Better Living Through Giving and The Journey of PurposesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Its An Amazing Time To Be Alive 

What a fascinating world we live in today in 2017. The freedom and reach of the internet coupled with the advancements of technology is really incredible when you think about it. I write this story today for a man who's eyes were opened through the power of giving and purpose. The man in this story is me...

Hi my name is Chris and my journey to purpose began several years ago in early 2005 as I was transitioning out of a corporate career working in real estate and finance. Growing up in a very limited and humble environment gave me the opportunity to develop drive and endurance at a young age. Always striving to reach higher so I could acquire "things" that I did without as a kid. 

This story may sound familiar to some of you that are reading this. I managed to make some good financial decisions along the way and other choices not so much. Being young and living a life of careless spending is bound to catch up with you sooner than later. I found myself in my mid to late 20's making more money than I knew what to do with. 

I thought to myself I'M RICH and the money is going to last forever. In late 2009 the real estate market crashed in the U.S. and it effected millions of people tragically. Many people lost their homes, careers, and everything they owned. I was one of those people. In a blink of an eye all of the "things" I had acquired such as cars, homes, material possessions, etc all disappeared.  Repo's, foreclosures, etc. It was a nightmare. 

I remember making decisions like....am i going to buy dog food or buy me food, am I going to pay the light bill or the water bill? what do I need the most...electricity or a shower and water? The sad part is that many people we know and don't know are having to make decisions like this everyday. I believe that what we are doing today can help change this. I believe that their has never been a better time to be alive and to be able to help others. 

In previous years "success" to me was all about the money and how much I could make because I never had it. Today my definition of success is much different. Today I am conscious and thankful for every breath and every day I wake up. I am thankful for every day I can make a difference. Everyday is a blessing. 

When I didnt have a penny to my name a total stranger helped me when i was hungry and in the grocery store one day. She knew I was struggling and till this day I have no idea who she is. From that day forward it has changed me. Its up to us as people to see past ourselves and get comfortable being un-comfortable in life. Us up to us to change things and to take a leap of faith to help others when we can.

If you have made it this far into this message and short story I believe something has kept you here. I encourage you to ask yourself what can you do today to help someone in need whether you know them or not. Lift them up, make a contribution, talk to them, smile when you walk by....Its the little things that can make a big difference.

Make a commitment to impact and inspire others with every opportunity.  Love yourself, your creator and love others. 

We only have one life to live and when we are gone no one will remember us for our money or the things we have acquired in life....

People will ALWAYS remember how you made them feel though.... Be well and be blessed my friends. 

What Can You Do Today To make An Impact?
Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @media360 I have sent you a tip

Wow Chris... Thank you so much for posting this. I honestly think your message was one I needed to hear... Watching that video just made me realize how focused I've been on myself instead of others... I have tears in my eyes as I write this. Thank you again for the inspiring message and thank you for posting meaningful content that makes this community better. You're the kind of person I definitely want to follow. Welcome, and good luck on your life journey... I'll look forward to your future posts. Cheers from Salt Lake City

Thank you for the kind words my friend. I appreciate you. Look forward to chatting more in the future. Be well!

Welcome to Steemit @media360!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

That was a really motivating read. You seem like a genuine, nice person. Welcome to Steemit.

Thank you for reading and thank you for the feedback. Means a lot. I hope you are well.

No problem I am doing ok

Welcome @media360 ! hope you enjoy here as much as i do ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Thanks my friend! I appreciate you.

Welcome :) Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Great article

Congratulations @media360! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46