Challenging Feminism. What's your opinion?

in #life7 years ago

Perhaps four years ago I'd have been proud to call myself a Feminist. Oh boy did I get angry inside when I overheard men complaining about how shit life was and the rules that were stacked up against them. I was a man that witnessed my wife go through Miscarriage. I watched slowly, as my beautiful and bubbly wife turned into an almost empty vessel. I had experienced post-natal depression brought on by a difficult pregnancy; both were almost intolerable life events, and both gifted us with PTSD. Let's be clear, PTSD is not something that 'only' happens with war veterans it can befall anyone that has struggled through a very traumatic experience. For us it had been the birth of our Son, my wife having to be rushed into surgery, and me, left there to worry if I was going to be on my own again. When I heard men grumble I had a fair idea of how easy we had it.

When I started writing

It wasn't until I started truly writing, challenging the depths of my soul and reaching out to other scarred people to hear their stories that I began to realise that life wasn't as black and white as it may seem. I was going to take on a whackload of new information and learn the cruelty of society from a different perspective. Yes, women have it bad, but men equally have it as bad. I'd rather call what I'm talking about, ‘new wave Feminism’ because it's a type that I clearly do not identify with; I'm more of an old school Feminist. I believe that men and women should be equal in the sense that if a woman wants to be a labourer then absolutely, and if a man wants to be a homemaker then that should be fine.

There are clear anti-men undertones in this society. If you do not think so then challenge yourself to shout in a busy public place either "Men are all pigs" or "Women are all pigs" and ask yourself which one would seem easier to do? Clearly none should be easier, but I know the answer already. You do not need to tell me. This is where I want to talk about 'Gender Studies' in College, and let me tell you that this isn't only exclusive to the United States, oh yes, that course has come to our shores too. I'm not one to judge, I'm really not. What I don't understand at all is the planned route of work after that? A computer scientist may go into programming, a business major may go into management, and a gender studies person follows the path into....? I'm not judging, I am asking because I don't understand. I am also very aware of the emphasis on the plight of women over the centuries, contrasted with the dominance of men. It's good to know your history, it really is, but it's not good to slink into a victim mentality. Women are powerful, they should feel that. Not constantly think men feel dominant, because we have our own struggles to contend with. There are no men groups that meet on a Sunday night, rubbing our hands together with watery mouths as we plot to assert our control over women the following week. I wish people would stop thinking like that.

Not a gender thing!

The obvious issue is this. It is clearly not a gender thing and we should stop thinking in this division mindset. Look at the swathes of men that are going to classes to be taught 'how to be men' and similarly then vast hordes of women taking advice from women that teach them 'how to be women' when all we really should be concentrating on is how to be comfortable in who we are, together. There is, and never has been, a quick fix. No amount of formulas to have him love you forever, or psychological tricks to bed every woman you please will help you, or me. The answer is within yourself. New wave Feminism is divisory at its core. I had a really nice young lady, who is a friend, a few days ago, tell me that what I was describing was just "angry men-hating women that have been burned and have ran away with their own bastardized version of Feminism" but I really fear that she is underestimating this movement through her own subjective bubble. We all have those; I like to poke about a bit but I am aware that I do still have my own bubble. I've heard women on TV call a man giving her a pleasing gaze a 'mini rape' and thus my faith in humanity went down a notch.

And then I came across The Red Pill

I haven't seen the documentary yet but I have watched a lot of debates about the video; basically, it solidifies a lot of what I have experienced through life but shrugged off as just my issues. Apparently, there has been a lot of controversy towards this film, but I ask, why is it so bad to talk about the problems that men face? After all, we are human too. I am no anti-women activist but I really feel that to have a debate, both opinions need to be on the table. We can't just hear from one side and not the other. I am no fan of division and we are clearly becoming divided.

