Papa Rodin Rambles - Oh, what a beautiful day....

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Greetings, Steemians and Steemettes!

It's me, @paparodin again. The day started promising, but ended up being somewhat disappointing towards the end. I still have plenty of topics and things I want to cover, but those won't be running away anytime soon. Instead, I thought I would just tell you a bit about myself and how my day was coming along. Let's get to know each other a bit better, shall we?

62566+.JPG 50 Greyshades of Rodin

Just waking up in the morning gotta thank God

Starting it off with an Ice Cube quote. Off to a good start we are! As most days do, mine started in the morning. Unlike most people, I don't actually sleep in a bed. A couple months ago, I noticed that my mattress was fairly worn out. I also realized that I never enjoyed a particularly good sleep on it. I used the opportunity and just got rid of my mattress all together and slept on the floor instead. Laying on something hard is better for your back anyway, or so I heard, so I wanted to give it a try. The first couple nights were awkward, but afterwards, it became second nature, basically. I wouldn't want it any other way.

Leaving this nightly spot of hard respite behind me, I stood up. It was 6.00 am over here. One hour of time to get myself ready for the day. I do not eat breakfast, so that time is somewhat free for me to use. After having taken a shower and brushed my teeth, I came in here, checking how steemit was going while I was gone.

Kicking of the day with some steem

It always feels good checking steemit in the morning. Some people have left responds to posts of mine or to comments I left. Taking this opportunity, I go through all of them in one fell swoop and reply to everyone who had something interesting to say. Which, usually, means everyone. Unless I have said something actually funny, I just skip over "lol"s.

At this point, I usually start to think about what I would write about when I come back. I had a solid few ideas, but as usual, I do decide for something else entirely eventually.

Off to work...

At around 7.00 am, my bus arrives. That was a joke because it usually ends up being late. A lot of school kids usually end up slowing the bus down, among other things like traffic related issues or construct sides. I could probably drive a car myself, but that wouldn't make things much better. Also, going around this way gives me some minutes to read.

I work in another town, so after driving with the bus, I have to continue my journey by train. The train I usually take is either very early, to the point that I miss it because of my bus running late or it is too late that I might as well have just stayed at home. Well, okay, not THAT late.

The fun part about traveling by train is that I take the same train almost every morning. Because I am truly blessed, said train has a defect door. _So the door is broken, what's the point, that doesn't sound so bad, just take another one." is what you are probably saying. But no, that would be too unproblematic. No, this door is a real gift. Imagine being on your way to work, school or university and you haven't had a good start into your day. Maybe you are still sleepy or you just don't really feel like working.

That is where this door comes in. Instead of keeping you out, it wholeheartedly welcomes you with a super loud high frequent loud that remains as long as the door is open!

Which usually takes 2-3 minutes. And it happens at every station the train stops. Afterwards, you are awake. Sometimes, you are also deft. But you are awake and that's what counts! On the plus side, this unnatural occurrence always gives you something to talk about with strangers. That particular door is like that for at least one year by the way. I think at this point, they just keep it that way as a novelty.

Working nine to five

The title is actually a lie because I start at around 8.00 am and leave the place at some point past 16.00 pm. I can't talk about what I do and where and why and how because I'm bound by contract. You can listen to Dolly Parton instead.

Of course, I had a break in between. I actually had to go to my bank because I needed to prepare something for tomorrow, so I used the opportunity. While I was out anyway, I took a look at the local fruit market. A wise decision because grapes and blueberries were super cheap that day. While usually not a time I would use for eating, I went and bought lots of both which made my remaining working times much sweeter.

I'm coming home, tell the world that I'm coming home!

Left work at around 16.00 pm. Some folks were allowed to leave earlier because Germany played today. None of them seemed truly enthusiastic and all of them were proven to be right. I missed the game myself, but apparently, Korea managed to beat us out quite famously. As far as I know, that means that Germany is out and with Ghana having never been in in the first place, out is the least bit of interest I had in the world cup.

_I still would have liked to see the game though.:

Of course, I could not. Not because of work, frankly enough. Sometimes, they still find old bombs from the times of war. Still happens a couple times a year. That usually means that huge parts of the locations need to be evacuated and no kind of traffic can go there. That usually includes buses and trains. The following chaos can cause unclarity and unpunctuality, so my way home ended up being a bit complicated. It's a mess, really.

