1 Year Later: Who is GiftedGaia? A Re-Evaluation / Re-Introduction Post

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemit,

We all have many things that we do in our lives, right? We spend our days making memories of our finite time as it passes - memories spent in reflection of the environment around us, and the people, places, and things that we experience along the way.

I like to perceive this model pictured as a boat, as it passes down the river. The current will drift, depending on the route taken, and though we do not recall the beginning of this journey - its only so long along this trip before we're 'Aware' that we're nearing an end point. That 'realization' may, in itself, offer the notions that:

A: Being 'Aware' means YOU CAN MAKE ADJUSTMENTS, depending on the trek.

B: 'Making adjustments' means YOU'RE STILL GOING, and that's all that matters.



Logging today's surroundings as my boat drifts down the river: I take note of a Rare Celestial Event, as well as a general reevaluation of my sight, soul, and setting at this time in my life. Today marks 'The Great North American Solar Eclipse' event, as well as this blog post - my 'Reintroduce Yourself' post to you.

Speaking in the method of "Perspectives": Mine includes relevance to the 'Awareness' that the unseen but known 'Energies' around me in this environment are noticeably 'Heightened' today. (In some sense) The world of social media is abuzz with conversation in baited anticipation of this Eclipse event happening in hours. I happen to live in a location that will see 95% totality - so I'll be in the park with my drone above, seeing what I can see. I'm excited for THAT event, and at the same moment, realized this morning that I couldn't ask for a better day to write this long considered, yet not completed, "REintroduce Yourself" post - as my fingers are almost shaking for some reason, akin to drinking a pot of coffee. (I have not)

So here I sit.. thinking: "Uh.. Ok... Who am I?"

My name is Jason Deal. I like Music, Photography/Videography, Droning, Writing, Gaming, MMA, Coffee, Craft Beer, and Podcasting.

I go be several aliases depending on the hobby:

  • @GiftedGaia: my Steemit, Podcasting, Gaming id.

  • dj Phi: my DJ / Music Performance id.

  • Jason Deal: my Life, Photography/Videography, Poker id.

I joined Steemit stating in my original intro post, linked below in the signature, that I was mostly known as the "Music" persona. At that time in my life I had been sitting on the cusp of DJ performance retirement, outside releasing new mixes which I was loving to do every few months.

I also had been outside almost daily taking new Drone Pics/Vids. as a passionate enthusiast of the hobby of aerial photography, so I came to Steemit feeling like I was locked & loaded with THAT type of original content to share - Music & Beautiful Nature shots. I'm a passionate person, and I felt passionately that THIS content WOULD bring something beautiful to our community.

And so.... My boat steered merrily along down the Steemit course, albeit ad nauseam, FULL Steem ahead!!!

What I failed to mention in my intro paragraphs is a solemn truth that's rarely mentioned - that being "Life", despite our awareness, plotting, and drive - sometimes takes its OWN path.. with ourselves seemingly floating in tow.

This twist came days after joining Steemit, in the form of a Podcast. Close friends @WinstonWolfe - @Sykochica - @QuantumAnomaly - & @RaymonJohnstone build & performed on the @SteemitTalk podcast for the last year, which I'll be honest... I didn't see that one coming.

STP is an audio documentary recording that captures the greater Ebbs & Flows of Steemit on a weekly basis, since July 2016 - July 2017. Also captured in that project are some of coolest & most notable content / authors / and events in Steemit's history at that time. Its honestly a really cool time capsule, and in my opinion was an amazing gateway that launched many other ideas on Steemit . STP was the first Discord based Steemit community, the first group to use Discord to host Steemit themed Podcast, and a spider web of other synchronicities that are left unspoken, yet spun by the fans, friends, and family of listeners WHO BUILT that show with your support.

Its funny because as STP took off - I pretty much didn't have any time to do much Music / Droning content.. and I feel it was a fair trade for the amount of dear friends that I've picked up, meeting via the podcast, along the float.

So here I sit.. thinking: "Uh.. Ok... Who am I..... now?"

A year+ later: I'm happy to report that I feel like I've lived up to my original goals in bringing quality original content to this community. Despite being consumed with Podcast projects, and off my earlier stated intentions of giving you Music & Drone Pics/Vids, I've spent the last year talking to you via a podcast. Most of those conversations have been recorded, and I consider that time spent along the river "Well Traveled".

I'm sure most of you have noticed that I've NOT been in Discord very much recently. I've kinda gone into Turtle mode, which seems strange to say as I type it, yet perfectly plotted at the time. As reclusive as I am, I'm truly a social person at heart, and I've dubbed Steemit as a community of people that I can pretty much operate in outside of my normal constructed 'Walls of Protection' .. so apologies for that time away. I was getting asked questions from friends who noted the absence 'why' - and I honestly didn't have the answers to give at that time.. hence the hibernation.

Today - Eclipse Day - I'm not hibernating any more. I say that sitting in a room with a sliding glass deck door opened, letting in a rush of fresh air along side chorus of song birds singing. I suppose its noted that I have been posting here & there, despite my Discord absence, and there are some exciting changes coming in what you'll see from me here on this platform!

So here I sit.. thinking: "Uh.. Ok... Who am I..... now..... that I am 1 year Older, Wiser, and Stronger?"