Next in the evolutionary chain

Perhaps the next leap in evolution for humans is when we stop viewing things as us versus them? It's a very old-style way of communication, held back from the days when we lived in small communities around in our caves. We weren't designed to think in thousands, never mind gender as a whole; yet we have somehow managed it. Perhaps next we can get rid of the ideas that divide us and speak of ourselves as 'human'? That's a long way off, though. I understand that. When I open up myself to talk about the hardest times personally, as a man, on my magazine, it is still women that speak to me for their men. I do wonder, though, if that's not a man thing but more so a society that shuns men from opening up. Who knows?

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Men, women, feminists, men’s rights activists, aliens? You name it, I want to hear from you!

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Well, call me old-fashioned, or just old(er than most of you). The feminist movement of the 1970s was very important and allowed women a voice in the conversation, a voice at work, a voice about the kind of work she could do and it led to acceptance of women as equals at all levels in business and other pursuits. Feminism also brought, for the first time, freedom for all women (not just women with means) to choose when to start a family via accessible birth control and safe abortions. This was a huge step for women in the work force to be able to pursue work with the same opportunities as men.
With 45 years between then and now, I think that younger people have grown up not even knowing the struggles and what was at stake and that women actually had to stand up and fight for this basic freedom.

We now have a political swing that has been cutting off access to women for all kinds of basic women's health services.
This is not the direction a forward thinking country (or world!) should be going in, and it's a serious issue. If women, especiially poorer women with less means, are blocked from basic women's health , we take away equality and minimize the importance of their lives.

Another aspect to the importance of feminism, is the fact that even though women are told they can do anything, once they do it, you can pretty much bet that a man is there to knock her down. Paulina Poriskova, the former model, just had a great piece published in the NYT...
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/06/10/opinion/sunday/paulina-porizkova-america-feminist.html?_r=0

As for the Gender Studies query above, I think that it is just like any other liberal arts subject and should not be belittled. If a student is a psych major, do they have to be a psychologist? How about a history major. Do they have to be an historian? No.

Anyway, Call me a feminist :-)

Hi @gardenlady - thanks for commenting :)

I think the issue is not a gender one it's more so all about behaviour. The Political causes you talk about are happening, I agree, but the same is being taken away from men. I spearheaded a team that helped men and women achieve what they wanted in life through focus and activity, and what was apparently striking is that both reported the same wants and needs. Our team was shut down in the end due to lack of funding. Like I say, it's not biased, this closing down of stuff.

I wasn't really belittling it. I was hoping to understand it a bit more - I really don't know what the progression after Gender Studies is. A psych major may not go on to be a Psychologist but they have that option there!

Thanks for the conversation though - I really appreciate all sides of the debate :)

I agree that behavior is a huge part of it. But I don't see the political causes equal to " the same is being taken away from men. " Can you expand on that? Cuz I'm not sure what you mean. In the meantime, men, in Congress, (no women!) are trying to take away funding, and have succeeded in taking away funding for basic healthcare for women and for access to basic women's healthcare. All in the name of religion! Religion! This is wrong.

I couldn't comment on America. I live in the UK. We're not very religious over here as a country. We have Charles Darwin on our £10 notes lol. Perhaps we are both right then? :)

you can pretty much bet that a man is there to knock her down

What feminism boils down to, abusers vs abused.

The feminist ideology could had given us electricity for all I care, but in thinking that men keep women down to stay on top there's no avoiding feminism will also give its believers resentment.

I'm glad that @raymondspeaks opened up this discussion. Glad that you and your partner's relationship survived the miscarriage, man. I imagine it might still be painful.

I think I might consider myself an aspiring feminist. At age 17, my first lover, poet/choreographer Stephanie Sylvia wore her body hair and turned our little crew on to Starhawk who was an important figure in reintroducing female-centered ritual, Motherpeace Tarot which shares non-patriarchal views of archetypes (which of us can list as many famous female heroes as male ones), Isadora Duncan who made more than one body type acceptable in dance.

