. Please look at the suggestions for all participants, especially creating a comment showcasing your best recent work. Good luck!

And don't forget, you can get further inspiration and assistance at the MAP Members Only Discord chatroom.

This is a very heart-touching post, @theleapingkoala. I felt a great sympathy for you, reading it. It looks like you have been through a lot during your adolescent years. I cannot wait to read the following parts!

Dear @oleg326756,
Thank you very much for your kind sentiment and support.
It makes me happy to know that my personal story is being read and appreciated (despite the sad events). Nothing lasts forever, I am happy to say. And by sharing my life story, I hope I will be able to deliver to others who are having difficulties the message that they should not give up on themselves, because they definitely can make it better.
I hope you will keep reading until the good parts appear ;)

Oh wow . This is beautifully written!

Continue!

Many Thanks @nesian101 for your sweet comment, the support and the upvote :D

Your writing is beautiful and your story is so compelling. Thank you for sharing such personal details of your life. Your words were giving me goosebumps along the way. Can't wait for the next installment!

Dear @seajai,
Thank you very much for your kind words and encouragement. I am very happy that you appreciated what I shared (as you mentioned it is my personal life. So it makes it a bit harder when it is not appreciated. Even though what I shared is sad so far. )
Love and peace :D

Your story truly touches the heart. Impossible for someone who was wanted and loved by both parents to fully know the depth of the suffering that not being loved and restricted in so many ways, must have caused.

But you have been blessed by such a strong, determined and optimistic spirit as well as many 'talents.' Your positive nature really shines through your writing. Looking forward to the continuing journey. 🦋

Dear @allyinspirit, I am very touched by your kind feelings and sweet words and encouragement.

Thank you very much for your support and believe in me and my positive spirit, even though you have just known me virtually.

I am really blessed and honored to have you (and other amazing steemians) join me in my journey in life.

I am very happy to know you were loved and wanted by both parents.

Bless you with lots of love and peace :D

Being loved by both parents gives one a pretty good start in life, it's true. But sooner or later the 'challenges' of life have to catch up with us ~ To stretch and strengthen our will and spirit ~ To give life meaning and purpose. Lovely connecting with you. Blessings of love and peace. 🦋

@theleapingkoala You left me with no words. I am sending you a big hug and I am looking forward to your future posts.

@szuri, I am very touched by your kind and supportive feelings as well as the big hug that warms up my heart (and will always do when I am facing new challenges).

Bless you with love and peace :D

Very touching story and as I read the other comments I am glad there is happy part to follow. You are extraordinary person and I am so very much looking forward to your next post.

Many thanks @nelinoeva for your kind words and encouragement.
I am very happy that you find my life story touching and worth your time to follow and read.
I must warn you though, the happy part will take time to come ;)

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @theleapingkoala. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @theleapingkoala to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32