The State of the @NoNamesLeftToUse Address: Still Willing to Work for Your Support

in #life6 years ago

It has been a little over a month since I last took a moment to reflect.

Where the hell am I? Where am I going?

I'm not sure...

We can have a look at where I've been though.

Enjoy the show.

NoNamesLeftToUse - Fuck It.jpeg
It's Not What it Looks Like

I Somehow Managed to Survive Another Winter

I'll start there.

A winter in Canada is hard on the system.

Some of you may have noticed I've been fighting to stay alive this past month at least. I miss a cold beer in the sun on a hot day. That's probably one of my favorite things in life. Just relaxing. I want to be at the lake or riding around on my dirt bike making noise and having fun.

I don't want to sound like a downer. Usually I'm an upper, or at least try to be. It's a battle though. I've always been affected by what some call winter depression. We're like plants in a way. We need the sun to grow and stay healthy otherwise we whither up and die. With so much darkness and being forced to stay indoors most of the time, it's easy to go crazy. It's easy to feel like crap. Some people have to fight it. Others? I don't know. Maybe they take pills or took acting classes.

NoNamesLeftToUse - Magic Explanation.jpeg
Magic Explanation

I released that image up there to go along with some of my humorous writing. What a good day that turned out to be. With 260 votes, I broke my previous vote record of 242. I guess part of that is luck. It still felt good though. I felt like I achieved something. I didn't purchase that attention. Many of you know I'm not comfortable with buying votes. How am I supposed to know in advance which combination of art and writing should be promoted? I don't. I don't really want to talk about that stuff though.

NoNamesLeftToUse - Doesn't Fit In.jpeg
Doesn't Fit

I produced that image while taking a break, in a sense. I remember being what some might call overly generous with votes and ended up killing my vote power. It took a few days of testing my discipline to be able to bring that power back up to it's full potential. It was nice to see so many of you still leave comments knowing full well I wouldn't be offering you a bit of spare change for your time.

NoNamesLeftToUse - Mental Break.jpeg
Mental Break

Yes. I had to take a few of those breaks recently. More often than not, I'll spend a few hours producing the art, more time writing up a post, and even more time responding to nearly every comment that comes my way. If you look, you'll see I have well over 9000 posts. Majority of that comes from me responding to everyone. I enjoy it. I love talking to you folks after the show. It takes a lot out of me but I think it's important to at least make people feel welcome. Sometimes, especially lately, I haven't been able to respond. Thanks for not taking that personally or thinking I was being an asshole. I'm not ignoring anyone if you don't hear back from me. I'm most likely exhausted or trying to keep up with the next posts flurry of incoming words.

NoNamesLeftToUse - A Picture of What I Did Today.jpeg
A Picture of What I Did Today

NoNamesLeftToUse - Idea.jpeg
Idea

NoNamesLeftToUse - Depressed Batman.jpeg
Depressed Batman

I hit my goal of 20000 Steem Power shortly after producing those. My approach to blogging about art is quite unique in this world. I believe that has something to do with what some might call my success. I guess the best advice I can give anyone is this: They don't want to follow just your art, they want to follow the artist. I've known this from the start. Even if you're one of those bloggers out there who picked a topic to write about, just know, the people aren't following your words, they're following you. When we look around and see so many who simply share information without adding a personalized touch, we also see them struggling to get noticed. In most cases, they're not being themselves.

Be yourself. It helps.

NoNamesLeftToUse - This.jpeg
This

NoNamesLeftToUse - It Again.jpeg
It Again

NoNamesLeftToUse - That.jpeg
That

NoNamesLeftToUse - Seriously.jpeg
Seriously

NoNamesLeftToUse - Someone Behind You.jpeg
Someone Behind You

NoNamesLeftToUse - Two-faced Cat Lady.jpeg
Two-Faced Cat Lady

NoNamesLeftToUse - The Nasty Cold.jpeg
The Nasty Cold

NoNamesLeftToUse - Mohratard.jpeg
Mohratard

NoNamesLeftToUse - The Apology.jpeg
The Apology

NoNamesLeftToUse - Point A Cross.jpeg
Point Across

NoNamesLeftToUse - Not Going Back In There.jpeg
Not Going Back In There

NoNamesLeftToUse - Giving Head.jpeg
Head

NoNamesLeftToUse - Couldn't Think of a Name.jpeg
Couldn't Think of a Name

NoNamesLeftToUse - I Think You Can't See Me.jpeg
I Think You Can't See Me

NoNamesLeftToUse - Sinking to the Bottom.jpeg
Sinking to the Bottom

NoNamesLeftToUse - It's Just Squiggly Lines.jpeg
It's Just Squiggly Lines

I have seasonal allergies to life...