My partner of twenty(ish) years, @rivkah is very interested in current feminist thought and lead me to the writer bell hooks, who in All About Love shared the idea that men are socialized that we are supposed to be in charge, especially in relation to woman (and children), and spend a lot of our energy trying to prove that we are in charge. In fact, we would be a lot less stressed out if we weren't trying to be in charge.

Rivka and I discuss the expectation alluded to in the joke shared above (@crewjohn) that men take on the dangerous tasks. Reading this post made me realize that the job of potentially getting hurt or killed might in fact be easier than the job of being the caregiver or even the survivor. And woman as caregiver is the expectation, whereas man as caregiver is the exception. What is death anyway but another birth? One of the many amazing quotes in All About Love describes birth as being a death from the perspective of the foetus.

One of the really cool concepts I learned from The Heroines Journey by Maureen Murdock is that men tend to do, while women tend to be, and that both approaches to life are equally important.

Good comment. I think some men like to lead and others like to follow. The same can be said for women. It's why individuality and relationship dynamics are so important :)

It's funny watching our almost-eight-year-old act like the bossy control freak we can be. Relationship dynamics are so challenging sometimes.

I was born female and too thought women had it harder, but being transsexual and now looking like an average guy (at least with clothes on) for 8+ years has made me realize how wrong I was.

Nothing! Not even growing up being treated as a woman in a 3rd world country, could had prepared me for the horror in the reality of men.

Feminism believes men keep women down to stay on top and that's simply a lie, a lie that causes resentment to make matters worse. Don't be fooled by those talking about radical feminism or waves of feminism, it's all feminism. And if you say this they will make it out to be where you're saying that women don't struggle at all, that men struggle more than women or that you don't believe feminism has ever contributed in any way.

I've been trying for years to say everything in the red pill documentary and the biggest obstacle has been people identifying as feminists. That's actually why I joined Steemit, because everywhere else on the Internet I'd get censored by feminists.

Feminism can exist without oppression, but it can't exist without an oppressor.

This is actually really interesting. I'm fairly new to the male movement in the last few years. I'd love to hear more. I'm going to follow you I think.

I spent years talking about female issues and no one had a problem with that, the minute I started talking about male issues, because it's necessary to address those in order to address female issues and viceversa, the feminists started marginalizing me. So I became interested in why this was and started digging into the minds of these people...

They will talk about intersections and against binarism but they think in black and white terms. When you really talk to them about this feminism they believe in every single time it boils down to abusers vs abused, every single time.

Oh so not that. Life is several shades of grey rather than black or white. That's rather extreme. To walk into a relationship thinking your partner is an abuser? Wow.

Feminism is yet another activist group based around a "victim class" hijacked in order to push the Marxist ideology. It is wrapped in the veneer of the pseudoscience called "Critical Theory", which really is just a technical way to push Marxism. I wrote an article about the subject here. Please take a moment to read it. Society as we know it is at stake: https://steemit.com/freedom/@ericarthurblair/global-mind-virus

Can't say I agree with that. I don't feel oppressed right now. The world is also very right-winged at the moment and I sort of wonder if that's the cause of the massive surge in left wingers

Left and right wings belong to the same bird

I agree with that statement wholeheartedly!

That's interesting... because I cover that in my article. Shame you didn't actually read it.

Who said you were oppressed? You have it completely ass backwards. The left has been in charge since the 60s. The conservatives had a few brief moments of power, but the leftist ideologies never really lost control (ie the school systems). People are going right wing as a RESULT of the policies of the left. The left are just freaking out because they've had almost 2 whole generations in control and they are losing it and have no idea how to deal with other ideologies. Did you actually bother to read my post or are you just guessing?

Life is hard and things really aren't that simple, especially on issues of equality.

How do we compare "hard"? perhaps @tommycordero has a closer experience to reference.

My experience as a woman has been that there are people who "lift-up" others and there are people who hold others down. They may or may not consider gender in their actions.

What I am sure of is equality can't be earned by legislating it. I am also highly annoyed by people who think they are going to achieve it by screaming about it.

When you work with, bond with and go through challenges with people of different types, it tends to break the stereo types down a bit.

