GiftedGaia's Breakdown :: Mayweather vs McGregor - A Historic Sporting Event (Analysis, Prediction, Streaming Instructions)

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Greetings Steemit,

There's a whole pile of Worldwide promotion that you must have noticed indicating "The Money Fight" that is Floyd Mayweather vs Conor Mcgregor is soon upon us. If the advertisements are to be believed - this is supposed to be the biggest fight in combat sports history, and I suppose.. in some sense.. that's maybe accurate if accounting for the'viewership' alone, as a projected 50 Million people could be watching in just the United States. (That's a really BIG number!)

I am looking forward to seeing this fight.. but not for all the build up & hype. I feel this event has the possibility to do something that hasn't been done in 24 years, since UFC 1.. and that something is to 'change the game' in some ways I'll now attempt to explain, though I'm mostly speaking in hypotheticals as someone who LOVES to analyze MMA fights. I don't really watch boxing, so I cannot comment with any certainty aside from saying Vasyl Lomachenko looks like he fights straight out of The Matrix.


Before UFC 1 in 1993 there was always the question of "What Fighting Discipline is Best?". In example: Could a Boxer beat a Wrestler? Could a Karate Master beat a Taekwondo Master? .. and so on, and so on. UFC 1 answered that, pretty much proving that the most well rounded fighter (meaning knowing multiple disciplines since anything can happen in a fight) has the upper hand. The Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu legend 'Royce Gracie' (pictured above) is credited with having the idea, and then proceeding to organize a multi-disciplined tournament that became the first UFC event. He then entered the event, and won it - defeating the well oversized Ken Shamrock in spectacular fashion in the finale via submission.

That event "Changed the Game" in that every fighter realized that if they didn't study stand up, and they were paired against a studied striker, they were fucked. Or - if the fight goes to the ground (80+% of all fights do) and they were paired against someone with a studied ground game, they were fucked. From that moment on the collective mindset changed & the goal was to become "Well Rounded" for the win. Conor McGregor exists in this World, a place of savage violence where as he himself puts it "We bounce heads off of canvases then drill them into the ground." (Its a viable point)

Boxing is a different World, where members spend their lives becoming focused technicians of reflex & power. Legacies turn to dynasties, and families rule as Kings, passing their knowledge & traditions through the boxing gyms. This is a World that Floyd Mayweather was BORN into, his Father & Family hosting successful boxing careers. He, in some sense, is the quintessential iconic Boxer. He is widely regarded as the Best defensive Boxer of all time, an 11 time World Champion hosting an undefeated 49-0 record after 2+ decades of fighting. In his World - he is the Alpha, and no one can beat him. (Its a viable point)

I happen to writing this post as the Official Weigh-Ins are starting. Floyd Mayweather is walking out to Phil Collins' "In the Air Tonight".. point of observation: I didn't see that one coming.

Conor weighed in at 153lbs, Floyd at 149.5. After re-hydration, I expect Mcgregor to be walking around at 170lbs by fight time. That marks Conor at 10 years younger, 20 pounds heavier than Floyd.. some would say THAT'S a mismatch.


Tomorrow evening, these two men will step into a sanction Boxing Match, under pre-agreed upon Boxing rules. All common sense states that Mayweather will put on a Boxing clinic against someone making their professional boxing debut.. unless.. you consider the notion that the differences in Training/Fight IQ earned by fighting multi-discipline in MMA will be akin to unleashing a wild animal on someone who isn't used to dealing with one. This is a question people think they can answer, and are then placing bets for insane amounts of money to back it up. Reporting states that most bets are siding for McGregor to win.

My predictions are as follows:

  • If Mayweather wins - then he retires again, perhaps fighting Conor again down the road depending on the outcome of tomorrow's fight.

  • If McGregor wins - then he just beat the supposed greatest of all time, and flips the entire Sport of Boxing on its head. I would assume there would most certainly be a rematch at some point.

  • If Mayweather wins - all the Boxing community gets to say "I told you so" and answers the question that a focused studied discipline can beat someone who knows more about fighting, but is only allowed to fight under those limited rules compared to MMA.

  • If McGregor wins - all the MMA community gets to say "I told you so" and answers the question that well rounded fighter who is used to more savage conflicts that require a heightened situational awareness can prevail over a fighter who is less broadly trained.

And THAT is how this Fight could 'change the game'. If McGregor walks into that ring tomorrow evening & pummels Floyd to early KO, I would have to assume that every boxer would immediately realize they have massive holes in their game, if not technically speaking, than via Fight IQ and situational preparedness.


I have a friend who LOVES Boxing. As a die hard Boxing fan: He scoffs at MMA for many reasons, mostly because as he puts it "All they do is roll around most the fight." I myself happen to LOVE MMA. As a die hard MMA fan: I scoff at Boxing for many reasons, mostly because as Dana White puts it "Its a Fight - Anything can happen!" After tomorrow he & I can somewhat, in some sense, settle these debts of misunderstanding we've held between us for years.

It honestly really does kinda feel like UFC 1 all over again.

Should anyone be interested in watching the event tomorrow evening (9pm ET) hit me up in the Steemit Talk Discord Server around fight time & I can pass ya a link, as I plan on sitting in voice chat with any other fight fans watching this supposed historic event unfold in real time.

My prediction: Conor McGregor is going to shock the world via KO. But of course, as an MMA fan, that's what you'd expect me to say.

Cheers Steemit!

~GiftedGaia



-Who is: GiftedGaia?

-Who is: GiftedGaia 1 Year Later?

-What is: Steemit Talk Podcast

-Life is short - hence why Podcasting is Important

-My DJ Mixes Archive

-My Youtube Page (lots of Drone Videos)

-GiftedGaia's Favorite Quotations on Life and Music

-Photogenic Adventures Series: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

-+1 Point on the 'Humans are Good' side: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5

Sort:  

I'm one of the millions (possibly billions) of people who cant wait to see this interesting match up. I'm not sure what will happen, and I'm definitely not going to pay for pay-per-view. However, I will watch the fight on youtube when it is available. I can't wait to see the headlines when the winner is bragging this fight.

I am definitely jumping in there, I want to see this unfold. My pick is also for McGregor.

Brilliant well put together article!!

Upvoting you my good friend

Hi, as a sign of my support for the tag #sports and #football, I vote for you and begin to follow you

Floyd Mayweather vs Connor McGregor

Ticket: $107,750.00

Me: $107,750.00 just to watch a match? Somebody better die in that ring. Even the match between David and Goliath was free.😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47