Yet I still managed to do all that.

Last March, I was gone. Needed a break, so I took a break. How I'm still here this March, pushing forward, trying my damnedest to get somewhere when most days I naturally feel like I won't go anywhere... Well, it baffles me.

I guess, deep down I know I'm still enjoying myself. Still having fun. Yes, there are problems in life. They like to take center stage sometimes.

People who used to work for me would come to me with problems quite often. I'd always remind them how easy it is to focus on that 1% of life that doesn't seem quite right. I'd remind them how it's only a distraction from the other 99%. The good stuff. Looking back, I guess it's probably a good idea to remind myself of that now. 99% is enough to say it's all good, I'll be fine.

Thanks for putting up with me.

Have a nice day.

linebreak1
Credits:
All art and images seen here were produced digitally, by me.
"It's not supposed to be easy."
[email protected]

© 2018 Two Insanity Productions. All rights reserved.
Follow @NoNamesLeftToUse
(Click the link for previous posts!)

Sort:  

Such sage advice! It is completely true. People follow a person not disembodied work! Top donk, I'm glad you are still hanging about :0)

Yeah, still here. Still trying. Always hoping things start getting better, at least back to where they were.

I think if anything this place can be a little cyclical at times. I think the ever falling price is going to have some kind of effect soon. I think it might be a healer :O)

If you would like to buy some of my bottled optimism just send 100SBDS to @penilejustice my positivity outreach account

How about this: You send me 100SBD to my resteeming service "Scammers 'R' Me" and I will resteem your post to 20000 followers who muted me because they got sick of my resteem spam. Please? It's hard to find a new sucker client these days.

That sounds like a bargain. I am happy to do so. However, I have had some bad experiences with wallet transfers lately and got hacked several times. I hold my SBD offline.

You can log in to meestersteemit.com with your username and active password - it will then allow you to transfer your dollars from there.

Honest injun

How about I just leave my keys here and you do all the work when you can? I don't have time, plus this technical stuff is too hard and I'm not one who likes to learn anything important.

YEAH! I am on the phone to my mom right now and telling her I am a fucking painter! She cant believe this shit!

This baby! This is what Steemit is all about! I am an artist!

Damn, did I just accidentally hand over not only a wallet but an entire online productions studio type entity that exist solely on a blockchain(first of it's kind) to some whackjob in bagpipe land!!

It is true that sun has a huge impact in our lifes, people in countries with not so much sun during the year tend to be more depressed. Also, I am keeping what you say, keep only the good stuff, keep going thinking that!

Yeah. I think I'll move south at some point. Or at least somewhere sunny and somewhat warm even when it's winter. I'm trying to keep focused on that good stuff. I guess it's not that hard.

That is nice you should do that! Well when you start thinking like that it is not so difficult after some time.

I honestly can't uderstand how you people make it through winter. People in countries with climate like yours I think are heroes.

We (Greece) have snow that might keep us inside for a day or two once every 3-4 years. I sometimes can't take the cloudy and rainy days of winter. But doesn't all this make you appreciate spring and summer time more?

But doesn't all this make you appreciate spring and summer time more?

That's exactly what it does. Most people here try to make every day count once winter goes away. For me, I like to stay busy but in summer I make sure to do things that slow down time as well. In winter, we rush it seems. Everything has to be done fast, unless you're shoveling snow for the 1000th time because people usually do that after the blizzard. Those moments after a winter storm can actually be quite peaceful. Winter air, at least where I live, that stuff feels good on the lungs.

I didn't realize you lived in Canada. Is it exactly the same as they portray it in the Trailer Park Boys? I would assume so.

Congratulations on hitting 20, 000. I barely have half that which I know is still quite a bit.

One can only hope that the Steemit Journey is onward and upward despite our lulls lately.

What you say is 100% true of course. You've got to show your personality instead of just showing your art. For example, I write fiction stories but if I don't engage my audience and show them who I really am then people will become bored with what I write even if it's really good because they want to interact with and get to know me and not just my stories.