I don't know about Feminism, I tend to get annoyed with what I see, but I can't say I fully understand where the movement is at now, I don't know about hard or easy. What I do think I get is making us enemies doesn't make us work together better and the way feminism is being covered is divisive.

I sure am glad my girls were grown and knew better before this new wave of talk of oppression was discussed. I would be pissed if someone was telling my daughter she didn't have every opportunity to acheive what everyone else can.

As long as I have the right to earn, vote and own, equality (what does that even mean?) is available to me, only I can acheive it.

I could swear I left a comment here and can't find it, strange.

This was beautifully said actually. I really can't agree more. I actually have nothing more to add to this

Thank you! :) I appreciate it very much.

I think there is a paradox about feminism. I agree that woman have the right to choose what they are going to be. They can be act as strong as man and can still be girl. But there are woman work as prostitute, they do have their freedom to earn money by using their body, but this kind of act is actually damaging the image of women, or materialised. So it key point is that how to strike the balance between the individual freedom and the benefit of women...

Prostitution doesn't damage the image of women unless you're a misogynist.

The woman is just doing her job; the men who pay for it are the losers who should suffer reputational damage. Somehow this equal participant isn't damaged by the interaction, but a woman is?!

I think you are on the freedom side. That means women (and autually for all people!) have their freedom to do whatever they want to do. But to be honest, the nowadays society still have reservation about prostitute. And prostitution need to be treated as a trade instead of reputation issue.

Hi! I definitely agree that there are some problems with feminism, particularly recently. I think people are getting too caught up over things like terminology, I've even got yelled at online for using the terms 'he' and 'she'/ 'man' and 'woman'... apparently I should have been using 'assigned male at birth' etc, which frankly, I think is absolutely ridiculous.

However - I do not think this means that we shouldn't call ourselves feminists, even if it's uncomfortable to be associated with the bad kinds. After all, feminism is about EQUAL rights, and that comes with tackling issues within both genders. I think the only way to change feminism is from within - by calling ourselves feminists and then advocating the good type of feminism, we can create a better movement.

Feminism has nothing to do with equality or choice. That's a sales pitch. Who doesn't want fair treatment for everyone and choice? It's a sales pitch and a mechanism of coercion, that's why if you refuse to call yourself a feminist so many of them will say that means you must be into abuse or whatever is opposite of what feminism claims to be about that day.

But if it's a sales pitch, what are they trying to sell?

Also, although it is obviously good that you think everyone wants equality for everyone, that's sadly not reality. For example, my grandfather still won't read any book that's written by a woman, and in my first job I was told by the guy who hired me that girls sell more coffee and that it was good if wore a short tight skirt. I've also been yelled at in the street, including rape threats from strangers who then chased me on their bikes. I was just out for an evening run.

I don't think these people DO truly want equality, and that's the problem. It's also the problem with the kinds of women who expect men to pay for their dates 100% of the time. But anyway, this is why we still need feminism. We just need to make sure it stands for actual equality rather than petty shit.

A sales pitch is not necessary when you have a real product. An Ideology doesn't have to be about what it says it is or do what it says it does, not because someone identifies with some ideology it means they understand it either.

Your grandfather may simply not think a woman has been as involved in the world (in the way he has) to produce anything to his interest, do you really think he wants to hurt women? The dude who hired you is maybe thinking of the kids he's got to feed and how girls bring more sales in, it doesn't mean he likes that. You decide to think that he supports it just because he recognizes it, do you think he enjoys recognizing that women showing skin tends to bring money in? For all you know in his mind he was trying to give you advice on how to make more money...

I'm not telling you to ignore the injustices, I'm telling you feminism is not going to help you recognize them because it looks at men in a negative light. The core of feminism believes that men keep women down to stay on top and this is simply not true, it causes resentment which makes difficult to truly listen to men and what they experience.

How do you achieve equality by focusing on women?
Does feminism recognize women have any advantage over men?