I'm still the same person I was a year ago.. to the core. I've won & lost some battles along the way, yet I've earned a little wisdom along the way. You can read my original Intro post for the bulk of those "Who am I?" core descriptors - moving along - THIS post will state what intentions are coming. I feel it may be best to burn them into existence under a shadowed sun.. mostly because I watch a lot of Game of Thrones & its seems relevant in some sense.

A: Music.

My main goal was to share music with Steemit, side tracked by other life pursuits, this was never completed as intended. Moving forward - I'll do better. I proof of my dedication: I released a 2 video series of myself jamming out w/ a buddy a few days ago. Check it out, or any of my 15+ years of DJ mixes, via my Mixcloud page in my signature. I'm also going to be doing Live performance streams, which I've been working on behind the scenes. And stepping outside my comfort zone: I plan on adding to the previous 2 Open Mic contest entries, and singing a little more for you.

B: Photography / Videography via Drone.

I've dipped into past videos when I first joined Steemit, sharing dated content. My goal this year will be to host NEW captured original camera content, and share it here on Steemit. Not only do I share my content here with our community - I usually lock the posts so they cannot be accessed without going through Steemit. I then share the Steemit post along other Social Media Platforms, giving promotion to Steemit & our community by extension.

C: Writing & Blogging

I love to write - though it feels as times I've noticed a slight dyslexia of sorts, where I'll type out a sentence only to read it later & notice missing words. You all may have noticed it in my posts. Hell - If I go back & read this one, I'm for certain that we'll find multiple examples of this yet diagnosed observation. That said - I think in words. I've read too much Robert Anton Wilson to NOT think in words. (In some sense). We see the World around us through chosen 'Reality Tunnels' and I like to transfer mine to your eyes, via the magick of semantics. I need to start doing more of that: For both my health, as well as the people who tell me they like it. (Thank You!)

D: Gaming Streams

I'll admit it: I'm a 38 year old Gamer. I was never really that much into gaming until a few years ago, and owning a gaming PC will pretty much change your mind on that stance. (At least it did mine, quickly) Regardless of any flack people may speak regarding the value of time spent playing - I can report that playing games with adult friends is as exciting as almost any activity we would do in person.. and I've made some really good friends in the halls of this hobby. I plan on listing some game streams on Steemit, moving forward, as I own over 300 games on my PC and Steemit seems to host a thriving gamer community that may be interested in that content.

E: A New Podcast

I'm starting a new Podcast Project, based on the fucking BLAST that I've had doing one the past year with this community, and I honestly need your help to do so. I have the desire, drive, and dedication it takes to operate a 'professional level' project - and anyone reading this who has any insights to offer on where THIS course should be plotted along the river, PLEASE hit me up in Discord or here and lets float together. I'm completely serious when I say that this is probably the most exciting thing that I'm hoping to bring you this coming year. Please let me know if I may be of any assistance, to meet your needs in building something worth listening to. There will be more postings about this project as it comes to fruition.

Aaaaaaaaaannnnnnnddddd I should probably wrap this rap up soon, shouldn't I?

I've been meaning to post something like this for a month+, since I rolled 1 year on the site. Thank you everyone who's reading, everyone who's listened, and all the truly honest to god friends I've met since joining this platform.

I'm seriously someone who can sit back and say that Steemit has changed my life in the past year.. for the better.. and I guess really that's all we can hope for as we float down along the river.. is for 'smooth sailing'.

If you're new to the platform & reading this - Just be yourself, network, and keep posting. That's my advice on how to succeed here, spoken as someone who has thoroughly enjoyed his last year here. For anyone I helped join the Platform - Thank you for giving us your time & talents. For any Friends reading this - My love for you is so strong it could block out the sun. Thank you for being a part of my life, and spending your time making memories with me.


Photo by @WinstonWolfe

Cheers Steemit!

~GiftedGaia



-Who is: GiftedGaia?

-What is: Steemit Talk Podcast

-Life is short - hence why Podcasting is Important

-My DJ Mixes Archive

-My Youtube Page (lots of Drone Videos)

-GiftedGaia's Favorite Quotations on Life and Music

-Photogenic Adventures Series: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

-+1 Point on the 'Humans are Good' side: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5

Sort:  


This gentleman introduced me to Steemit. Love this guy!

Upvoted!!

I'm proud to count you among the cool friends I've made on steemit. I'm sorry we don't hang out as much as I'd like.

Wait, you mean you are not OZNOG? ;-) On a serious note, you should grab a time slot on MSPWaves radio. It's setup as a legit radio station. You would make an awesome fit! I am doing a show on Tuesdays.

You can reach out to @aggroed or @sircork if you are interested. Glad to see you are well man!

Yay! New podcast (old mascot)!

Have you ever thought of doing a Bird-Cast, where our birds fuel your content?

On second thoughts maybe someone should pull the stuffing out of the old mascot and make a new bird shaped one?

hello Giftedgaia! Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit!! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure ! Here you can win money while bloging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Greetings, @khunpoom !

DUDE !! That was AWESOME !... I honestly feel privileged to know you. I am very proud of this post ... as you should be ! imho your perception and continued growth of awareness is commendable. Salute ! This comment is 26 days old ... I can't wait to talk to you live .. soon my friend !
I have much respect for you and am very pleased to be able to call you a friend. Keep smiling and STEER the damn boat, don't drift my friend ! "Get a flag that says "Chillin the MOST" and ROCK that bitch up and down the coast!"

Much love @cha ... Your friend JTS

Read More, Reason More ... JTS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78