Welcome To Cape Town!

in #life6 years ago

SAM_8551.JPG

Hi I'm Danny! I'm travelling around the world! Follow my posts.

I'm in Cape Town for a few months to experience the best of this amazing place. My trip will be focused on the nature, and being in the outdoors. I'm looking forward to trekking, mountain biking, and also enjoying the local craft wine and beers, and amazing food.



SAM_8497.JPG


The first place I visited (and then ended up staying at) was Nordhoek Beach. Unlike some of the famous city beaches this one is quite remote.

You can walk for miles here without passing another person, and from the shoreline you can see whales and dolphins.



SAM_8423.JPG

SAM_8443.JPG

SAM_8444.JPG


Later we trekked up to Chapman's Peak which overlooks the beach. Once we got to the summit we had a 360 degree view of the whole area. There is a really famous road that runs up here and people will travel for miles to experience it.


SAM_8467.JPG

SAM_8500.JPG

SAM_8514.JPG

SAM_8540.JPG


As we were trekking we kept losing sight of the trail and found ourselves clinging to the edge of rocks, but of course enjoying the adventure. We rediscovered the trail and carried on walking and a friend noticed a huge snake in the distance.

I stopped in my tracks and couldn’t see a thing but my friend was now panicking. The Puff Adder was basking on the trail in the sunlight and I had stopped right next to its head!



SAM_8499.JPG

SAM_8489.JPG


The Puff adders strategy when hunting is different to most snakes. They will lay completely camouflaged until an animal comes past them, and then they attack.

We were extremely lucky to escape because we were so close to the edge of the cliffs. A bite from a Puff adder is lethal.

Follow me here and check my old posts!

Mountain Gorillas In The Congo

Arriving In The Congo | Virunga National Park | Mountain Gorillas 1 | Mountain Gorillas 2 | The Largest Lava Lake In The World | Visiting A Gorilla Oprhanage

Bonito's beautiful waters

2000 year old sinkhole | Underground Cave Diving | Untouched Blue Caves | Floating Down the River | Ziplines into crystal clear water | Bonito is absolutely Stunning | 50 SBD Giveaway!

Columbia & Trekking to the hidden city

First thoughts about Columbia | Trekking to the hidden city Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5

The Pantanal Wetlands and Wildlife

My Trip to The Pantanal | Swimming With Caiman | Giant Guinea Pigs | Photographing Blue Macaws | We got attacked by Howler Monkeys!

Sort:  

@dannystravel enjoy the amazing food, wine and entertainment of Cape town.

Very cool shots 👐 Keep it up!

Africa, what a mysterious place for me.

Will you do Russia or Asia?

Awesome scenes of the water btw!

Impresionante... ¡Muy buen trabajo con las fotos! Saludos

Excellent photography. Thanks for sharing.

Holy crap that snake! I would have been terrified. Glad all was well.

Hey! Really enjoyed your blog. Will follow to see some more of your stories. Must say that Africa is not very high on my personal list. Don't know why exactly, I mean it looks really beautiful from your photos right ;D. Anyway, if you're interested to see where i've been during my travels feel free to check out my profile. Greetings from the Netherlands.

Beautiful photos of a beautiful place! It is very inspiring to read posts like this, it makes me want to go there. One day, when the kids are old enough to carry their own weight as we travel, I hope we will. For now we do easier travel in an RV around the US.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61