When I asked who doesn't doesn't want justice I meant that it's an easy idea to get behind.

You say that the core of feminism is the belief that men keep women down in order to stay on top.

Now, while I don't think this actually is the core of feminism (I think it has a lot more to do with breaking societal conventions which are ingrained in society rather than individual people), I do think that some men DO want to keep women down. And it only takes some men for it to be a problem. Except the other problem is the good men often don't believe us when we say it's happening, because to them it's just bizarre and not something they'd do.

For example, I ask you what it could have been for the men who chased me on their bikes telling me I was going to get raped, other than a power trip? To push me own and keep themselves on top? What else is it to my grandfather, who knows I want to be an author, who knows that I've taken whole modules on contemporary women's writing (modern books which have won big prizes), other than to keep me down when he says he'll never read a book written by a woman? He even said that if he picked one up that looked good, he'd put it back if he saw it was written by a woman.

I've been held in the middle of a club whilst I was trying to get away by a guy insisting that I dance with him and that 'I don't have a boyfriend tonight', and even when I had both hands trying to push him away he kept holding on. What is this, if not trying to make sure he is in control? He's quite literally keeping the woman down to remain on top.

And I know these things are only part of feminism. There are many many many parts of feminism, including sections which speak to men about their issues to try and raise them up in the areas they are down. However, I do think that it's important for the good men to acknowledge the bad ones. My boyfriend was shocked when I told him I'd been followed and pestered by a man all through London when I refused to give him my phone number. Shocked when I've told him men touch me in clubs without permission (and without even saying hello, even meeting my eye). He's shocked because he'd never do this stuff, ever. But he believes me, because he trusts me, and I this is actually is a large part of feminism.

try and raise them up in the areas they are down

How does feminism know the areas that affect men when every time I and others try discussing this we are accused of playing victims and try to steal the spotlight, divert conversation, defend our privilege and control the narrative by people identifying as feminists?

Does feminism believe women have any advantage over men? If so what?

I'm not ignoring some men can lose their minds, simply in my experience it has nothing to do with hurting women because of their sex or keep them from becoming better, achieving their dreams, etc.

You don't have to lay out the bad experiences you've had with men, I know, trust me I know. And knowing that I can assure you that women don't have it worse, which is at the core of feminism even if it's hard to see. There is no wave of feminism that doesn't believe women suffer more than men, that men keep women down to stay on top.

Feminism can say all day long that it helps men, but if men are complaining that feminism is hurting them why aren't you listening? How come you want us to listen to your experience like your boyfriend and believe you, but you can't believe our experiences?

Let's see how much closer feminism has brought you to men, please let us know when you have a chance whether you believe men are more vulnerable than women to anything that is not toxic masculinity, please let us know whether you believe there's any way at all in which women benefit from this system more than men.

For one, I'd love to know why you think that women are not worse off than men. I know you have problems too but even from a biological standpoint women are worse off. And biology counts.

Things men are more vulnerable to? I'm not sure exactly what you class as toxic masculinity, and why you believe that doesn't count, but here are a few things. Men are less likely to take care of both their health and mental health, and are more likely to commit suicide. They are less likely to report if they have been raped or if they're the victim of domestic abuse, and less likely to be taken seriously if they do report it. They're more likely to die at work, and more likely to be injured. In most countries they aren't given as much paternity leave as woman are given maternity leave, meaning that the choice of who the primary caregiver is is made for them. (This can also be seen the other way as a downside for women, which it is, but my point here is that men are still denied that vital bonding time with their baby.) They have less choice in clothes shops, pretty much always. In the case of divorce and the custody of children, the court is often biased towards the mother, whether or not she is the better parent.

Is that enough? I do pay attention, and I do listen to men. Now to see if you listen to women - what problems do you think we have?

I don't think women are not worse, I know it because I've been able to get both treatments, I am not making this up and I know of plenty others like myself who only found out because of their trans experience.