Yup, it's exactly like Trailer Park Boys. That's a reality tv show. Everyone knows that. I watch COPS so I pretty much know everything I need to know about the USA.

You made a good point and for the most part, I'm writing in character so it's to my benefit as well to let people know I'm not actually crazy, it's just entertainment.

A lot of these folks who depend on bot votes from either paid services or things like Dtube are missing out on this aspect it seems. They just sit and wait. Even the top trending posts... nobody is getting to know anyone. "Nice post!" "Thank you(but I'm too busy to talk)!" That lack of community spirit is part of this lull. I find it hard to leave because I'm leaving people behind if I do. I worry about Dtubers especially because without that big vote from Dtube and without spending time building roads with people... that future looks bleak. Too many participation awards being taken for granted.

Honestly this is a very real concern. We need Steemit to take off because of community and because people come to write good content and get rewarded for it.

When people are getting rewarded for bad content, then this apathetic "where's my money" attitude shows up...... these people are incredibly bad for Steemit.

I don't know if adding communities will change things or not but we need the good content to rise to the top..... and despite everyone telling you that it does rise to the top...... as things currently stand good content does not rise to the top because voting Bots and top trending posts are all about paid services.

I've said everything I can say. I saw the mess coming, I wrote about it a few times. Eventually I explained it all in a way that describes what happens when you introduce crack cocaine(bid bots and participation awards being the crack) into a thriving neighborhood. I was bang on, it's falling apart. I saw a meme today earn $23. It had five views and the image was property of some big media corporation. That is so bad for business. These people might get sued....

Now Facebook and Google banned shady cryptocurrency related advertisements, which was smart, because that gives things like STEEM an opportunity to shine, but now people here are encouraging those scammers to come to steemit. I now predict the trending page to be full of that sort of garbage and many people here won't realize they are reading advertisements(something I also wrote about and said everything I can say..people think those are just regular blog posts on trending. They don't know they are ads and promotions because they're not labelled as ads) and get sucked in to losing money, which will break the community spirit even more. We've already seen the damage these scammer types do to everyone.

Communities might help but with the introduction of SMT's, things are going to be far too confusing for the regular average person to grasp. Most people don't even know they can exchange SBD for STEEM and power it up right here on the platform. So yeah, throw in a few hundred more tokens and communities that require all this stuff.

I dunno. Too much, too soon. The arts and entertainment industry along with the information age is a massive market to tap in to. Good content should be embraced for that very reason. Why it seems to be being pushed in the opposite direction baffles me....but I can't talk about it because I just end up getting stressed.

...and now I just saw a Dtube video with 3 views and $52 next to it. That's after nearly 2 hours after posting and one of those views was mine.

Being in Greece I often find myself missing the exact opposite. Having a beer next to a fireplace while watching everything covered in white from the window... Oh well... I really enjoy your trippy stuff :)

Btw for some weird reason your name is in my latest post :D

Canadian summer means do something productive outside until about 3, then sit in the sun with beer and marinate. That's like having a nap, but it's a buzz instead, daydream a bit, hopefully no one needs anything, maybe have another beer if it's safe. The evening it cools down, so then you light the campfire and do in a couple more beer. That's a good summer day. I'll trade you climates any day.

..and I just might try that challenge. We shall see. Thanks for the mention!

Sorry can't have the climate. Wanna trade debts perhaps?

Debts? Canada is sitting at about 1.2 trillion. There's only 36 million people here... LOL! Are you sure you want that?

Well I was talking more in regards to GDP. Yours is like 60 I think, last time I checked greece's 300 % and climbing...

Oh well, fuck that depressive stuff, here just finished a cold one to make you jelly. Somewhat cloudy here but quite hot today for March. IMG_20180318_132627728.jpg:P

I have a hard time talking about myself these days. After being an artist for over 5 years on social media, I don't feel like letting every Tom Dick and Harry into my personal space anymore. I try to create beauty and music where people can escape to for a few minutes, but, I'm not a therapist or an addictions counselor.

I found when I was super open, a lot of people felt more comfortable approaching me for "personal" reasons, not art reasons. Then, they'd get all pissy and write me nasty messages if I didn't have time to be their new best friend and counselor. Some even went so far as to blast me publicly for being "fake" because I didn't reply to their 5th message to me about how they can't stop drinking (after I already replied to the other 4 messages they sent, saying the same thing each time about how I quit drinking, that they ignored)... I ain't got time for that.

