The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Nine

in #life6 years ago (edited)

If you read The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops , then I can tell you this is going to be in a similar vein to that series. Yeah, it's going to go on and on and maybe never end. Ready?

v4g6edje1d.jpg
Source

The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops will go into some detail over the next few weeks.. er articles about part of my life when I was young, misguided and brash.

Like many, I was once a Software Pirate. That's not unusual in itself but I have a few stories to tell about what happened, and I'll try and not bore you all to tears.


Other article's in this series:


The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part One
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Two
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Three
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Four
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Five
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Six
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Seven
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Eight


August 1988

Micro Peripherals moved their distribution business company to new office space in Clayton-le-Moors. For me, the change in location was inconsequential.

Yes, it was a little further to travel and the new offices might have been all bright, new and shiny, but they lacked the character of the original building.

I was starting to have eyes on the Sales team, not in terms of the torture I may endure from ‘ID’ but from the potential benefits. Some of them had company cars and they made a shit load of money if they were successful; I wanted some of that.

The problem was I was not a sales person, and didn’t have the ‘talk’. It still amazes me that in 1988 as a tech you could demand things and get them too.

A compromise was reached that I would assist the field sales people as their personal tech, get a top of the range Commodore 386 (Woah, the power!), and my own desk with a high-backed chair (Woah the prestige!).

It made a change to be out more frequently and not stuck behind a desk all day and for a while I was enjoying this new role though it was hardly challenging.

Shortly after all this happened, ‘Jerzei Balowski’ called me from his new company (MSL) in a headhunting exercise. They needed another tech and wanted me to join them.

Blimey, I didn’t even need an interview as my reputation at this point was sufficient to wangle this new job. I got together with Jerzei and he showed me around the offices.

They were small, crappy and messy was my impression but I was not going to be deterred and pressed on with my resignation.

Micro Peripherals had been good to me in terms of salary raises. In the space of 18 months I had gone from £5000 - £5700 - £7500 - £8500 a year.

It's peanuts in today’s standards and was not good then, but the percentage rise was quite phenomenal in that short space of time.

MSL had £9200 on the table and I was going to be the cheap whore for whoever paid the most. ‘ID’ quickly got wind that I was about to leave and hauled me into an office.

What makes you think you’re so good that you can blackmail my company’, he sneered.

Using my experience of the @steddyman experience my retort was, ‘If I’m not that good then you won’t mind if I leave so you can get someone better

The gamble worked, and ‘ID’ was asking me what it would take to keep me.

£11000 a year and I’ll stay’, (for the moment I thought silently). He wasn’t too happy about it but I had got my £2500 a year increase using his inherent weakness.


vq8hihqjaj.jpg

The Amiga still reigned king as the piracy platform by the end of 1988, with some great games like ‘It Came from the Desert’ and ‘The Great Giana Sisters’.

The latter was a platform game which was snuck out of a developer’s environment and spread like wildfire among the pirates long before it gained an official release.

Digital material started appearing too, I remember ‘You’re the Voice’ (John Farnham), ‘Oh Yeah’ (Yello) and some music tune named ‘Blowfly’ who had a bloke swearing ‘Who the fuck are you’ that were among three disks that did the rounds featuring digitised sound from original songs.

After a little searching I found the 'Blowfly' song. It always made me laugh.

I had never heard anything like this before and was astounded by the advancements. You couldn’t buy these demos as they were only available within the piracy community but they were truly cutting edge.

We found a computer club in Swinton, Manchester that was held in a huge pub. Talk about crowded, the place was heaving and not with educational pimple faced geek types, but hard-core pirates with the usual ethics.

Myself and HootMon were regular visitors, and found we needed to buy yet more blanks to cope with the sheer amount of stuff on offer. I believe it got busted eventually; these things can only go on for so long before attracting the attention of Plod.


vq8hihqjaj.jpg

1989 was to be a pivotal year for me. Despite the attempts of Micro Peripherals trying to keep hold of me I was destined to move to the ‘King of Distributers' and anyone of any substance followed me either before or after I departed.


To be continued...



All images have been cited and are under the category 'Labelled for Reuse'

Small Pirate Icon Source


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Wow, that is pretty impressive. I can't imagine a company working that hard to try to save me. I have been in so long they know that I am not going anywhere so I am not able to bluff at all :P. The hacker group in the pub sounds pretty cool!

Its not the same in the US, I found that out in the 90's. Tech's are disposable assets there with slightly more esteem than McDonald's employees. It was an eye opener for me. If you want some respect come and work in the UK.

Do they have school social workers over there too?

I think so, why do you ask?

@mrsbozz would get bored sitting around the house all day :)

LOL, I think they do, not really my area!

I started with a Commodore 64 with Zork 1, 2, and 3. Actually Zork 1 was the only game out at that time, the others came later. Eventually I got an IBM clone.... an 8088.

I used to love that thing. Looking back on it, I'd say I still love it because I cherish the memories that we shared together.

Gaming now is fun, but it isn't like it used to be.

Those old days were the best.

I think @steddyman was into the Infocom adventures, I obtained an original IBM PC XT running at 4.77Mhz for a while, they were sold machines and the keyboards... I wish I could have one of those now, talk about chunky.

Oh those were the days! I took a shot of my old 5.25" lol. It is a solid brick of kit lol!!!

P1070566.JPG

Do you still have it, and does it still work?

That Blowfly song is hilarious! Can see why it didn't get radio airplay though.

Yeah its a good one, it was the first minute or so on the Amiga demo. I cant really see (hear) that on the radio!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 384 (01/28/19)

Cor blimey, you were quite the man in demand!

I wish those days could have lasted, but it was just a time and place thing. It would go on for another couple of years and then the bad times set in.

It wasn't just me, there was a big demand for tech's in the late 80's and if you had any experience you could make demands.

I was just too young in the eighties, I only started college in 90!

Although I have heard of many glory tales from dudes in have worked with!

The 90's were good too, up to the 'crisis' that was the year 2000. It was better if you were a contractor then and some big cash was to be made due to all the horrible things that 'might happen' when Big Ben rings for the last time in the 20 century.

It's a bummer because I could have got in in the nineties but was in a band and sacrificed everything for the music man ah, bloody bands!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I haven't said so yet but I love the Chronicles.

I have a business partner that has a similar story to you and got his start in the tech world by pirating and selling and building his first business around this.

Those were the days and hopefully the extra cash didn't land you with a substance abuse problem!!

I'm really glad you like them. They are factual but I try to add some humour when I can. There's plenty more, I did have a rather seedy past at times and some things I cant speak of.

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 6.19% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.282 which ranks you at #2644 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 13 places in the last three days (old rank 2657).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34