These things you (not feminism) mention men are more vulnerable to, have you found out about them in a feminist forum? Why do you think men are more vulnerable to things like suicide? Have you ever seen a feminist talk about the reasons why men don't get as much consideration as parents other than the oppression of patriarchy trying to force women into motherhood?

Can you reference a single piece of writing or video in which feminists are discussing male issues outside of the way males affect females? I've never seen a feminist discuss male issues where they didn't at least imply men are causing their own issues and if women ever contribute it happens as a result of patriarchy which is there to benefit men anyways...

Nobody is denying women have issues, what many are denying is that they have the most issues and that men are causing them, which is what feminism is about.

Ah, you know. That is so true. I was told the other day that I was cisgender - I mean what the actual fuck? Why not just call me a dude/man/bloke/guy.

Yeah bud! I feel that so much! I've had that thrown at me as an insult. I think what these technical sounding terms also do is take away from what we are. I identity as a woman, as I'm sure you identity as a man. I have absolutely no trouble at all with trans folk, but the ones who take it this far really get my back up.

I know dudes/men/blokes/guys who are not cisgender. Using accurate terminology to describe people has nothing to do with feminism, but seems to have been conflated lately.

But they are still dudes/men/blokes/guys regardless of their sexuality. I want to be classed as a guy. Not cisgender. It further seperates us. If you called me a man then I would have far more in common with a homosexual man than if you called us by our sexual orientations

I also do advocate for women. Just so you know. 95% of my good friends are women and they love men! You're right. Change starts from within :)

Yeah, definitely. I got that impression. I think that personally it's a dangerous game to start moving away from feminism because of extremists, that's all. In a way, I feel like that's letting them win.

Okay, so you've definitely earned a new follower then. Nice to see that you're in the UK too :)

Thanks! I've followed you too, I liked this post. Maybe I'll do a response one!

Please do. That'll be lovely. I'll resteem it too when I see it.

I am a strait white man, and I have literally never, even once, in my life felt victimized or attacked or really even inconvenienced by Feminism at all.

I know many liberal feminist women, I have dated almost entirely liberal feminists women. I have never felt somehow bullied or pushed around or manipulated by any of them.

Meanwhile, an average woman my same age, same demographic, having had a similar romantic life, by this point would almost certainly have been the victim of sexism multiple times, have been harassed, been condescended to, been passed over, ignored, spoken down to or over, many times by men.

So if men have it, in your words "Just as bad" how is it that I have pretty much never been victimized by feminism in any way, but almost every single woman by age 30 has been victimized by sexism at least a handful of times?

Am i just incredibly lucky?

Maybe you have not, but then just because you haven't does that make it the same for every man on the planet? The world is HUGE my friend.

Let's talk about the issues you raised for a moment. I have been harrassed by women before. On my 21st birthday I was literally forced into sexually dancing with a woman I didn't want to but only because I was single, and she had the hots for me. Likewise I've walked into bars before and had women look me up and down and say, "Fuck, I'd give you a right seeing to mate" and it doesn't end there; I've been groped, touched, harrassed and a bloody million other things. Yet, like I said before, it's not a gender issue it's a behaviour issue. I don't act like that to women, nor do any of my male friends, so in my own bubble I could outwardly say, "You're having a laugh mate, that doesn't happen to women" but I know you're right and it exists.

It's time to stop thinking on terms of men/women and think in terms of people :)

Be you man or woman, being catcalled or groped when it is unwanted it not cool, but unless you are just an incredibly rare and unusual specimen, it has not happened with nearly the frequency or aggressiveness to you that it has to almost every average woman. Again, maybe you as an individual has just for some reason attracted a very a-typical amount of aggressive female sexual attention, but study after study after study (not to mention just a simple clear eyed obersvation of the reality we live in) find that that kind of behavoir you have descibed, happens to women VASTLY more often than it does to men and leads to full on sexual assault/rape much more often. Like the rates are not even in the same ball park, there is a vast difference in how often it happens between the two genders. So while I certainly don't approve of you getting groped or catcalled, the simple fact is the no, men do not have it "just as bad as women" on that front. You are simply incorrect.

