Cage Diving With Great White Sharks

in #life6 years ago

12283175_10208202989022580_372593366_n.jpg

Hi I'm Danny! I'm travelling around the world! Follow my posts.

Cape Town has one of the highest concentrations of great white sharks in the world. The beauty of viewing them here is that we get to see them from the safety of a cage and without being eaten!



At certain points of the year during Cape Fur Seal breeding season there are loads of seal pups, and the great white sharks flock to the area for dinner. This means that every single time you do a cage dive you end up seeing five or six great whites.


12305494_10208202987262536_193685194_n.jpg

12319512_10208202988182559_1480400581_n.jpg

Great Whites are still quite unknown in terms of research and they are definitely misunderstood fish. People are intensely fearful of them because of films like Jaws.



Each shark that comes up to the cage is different and unique - some will be more aggressive, and some will be more relaxed. It's important to remember: a shark won’t always instantly come up and bite you - some will be fearful of you at first too.


12312350_10208202988862576_900066048_n.jpg

12325224_10208202985622495_511186597_n.jpg

The reason why some surfers get bitten is because the shark viewing them from beneath think they are looking at a seal - many will bite and let go when they realise it’s a human. Sharks will very rarely eat a human.



Being in the cage wasn’t as scary as most people would think, when it was my time to jump in the freezing cold water I just went for it. As we were lowered down I was told not to put my feet near the edge of the cage just incase (but I did it any way just to get the picture for Steemit!)

DSCF3619.JPG

DSCF3625.JPG

DSCF3622.JPG

The best bit about cage diving is that you don't need to know anything about diving. You bob on the surface of the water and wait for a shark to come near, then you go under the water to view it. Some of these sharks appear really calm and curious as they swim up to the cage.

Seeing a 5m Great White Shark swim towards me with just a flimsy cage separating us made me think about what a perfect powerful predator it is.



DSCF3620.JPG

Follow me here and check my old posts!

Mountain Gorillas In The Congo

Arriving In The Congo | Virunga National Park | Mountain Gorillas 1 | Mountain Gorillas 2 | The Largest Lava Lake In The World | Visiting A Gorilla Oprhanage

Bonito's beautiful waters

2000 year old sinkhole | Underground Cave Diving | Untouched Blue Caves | Floating Down the River | Ziplines into crystal clear water | Bonito is absolutely Stunning | 50 SBD Giveaway!

Columbia & Trekking to the hidden city

First thoughts about Columbia | Trekking to the hidden city Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5

The Pantanal Wetlands and Wildlife

My Trip to The Pantanal | Swimming With Caiman | Giant Guinea Pigs | Photographing Blue Macaws | We got attacked by Howler Monkeys!

Sort:  

Ballsy for sure...

My original knowledge of shark does not point then as been amassing but your post has changed my point of view thanks. Keep up the good work of posting posts like this.

I want to go inside. I love the deep of sea and fish ! beautiful photos of ocean.

man, diving with great white sharks has now officially been updated to my bucket list. Awesome photos!

WOW You are very brave!!!

Wow! So exciting!

Thats awesome. You are very brave to swim with sharks a few meters away. You are enjoying the adventures of life.

Thanks for sharing the expierence, cheers. :D

.

Cape Town is blessed with Biodiversity hotspot as well as the unique Cape Floristic Region. Through my study, I discovered that this city of Cape Town has one of the highest levels of biodiversity of any equivalent area in the world. These protected areas are a World Heritage Site. These sites need to be protected for tourism and for generations unborn. Well, it takes a lot of courage to be in the midst of these sharks. Indeed, you're a brave man.

What a crazy adventure! I have always wanted to dive with the sharks and see them underwater.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67