You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The State of the @NoNamesLeftToUse Address: Still Willing to Work for Your Support

in #life6 years ago

I didn't realize you lived in Canada. Is it exactly the same as they portray it in the Trailer Park Boys? I would assume so.

Congratulations on hitting 20, 000. I barely have half that which I know is still quite a bit.

One can only hope that the Steemit Journey is onward and upward despite our lulls lately.

What you say is 100% true of course. You've got to show your personality instead of just showing your art. For example, I write fiction stories but if I don't engage my audience and show them who I really am then people will become bored with what I write even if it's really good because they want to interact with and get to know me and not just my stories.

Sort:  

Yup, it's exactly like Trailer Park Boys. That's a reality tv show. Everyone knows that. I watch COPS so I pretty much know everything I need to know about the USA.

You made a good point and for the most part, I'm writing in character so it's to my benefit as well to let people know I'm not actually crazy, it's just entertainment.

A lot of these folks who depend on bot votes from either paid services or things like Dtube are missing out on this aspect it seems. They just sit and wait. Even the top trending posts... nobody is getting to know anyone. "Nice post!" "Thank you(but I'm too busy to talk)!" That lack of community spirit is part of this lull. I find it hard to leave because I'm leaving people behind if I do. I worry about Dtubers especially because without that big vote from Dtube and without spending time building roads with people... that future looks bleak. Too many participation awards being taken for granted.

Honestly this is a very real concern. We need Steemit to take off because of community and because people come to write good content and get rewarded for it.

When people are getting rewarded for bad content, then this apathetic "where's my money" attitude shows up...... these people are incredibly bad for Steemit.

I don't know if adding communities will change things or not but we need the good content to rise to the top..... and despite everyone telling you that it does rise to the top...... as things currently stand good content does not rise to the top because voting Bots and top trending posts are all about paid services.

I've said everything I can say. I saw the mess coming, I wrote about it a few times. Eventually I explained it all in a way that describes what happens when you introduce crack cocaine(bid bots and participation awards being the crack) into a thriving neighborhood. I was bang on, it's falling apart. I saw a meme today earn $23. It had five views and the image was property of some big media corporation. That is so bad for business. These people might get sued....

Now Facebook and Google banned shady cryptocurrency related advertisements, which was smart, because that gives things like STEEM an opportunity to shine, but now people here are encouraging those scammers to come to steemit. I now predict the trending page to be full of that sort of garbage and many people here won't realize they are reading advertisements(something I also wrote about and said everything I can say..people think those are just regular blog posts on trending. They don't know they are ads and promotions because they're not labelled as ads) and get sucked in to losing money, which will break the community spirit even more. We've already seen the damage these scammer types do to everyone.

Communities might help but with the introduction of SMT's, things are going to be far too confusing for the regular average person to grasp. Most people don't even know they can exchange SBD for STEEM and power it up right here on the platform. So yeah, throw in a few hundred more tokens and communities that require all this stuff.

I dunno. Too much, too soon. The arts and entertainment industry along with the information age is a massive market to tap in to. Good content should be embraced for that very reason. Why it seems to be being pushed in the opposite direction baffles me....but I can't talk about it because I just end up getting stressed.

...and now I just saw a Dtube video with 3 views and $52 next to it. That's after nearly 2 hours after posting and one of those views was mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44