Now, it's more about my art. And you know what? I'm selling a lot more big ticket paintings, getting more serious fans of my art (as opposed to fans of how nice I am to strangers on Facebook and how cool it is that I take time to reply to everyone) and spending a lot less time being a counselor and friend to people who will forget I exist if I stop posting for 2-3 days. Wow that felt really good to say. Maybe I am being more open... lol

I have a 'no drama' rule I strictly enforce with people. They learn fast that I'm not here to waste time with that stuff. I'm not sharing every little bit about my life here. That's not what I really meant by being yourself. I just add my personality to each post rather than following some kind of template. A picture with a few of the same details for every single blog post means people will know what to expect before looking. Some will lose interest. If people can't be serious fans of my work because of the way I am and if they'd prefer I act in a way that suits their own personal standards of how someone should act... that might not be someone I'd want to business with so I guess it's better that way.

For me the start of my journey into art as a career and my sobriety went hand in hand. I guess that's part of why I got a lot of "personal"messages. Now I focus more on the art and much less on the sobriety. I suppose that's where I'm going - towards people who know what to expect, and hopefully what they expect is why they follow me.

In my last blog post I acted like my name is Ricardo. Some people don't read those tags you know... and they don't get humor. For me, I think I owe to everyone to show who I really am from time to time. Many other posts I'll pick the most mundane things from my day and talk about that. "I ate a banana today." In reality, my life isn't it that boring, but it keeps people(and myself) entertained. We all have our ways though. I certainly wouldn't force anyone to change.

That did crack me up. There's a famous Quebec chef named Ricardo, and his flagship store and studio where he films his show is right down the street from my parents lol I did eat a banana today though... Hmm...

That frickin' post bombed hard. Most folks didn't realize it's a parody of that one dude on the trending page... I didn't want to give it away though. Everyone got so quiet. I think they thought I was on drugs. I'm afraid to go back to that post now... It's not the first time I bombed. Won't be the last!

LOL I didn't realize. Of course I generally purposely try to avoid anything that's trending if I can lol I read your post in a sort of Razor Ramon accent to go with the name Ricardo so it added a whole other element of funny to it even though I was laughing at a joke I didn't actually get - at least I was laughing lol

Yeah, it's best read in an accent. I had fun putting it together. I did tag it as satire. If you read his posts and then my parody, you'll see how it's spot on. I honestly thought more people were familiar with that character. He spends enough to be famous, < sarcasm > I'm not sure why it didn't work. </ sarcasm >

Winter depression sucks ass man. The last one I had was the worst.

Looking back now, it's almost surprising/shocking how low I'd fallen back then and keeps me wondering - "why?".

Enables me to appreciate the awesome moments I'm having now though, so there's that.
So glad it's going good with you too!

It's going good. Even if it's not I'll just fake it! LOL

Lol
Always look at the bright side while accepting the shitty situation and working towards improving it.

As a time traveling cat I know answer to these entire question. However, not even for cat nip will is spill such universally guarded secrets.

I hope you get to enjoy spring! I’m hoping all this cold weather will be out of my area soon. I was in the pool already this year. Then it got to cold again. Darn you silly weather!

In the pool? In Canada we walk on the pool in winter.

Is it a...Bananaphone? Whatever you do, do not look that up on youtube!

Have I ever told you how much I love your art? lol, I think maybe once or twice ;)

I can't even say I survived another winter here yet, though at least the sun is shining today it's still freezing, white stuff on the ground. It has been getting to me more than usual this year, affecting my creativity...almost there, that's what I tell myself, almost out of the woods.

Still plenty of snow here as well. That won't be gone for another month yet. It is nice to wake up early and the sun is rising now though. Days are getting longer.

At least it's not -40 anymore.

Ha, ah, okay you definitely win, -40....that is true winter.

Happy St. Patty's my friend :)

I'm a Texas boy but I spent a few years in Germany. Those long winters and never ending cold REALLY started fucking with my emotions after a while. Seasonal mood disorder is real, and it ain't pretty. Take tons of vitamin D, and hit up a tanning bed every once in a while. It sounds corny but I swear you can feel your skin sucking up the UV rays like a lizard sunning on a rock. Also, move somewhere warm.

That's something I didn't do this year; the vitamin D. Usually I take care of that but I got lazy this winter.

Moving somewhere warm is the plan. I think it's settled now. I could probably live like a king in Mexico.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50