You see, I ended up taking a train that took me somewhere far far away from my home. Sadly, far far away wasn't Hogwarts, so my excitement was short lived. Because of the problems caused by the found bomb, the train I took landed on the railway that was supposed to be used for the train I actually wanted to take.

That detour caused me to come home later about one hour later than expected. But I made it home and that is all that counts.

Not everything was terrible

I was able to use this free time to complete reading the book I was busy with. It is actually the second book, the sequel to the Rough Draft, the book I wrote in this post. I was haven't read the book for years but I am glad that I did because as was the case with the first one, this book made me look at a couple things in a different light yet again. Fantasy and Science Fiction written by good authors really can have that effect on you. Stories that go deeper than just explore planet X or slay Dragon Y to rescue Princess Z are rare, but at the end of the day, they do have perspective.

When I got home, I followed my routine that has been crafted and cultivated in years. I got undressed ASAP and threw everything in a corner. Always feels good coming home.

Shortly after, I went through some replies to me here on Steemit again and started to write this very post you are reading right now. While I was in the very earliest parts, a friend of mine called. I was actually waiting for that call because he was supposed to help me with something, so I was glad when it happened. Things start to look up!

To be continued?

Well, I am not intending to go to sleep yet. So yeah, I will still continue to do a couple things. After I have wrapped up writing this post, I will actually get dressed again because I want to go to the grocery store. A somewhat bad habit that I have a hard time getting rid off, but I will address this another time.

Once I have return, I will start looking through steemit again and upvote and comment on everything I deem to be interesting. That sounds like a good way to end this day. Ah, I will take a shower at some point as well. A cold one, they help me fall asleep easier.

Tomorrow, i actually won't go to work. I have an appointment for a small surgical procedure. Well, I hope it will be small, I have no idea how I will feel afterwards. Chances are that I will have to call in sick for the rest of the week. Touchy subject when you are just starting in a new job, but I was waiting for weeks for that appointment, so I won't be passing up on that.

Nothing to worry about by the way. Just a lipoma being cut out of my stomach. It doesn't really disturb me, but everyone I know is worried about me having some of them, so I wanted to get one cut out and and looked at so that everyone can finally remain calm about the topic.

Some people tell me that this procedure actually knocked them out for quite a while, so I am looking forward to seeing how I will take that. That should be an interesting experience. Maybe I will tell you about it tomorrow. But I probably won't. I will have made up my mind about it tomorrow around this time.

Read more of Papa Rodin!

Papa Rodin Reviews - Mass Effect 3' ending

Papa Rodin Proposes - How to improve Steemit

Papa Rodin Promotes #3 - For real this time!

Papa Rodin Promotes #2 - Well...not really this time

Papa Rodin Weekly Recap #4 - Oh, what a week!

Papa Rodin Quotes #2 - Black Thoughts

Papa Rodin Recommends - Dustsweeper

Papa Rodin Reads #3 - "Rough Draft" by Sergej Lukianenko

Papa Rodin Presents - Bookcases

Papa Rodin announces the Winner! - Also some miscellaneous stuff

Sort:  
I can't actually talk about what I do and where and why and how because I'm bound by contract
International man of mystery 😅

I would tell you more about it, but then I would need to neuralyze you.

Hey @paparodin,

Sorry to take so long to land. Actually visited a couple of your older posts right away but voting power was super low so I thought it best to return.

Not sure if you've seen them around Steemit yet, but this 'my day' type post is gaining in popularity via the #Ulog tag.... an initiative by @SurpassingGoogle aka Witness SteemGigs.

If you're interested and/or haven't already been there, you can get an idea of the wide variety of #Ulogs being published here on Steemit everyday on the timeline over at:
https://ulogs.net

It's built using the Busy framework so you'll have a slider to vote with which helps manage voting power, plus additional goodies that are not yet active on Busy yet.

Anyhoo, great to meet you via Asher's Leagues and Congratzzz again for doing so well in engagement whilst still so young, Steemit-wise. And best wishes with your procedure tomorrow, @paparodin.

This post has received a 9.02 % upvote from @boomerang.

You got a 31.13% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66