So Much To Be Thankful For! 😄Day Six

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought, and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder."
- Gilbert K. Chesterton -


Index: ~Day1~ | ~Day2~ | ~Day3~ | ~Day4~ | ~Day5~ | ~Day6~ | ~Day7~


Day Six:

I am very thankful this morning for my faith.

Please don't think that I'm bragging. An integral component of my faith is the recognition and acknowledgement that it has been granted to me as a gift from God. I haven't done anything to initiate, generate, or merit my faith.

"For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast." - Ephesians 2:8-9

Jesus, my God, has been very kind to me and—by whatever combination of means—has instilled this faith in me.

I know that those means include some mystical, not readily observable internal adjustments to my thinking. However, they also involve more mundane means. For example, the "accident" of my birth into a family that took me to church, encounters with other Christians whose life and example have inspired me, and books that I have read.

Most significant of those books is, of course, the bible.

Table of Contents

Faith comes from hearing the word of Christ.
Image courtesy of Ben White and http://unsplash.com

I'm grateful for the bible.

In my early teen years, the bible became, and has continued to be, the de-facto guide for my life.

"Your word is a lamp to my feet
And a light to my path."
Psalm 119:105

I am thankful for the Sunday school teachers and bible club leaders who encouraged and coached me to memorize scripture. I couldn't begin to tell you how many times, in the context of any given life situation, some of those words from the bible come to mind and offer me effective, immediate guidance.

Table of Contents

Faith comes from hearing the word of Christ.
Image courtesy of DJ Paine and http://unsplash.com

The bible is written, predominantly, in Hebrew and Greek.

I am very grateful for the teacher who gave extensive amounts of time to instruct me and others in the skills necessary to read Greek and Hebrew. Poor student though I may be, much of the Greek has "stuck" and still serves me as I continue to study the word of Jesus my God. You may be familiar with my "Curmudgeon's Bible" series of articles. If not, may I recommend them? Here's an example:

The Curmudgeon's Bible - "Hallowed Be Thy Name"

I intend to continue adding to them from time to time.

I am also grateful to another friend who is a very serious student of Hebrew, and to whom I turn when I have specific questions on points of the language.

Table of Contents

Faith comes from hearing the word of Christ.
Image courtesy of Tanner Mardis and http://unsplash.com

And so today, with great gratitude,

I recommend to you the bible as the ideal source of information and guidance if you are seeking a faith of your own.

"So faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ."- Romans 10:17

I am convinced that exposure to the words and ideas in that book could be just what you are looking for, just the thing that you need to fill that deep hunger in the darkest recesses of your being.

I'd suggest you start with John's book.

In that relatively short book, you will meet the man who I believe to be God himself. The man who created not only you, but the entire universe as well. That man is Jesus.

Hint: You can read John at Bible Gateway, but I would urge you to click on the little gear icon ⚙️, uncheck all the boxes, and then click on the printer icon 🖨️so that you can read John's story without distractions.

My nominees for the positivity challenge are:

After reading my entries, several have expressed interest in this challenge, and so today I nominate:

@creatr, @dreemsteem, @ablaze

IF, for whatever reason, you do not care to participate, no problem. No pressure. No worries.


The rules:

  • Write a post about something you have to be postive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the oppurtunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.

Note: You can find the original challenge post here:

"7 Day Positivity Challenge" by @conradt


~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more fantastic stories, CLICK our Library Stories Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Every thing on this earth is granted by the God. Your teacher is So nice who teaches us about your religion and your Islamic book bible. I am very happy after reading you story.
If you do not mind, I am give you a advice.I hope you cannot mind my talking.
Islam is one of the best religion in the word, your religion is on his place, But God said in his last book Quran, Islam is one of the best religion in the world.
Please give me a feedback about my advice and please do not mind my talk.

Hello, my friend @mafzaal92,

Thank you for reading my story and for taking the time to comment.
No, I do not mind that you give me some advice, because I can see that you are kind and caring. I thank you very much for being kind enough to do that.

I hope you don't mind that I give you some advice also.
Jesus is the one true God who created everything, and I hope you will come to know him. Here is what the bible says about him:

"He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For by Him all things were created, both in the heavens and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things have been created through Him and for Him. He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together. He is also head of the body, the church; and He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, so that He Himself will come to have first place in everything. For it was the Father’s good pleasure for all the fullness to dwell in Him, and through Him to reconcile all things to Himself, having made peace through the blood of His cross; through Him, I say, whether things on earth or things in heaven."
- Colossians 1:15-20

I also hope you will read John's book and hear what Jesus had to say about himself. For example:

*"Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me."John 14:6

Thank you again, my friend, for being so kind to give me some advice. :D

Thanks @creatr for this nice feedback. Many things are same in your and in my religion but many things are diffrent.

You follow the rules of jesus. But God says in his last Islamic book Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH) is the last messenger on the earth and following of Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH) rules are very necessary for going in paradise.

I am thankful that I don't have to follow rules to enter paradise.

Jesus offers us life forever as a gift, free to anyone who will hear him and receive that gift.

"For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord." - Romans 6:23

Thank you for thinking of me.

Thanks @creatr for this feedback.

Thank you for your testimony and faith. I I understand and share your faith as I've had some struggles with the fire at Mom's house I have a mixture of emotions. I will be blogging on its own I know I should be grateful it wasn't worse I asked why did at have to happen have a blessed day. @creatr

Straight from the heart. Peace be with you brother.

Thank you. And peace be with you as well.

🙏

Your testimony and example of perseverance represent a stimulus and guide for other people, Thanks for sharing. Best regards, friend @creatr

Thank you.

Hi @creatr, I’ve started following you today, I seen you reply on @enjoywithtroy, this evening, and replied actually to you on Troys post. I thought you were very kind so I decided to check out your blog. It’s always nice to meet another brother in Christ sir. Looks like you’ve done some terrific work for the lord! So blessed to see it. I love this seven day gratitude challenge. This was a great post friend, keep up the good work for Jesus, and Bless you

i am very pleased to read your post. while i read your post that makes me thoughtful in my life.......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70