So Much To Be Thankful For! 😄Day One...

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"He is a wise man who does not grieve for the things which he has not, but rejoices for those which he has."
- Epictetus -


Index: ~Day1~ | ~Day2~ | ~Day3~ | ~Day4~ | ~Day5~ | ~Day6~ | ~Day7~


Day One:

There's a very old saw:

"Count your blessings."

When you count your blessings, it improves your outlook on life, makes your day better, and that positive attitude blesses those around you. I'm responding to a challenge originated by @conradt, and for which I was nominated by @ablaze.

NOTE: I almost blew this off...

I almost blew this challenge off because I despise the thought of obligating anyone else to do anything. I don't like being pressured into things myself.

However, I may have found a loophole... (I'll describe that later under my "Nomination" heading).

Table of Contents

A Beauty from the Unsplash Archives
Image courtesy of Jeremy Thomas and http://unsplash.com

Day One:

I am ever so thankful for the wonderful photographers who publish their beautiful photographs and release them into the public domain. You can find these at sites like http://unsplash.com, http://pixabay.com, and many others. I mention those first because they have been my "go-tos" when I want to find appropriate graphics to illustrate my writing.

And, although public domain work does not require credit, I try very hard to credit the creators of the work whenever possible and feasible. I hope that others may then appreciate the creators as well.

And so, this is my hearty thanks,

Thank You to all those whose generosity has enable me to improve my own creations.

Here's what almost stopped me from joining the challenge:

My nominees du jour:

@creatr, @dreemsteem, @ablaze

By listing these nominees, I believe I am meeting "the letter of the law" as described in the rules for this challenge. "Mention three people who should do this on each day." I mention myself, because I'm already doing it. I'm naming someone else who I know to already be part of the challenge. And I'm naming a friend, who is free to decline.

During the course of the seven days, I may be inspired to nominate one or more others, and if I am so inspired, I shall; however, if I do, know that you are under no pressure, expectation, or obligation to respond!

Table of Contents

A Beautiful Scene from Unsplash
Image courtesy of Matt Zhou and http://unsplash.com


The rules:

  • Write a post about something you have to be postive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the oppurtunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention three people who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
  • Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.

~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more fantastic stories, CLICK our Library Stories Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Thankful attitudes is best form of applying for more. Cool to read through your article this evening here in Africa.

Thank you!

I will say this, that I have had so much more joy in my life since I accepted Jesus Christ into my heart. Before that I had no hope and life was a dull experience.

Not to mention, the promise of an endless, perfect, physical life in an ideal kingdom yet to be fully realized... ;)

That captured perfectly what these things are like when nominating people.. You don't want people to feel obligated as you say.. Fair play to you for taking part, I know you are busy. Great choice for gratitude too, I use pixabay all the time as well..

An attitude of gratitude. A wonderful idea I know I have so much to be grateful for. Well worth consideration. Thanks @creatr

Counting blessings is a very nice thing to do in the morning rather than being sad and depressed about the things that we cannot have.

Yes, and thanks for stopping by...

Aww, this is so nice! The folks that started it have to be geniuses or, like, at least decent people.

I'd be happy to nominate you, if you're interested? ;)

Excellent article friend @creatr, really there is much to thank the first to God and then to the programmers of these excellent computer tools. Already tomorrow I get down to work with the challenge. A bear hug.

Wow. beautiful photography i like post and resteemid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69