Papa Rodins Weekly Recap #5 - Rodins Bizarre Adventures

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Greetings, Steemians and Steemettes!

And thus, week five comes to a close. This week has been a bit more chill than the others around here but quite turbulent outside of steemit. Overall, I am still holding up though, so that is good. Not even the butcher managed to cut me down, but damn did he gives his best trying.

62566+.JPG 50 Greyshades of Rodin

So much for me and the world cup

The only thing the world cup has given me this far was the opportunity to eat some BBQ with friends last week and being able to leave work a bit earlier on Wednesday. Aside from that, WC 2018 has been a good old disappointment. With Ghana and Germany being the countries I am rooting for usually, I was in for a rough time this year.

Ghana not even making it in and Germany just famously managing to kick itself out, I really do not have any incentive to keep watching. To be honest, I am not even mad about Germany taking the boot here. I am no expert when it comes to soccer, but over the last couple years, it always felt more like Germany was just getting through the motions showing the least necessary amount of effort and somehow weaseling themselves forward. That strategy was doomed to fail eventually and I am glad that it did now.

Hopefully, this will cause for a shift in attitude. When we are back again in four years, I am looking forward to seeing a more capable and enthusiastic team. Maybe the same can be true for Ghana as well.

How am I doing?

Well, let's just say that it's good that you are asking me today because yesterday, I was actually goddamn livid. After the butcher messed me up good on Thursday, I had a follow up appointment yesterday. Having an appointment did not stop them from keeping me waiting for 45 minutes before they finally called me in. They send me into a different room where I was allowed to wait for another 15 minutes before the butcher finally came in.

One minute later, I was allowed to go again

This one minute was enough for the both of us to crack some jokes about him slicing me open, him checking his handy work and being satisfied with it and, of course, him telling me that he has no waterproof patches for me and that I should by them myself.

Needless to say that I was not amused. Such a major waste of my time! And I am not even finished yet because next month, I have yet another appointment where I will get the threads pulled out. I can already see me sitting in that waiting room for another two hours only to have my threads pulled out within three minutes.

Words can't describe how sick I am of this entire procedure. But alas. Let us put that to the side.

Storytelling time

Of course, every bad comes with some good. This week was the first time where I actually make an efforot out of writing about some things happening to me personally in my day to day life. I ended up having quite a lot of fun writing it and I do hope that you also enjoyed reading about my bizarre adventures with the butcher. I intend to bring a bit more of those kind of happenings into the occasional post of mine, so I hope you look forward to that as well as I do.

Gathering steem

While the current dip in steem and SBD prices has been an ongoing topic, I noticed that prices seem to go up again, so that seems to be decent. I think a lot of people are having an easier time breathing now. For me, the difference isn't all that big, I just keep doing what I do anyway.

Over the last week I seemed to notice that I had much less interesting posts in my feed. I think said dip did its part there. All the more pleasure it was to see the names of the real warriors among the people that I follow continuing to post content, both insightful and entertaining. The perseverance should be starting to pay off now, which is great.

I expect steemit to become a bit more livelier soon, so I am looking forward to that coming to fruition.

I am also slowly closing in on gathering 400 followers. How many of these are actual users and not just part of resteem services or accounts left unused is of course hard to tell, but I am still looking forward to cracking this milestone. Having reached a reputation of 51 as well is also quite nice. I definitely want to make it into the 70s one day, so I am looking forward to see how this will be going.

Plans for the upcoming week?

Well, first of all, I am going back to work on Monday. Looking forward to that because time spend there feels much better spend than hanging out in the butchers funhouse. The people there are also much nicer and less broken, so that's on the plus side of things.

I have one or two topics that I am looking forward to write about, so that will be great and I am sure that you will love it.

I am still looking into cool ways to incorporate other social media into what I am doing here on steemit. This is the first time that I am dealing with this topic as in depth as I am doing right now, so I want to make sure to have a good plan for doing so.

I will keep you posted about that of course. If you got any useful pieces of advices regarding these topics, let me know!

Read more of Papa Rodin!

Papa Rodin Reads #4 - "Final Draft" by Sergej Lukianenko

Papa Rodin Rambles - Back to the butcher

Papa Rodin Recovers - Goddamn Butchers

Papa Rodin Rambles - Another day another dawn

Papa Rodin Rambles - Oh, what a beautiful day....

Papa Rodin Reviews - Mass Effect 3' ending

Papa Rodin Proposes - How to improve Steemit

Papa Rodin Promotes #3 - For real this time!

Papa Rodin Promotes #2 - Well...not really this time

Sort:  

All these must be keeping you busy, right??

It's true.

On a working day, I am gone for 10 hours, I post daily which usually takes another 1-2 hours, so that leaves me with four to five hours for doing other things. Not as much as one might think.

Thursday and Friday could have been decent opportunities for free time, but most of that was spend with doing nothing because of the wound or sitting in the butchers funhouse because of it. I am still glad that I managed to have both of these days being double posts by me.

Still, I need a bit more focus on what I do and better time management.

That shows how much dedicated you are. Wish you success brother. And in the meantime do follow me back because I posts things that you may like too.

Doctor's seem to think that they are the only ones with things to do, the patients time spent waiting means nothing to them. Next visit, if you have to wait any amount of time at all write him out a bill for the time you had to wait after your appointment time and hand it to him when you are done. He surely won't pay it, but it will at least tell him that your time is valuable too.

That actually sounds great. I need to remind myself to grab some paper and a pen when I go there next week to have the threads pulled out.

Congratulations @paparodin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 54.77% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56