But, furthermore, I wasn't really talking about groping and catcalling. I was talking about sexual assault (which happens to women FAR more than men) and the way women are treated in social and professional dynamics. Overlooked, talked down to, talked over, and generally disrespected. Yes, this happens to men too, but agian, as with the groping and catcalling, it happens WAY more often to women. It's not even hard to observe. How many times in your life have you been in a meeting with mostly men and only one or two women, and it's nearly impossible for the women to get a word in edgewise, her being constantly talked over? This happens with stupendous frequency.

And the worst part is, most of them time men aren't even aware they are doing it. I recall one experiment where groups were recorded secretly having conversations and afterwards the men and women were both asked if they felt the men talked over and interrupted the women. Almost all of the men said no, almost all of the women said yes, and when they played back the tapes, lo and behold, almost every single time the men talked over or interrupted the women, while the women very seldom did so to the men in the groups.

Like I said, I cannot speak for your personal experience, maybe you are an oddity with an a-typical experience, but I can assure you that on the whole, as a population, these kinds of things happen to women with incredible prevalence, while with men they are occasional frustrating exceptions at worst.

And it goes for a thousand other things. How many men receive unsolicited genital pics from women they aren't interested in? How many men have women threaten to find them an rape them after they are turned down for a date? How many men get constantly PM'd asking for nudes on almost every social media platform just because they look a little hot in their profile picture?

Again, all of these things DO HAPPEN to men, but the rates at which it happens, the frequency, is just no comparison. Not even remotely comparable.

I'm in the same boat; I used to think I was a feminist, maybe 5-7 years ago, but have realized what a joke it all is. Nice post. You've been through a lot man.

Thank you! I have - but you know, taking each day as it comes. Thanks for the upvote! :)

You're very welcome :)

I can't stop keking at that documentary. Like when the girl from it talks to the man and their issues the man side is just explaining the facts one by one, in chill mode, and they are speaking without disrespecting anyone, but then she gets to the feminists and they are all just disrespectful about the matter. They even laugh and also they are just saying stuff like "that's like this and you can't debate that", well excuse me lady, I'd like to hear facts about your "undebatable" statements maybe? thx lady?

Just a little meme here
-Let me predict what¡d happen if:
"If you do not think so then challenge yourself to shout in a busy public place either "Men are all pigs" or "Women are all pigs" and ask yourself which one would seem easier to do? "

-Men are all pigs: Everyone laughs hard.
-Women are all pigs: You may get hit with a bad/bottle/rock/whatever and you'd be yelled at like if you'd be a nazi who killed all the jews he saw. :)

Greetings,
Chudnofsky

lol - thanks for commenting!

I forgot to mention, I am (or was) also a feminist like yourself a while ago... now I limit myself to don't call myself anything and I just behave like a person with ethics.
Thx a lot Rey del mundo (thats your name, its a spanish name that means "king of the world", kinda cool tbh)

Be good to others and thee shall prosper, right? Good person!

Sturgeon's Law: 90% of everything is crap.

If we have to have an 'ism' can we not all adopt humanism? I do agree that man, woman and everything in between, we all face much the same challenges. However, with so much of the power worldwide concentrated in the hands of the males of the species, I can understand woman might feel the need to be a little militant in their demands for equality, and a little frustrated when they are informed that said equality is already theirs.

Power of the 1%, friend. My male friends and all males that I know don't have any power over their females. We talk in gross generalisations

I love the use of the possessive there! None should have power over another, each has the right to self-ownership. I wasn't referring to the power of the1%, I meant power in the sense of control of nigh on every corporation, every government worldwide concentrated in male hands..... not that I'm an advocate of positive discrimination for females, or indeed championing the feminist cause.

I try. If I'm not speaking from experience then I'm essentially bullshitting you. Haha. In my world, anyway.

That's very true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60004.45
ETH 2418.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43