The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part FivesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

If you read The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops , then I can tell you this is going to be in a similar vein to that series. Yeah, it's going to go on and on and maybe never end. Ready?

v4g6edje1d.jpg
Source

The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops will go into some detail over the next few weeks.. er article's about part of my life when I was young, misguided and brash.

Like many, I was once a Software Pirate. That's not unusual in itself but I have a few stories to tell about what happened, and I'll try and not bore you all to tears.


Other article's in this series:


The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part One
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Two
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Three
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Four

At this point in time, I was in the employment of one Henry Boot Construction of South Yorkshire.

Having escaped the chains of Kwiksave, I was still a skinny lad armed with a big jacket, steel toe capped boots, a white helmet and was charged with teaching burly 16-year-old lads who wanted to be builders about Information Technology.


x8iqchb2yo.png
Source

I wasn't much older than them, but and for that reason, I felt I could communicate with some of them. Lugging around THREE VIC-20 computers and three monitors in a pickup truck from site to site was my daily routine.

‘Classes’ included up to twenty of these thick set lads who mostly didn’t give a shit about computers and so tended to misbehave often.

It wasn’t up to me to discipline them and the punishment was severely dished out by the bulding instructors or assistants in the form of, ‘Go home without pay’. It was harsh but worked very effectively.


vq8hihqjaj.jpg

Months went by, I managed to rip-off most of Blackbeard's endless games collection and came across a utility by someone named SlurpyMan. The utility transferred disk games from to tape to disk and retained the loading screens. It was something I manually did but was still intrigued.

SlurpyMan lived local and I had seen his work and code before we had ever met.


2nhza1o0px.png
Source

I was to discover that he also wrote games and had submitted one to Alligata software for publishing. This was someone I wanted to meet. Less than a week passed and Blackbeard introduced me to @steddyman.

The original name he was to use later in the 90’s when I was a member of the legendary cracking group, ‘The Humble Guys’ (THG) came from the trousers that he wore that were always a little too long.

They used to drag along the ground while he walked creating a ‘slurping sound’, while picking up a healthy amount of dirt, crap and grime to boot. I felt sorry for his mum who had to scrape off all the shit from his many pairs of muddy trousers.

1986 came and left and people were talking about these new 16-bit computers that were arriving on the scene. The Atari ST was looking a bit good in my eyes, and the Manchester contingent of Pete and RobC had both ditched the old Atari’s, Commodore 64’s and moved on.

pov1edanhr.jpg

Source

The micro scene was fast moving and one had to simply keep up with the Joneses or be left on the sidelines.

These new machines were hideously expensive, and so the Commodore 64 and all the peripherals had to go to pay for this new beast. The other new thing was the floppy disks, they were the new format of 3.5’.

I managed to dump the Commodore on somebody and scrape up the cash for this new monster machine which I bought in Preston. New computers were always a learning experience, each one being completely different from the last and the ST was no exception.

The Atari ST was based on a new operating system named GEM. Windows here and windows there but where was the command prompt?

I needed some of these new-fangled floppy disks too and some games. A trip to Manchester was needed and a visit to Pete’s place had all my new blank disks filled with the latest stuff.

What was apparent is the fact that we the pioneers didn’t have much to copy. The ST was very new and all I can remember about it was ‘The Pawn’ from Magnetic Scrolls.


i20cwyjjij.jpg
Source

I had bought this supposedly all singing all dancing new 16-bit state of the art computer and the most exciting game was a bloody text-based adventure and a few other bits and bobs.

Some other games turned up in the next few months but I was frankly disappointed. I had not done my homework and had paid the price for jumping too early.

I remember quite clearly my purchase of the Atari ST 520FM in January 1987, and then again clearly selling it in May 1987 to some unfortunate soul who thought it was the future.

The ST had had its day in my world as something else had arrived that to me seemed leagues ahead of Jack Tramiel’s offering. I had seen a Commodore Amiga.


vq8hihqjaj.jpg


To be continued...



All images have been cited and are under the category 'Labelled for Reuse'

Small Pirate Icon Source


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

You know I always wondered why you called my Slurpyman. Now I know :)

I always thought you knew why. Barry was also 'Slurpy' but for a different reason.

Ah the sweet Amiga, how I lorded it over my Atari ST wielding friend!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I was all about the Commodore 64, and my friend had a VIC- 20. Another friend had an Amiga, and I do believe there was a TRS-80 or two thrown in the mix.

The good old days when computer games meant typing "go west" or "look behind the curtain."

Thanks for the visit!

The 64's was the ultimate hacking machine, I did most of my cracking if you can call it that on that box. I got the grips with the VIC-20 too as per my Henry Boot days, it was a rudimentary machine by the time I got my hands on one, but still good to know.

They were the best days, its boring now in comparison.

The Amiga was the cats meow.

The Amiga ruled piracy's high seas for many a year to come. There was simply nothing better until... well, that's for later :)

That is pretty crappy that you had to flip the Atari so fast. Awesome that someone you knew back then is also on Steemit. That is pretty cool!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 356 (12/30/18)

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4500 replies. Your next target is to reach 4750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11