I'm Not Asking You To BelievesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

As I'm long overdue for a religious/philosophical rant, here it is...

I know I can't change your religious beliefs. I get that! I have known that for a long time.

But consider for a minute: Why are we here on Steemit?

Why do we bother to write, or to read one another's articles, if not to "cross-pollinate," if not to learn a thing or two from one another?

What Do You Allow In The Cathedral of Your Mind?

What Do You Allow In The Cathedral of Your Mind?
Photo courtesy of Tung Wong and http://unsplash.com

What are you afraid of?

I know that you are a thinker. None of us are automatons. We all like to think for ourselves.

I am a religious person. I've told you that I believe that Jesus is the God Who created this universe. I was raised that way, but (like many others before me) I might have, I could have walked away. I've certainly rejected a lot of the trappings and baggage of "organized religion."

You may not be religious. Maybe you never were, or maybe you rejected what your parents taught you. Maybe you think your reasons for not believing are good ones, and maybe they are. I'm not asking you to believe what I believe.

But, how do we learn new things?

Isn't it by interacting with other people? Isn't it by being exposed to new (to us) ideas? If so, then why not expose yourself to new information? Why not re-evaluate old information that you may have set aside, perhaps for the wrong reasons?

Don't you want to know the truth?

I'm sure that, at some level, you do. Don't you want to always allow yourself the opportunity to change for the better? Look, you're a reader, right? You are, after all, reading this and other content here on Steemit.

Is Christianity Just Another Religion?

Is Christianity Just Another Religion?
Photo courtesy of Tom Skarbek-Wazynski and http://unsplash.com

So, I invite you to read a short book.

It's about the length of a child's "chapter-book;" somewhere between 15,000 and 16,000 words. The book is quite ancient (almost 2000 years old), an eyewitness account of the very extraordinary life of one man.

Some have claimed that it is a work of fiction, but (in my humble opinion) there is just too much corroborating evidence pointing to its factual nature.

Does Life Have Any Ultimate Meaning?

Does Life Have Any Ultimate Meaning?
Photo courtesy of Stefan Kunze and http://unsplash.com

The book itself purports to be an historical account.

Taken at face value, it is an engaging story, told by a contemporary of Jesus. The book is primarily about a rather short, but very significant, chapter in the life of Jesus.

The account contains some outrageous claims about certain events that the writer observed. The book insists not only that these events took place, but that Jesus made incredible claims about himself, such as the claim that he was God.

The book also includes a fascinating account of Jesus bringing an already rotting human corpse back to life. When was the last time you heard of that happening?

What's that? You say you don't believe in "miracles?" Look around you for a minute! If an author from 2000 years ago were dropped into the present day, most of what we do would appear miraculous, would it not? So, why prejudge without reading? Why not give the book a chance?

You May Just Be Surprised...

You May Just Be Surprised...
Photo courtesy of Ben White and http://unsplash.com

If you haven't read it lately,

or (especially!) if you've never read it at all, What do you have to loose? You may just be surprised. It is a really interesting story.

The story involves events and incidents that appear magical, but were witnessed by hundreds. It is filled with intrigue, compassion, betrayal, and murder. It features fascinating characters, from lowly hookers to governors to kings. Some have even called it "The Greatest Story Ever Told."

I am, of course, referring to what is commonly called "The Gospel of John."

Don't let the archaic title put you off... In fact, the book itself doesn't claim to be written by John, but rather by "the disciple whom Jesus loved." And the word "Gospel?" Simply an archaic term that we might render "damn good news!" And, what if it's all true? How might that change your outlook?

Couldn't you use a little "good news" in your life about now?

I know I sure could. So, treat the book as fiction if you like, but read it. Read it as a good bed-time story. See what you think.

I have found it to be powerful and life-changing. Your mileage may vary; but why not give it a go? I think you'll be glad you did, and when you do, I'd love to hear your reaction.


Recommendations for Readers

If you don't have a copy of the bible around the house, you can read The Gospel of John online.

Go HERE to BibleGateway, select the "Page Options" icon (⚙️) and de-select everything - i.e. uncheck FOOTNOTES, CROSS REFERENCES, VERSE NUMBERS, HEADINGS, RED LETTER. Then right-click on the "Printer" icon (🖨️) and Open in new window for each of 21 chapters. This will provide you with a good, uncluttered reading experience.


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!

This post is intended to count towards @dragosroua's Challenge30.


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

"I was raised that way"

Exactly!

It's called "imprinting. Happens to birds too. The first thing that they see when they hatch is their "mother".

If you had been raised under the religious family traditions of another faith, you would now be writing a similar post to this one, but asking us to read another literary work.

I have found there to be deep spiritual insights in the works of many religions. But maybe, like a choice of career/profession, it is more efficient to choose and focus on one. I'm not sure.

Hi, @onceuponatime, Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.

Part of my point in writing this — and I'm sure I could have expressed it better — is that although I was "raised this way," I have gone back often and reexamined the core of what I was taught. This reexamination has strengthened my core beliefs.

However, similar to others who have abandoned "Christianity," there are plenty of the trappings and traditions of the church that I have abandoned.

I agree that there are deep spiritual insights in other religious writings. However, and probably grist for another article sometime, I'll mention briefly two elements of what I consider "real Christianity" that, for me personally, radically differentiate it from any other religion of which I am aware.

First, Christianity is based on the concept of grace and does not require me to be or become something, nor to "achieve" status by my works.

Second, Christianity is authentically historical (in contrast to "mythical"), well attested to by written eyewitness accounts of exceptional events and of a singular person, namely Jesus.

If you can suggest another or other religions that share those specific distinctives, I would be interested in investigating. One of my hopes in recommending the Gospel of John to my readers is that they might notice those distinctives and think about their implications. ;)

Thanks again for your comment!

How Jesus Condemns Christianity
"Modern Christianity is something Jesus would condemn."

https://www.freemansperspective.com/how-jesus-condemns-christianity/

And I (mostly) agree with Paul; "modern christianity" or perhaps more accurately "modern churchianity" has become a warmongering, judgmental, oppressive organized system that strongly supports and is hard to distinguish from "modern human government." As a principled anarchist (more accurately, "thearchist"), I repudiate all of that.

BTW, I had noticed earlier today that among your posts and comments you've spoken well of Paul Rosenberg. I am also a big fan of his, and I receive his newsletters (yes, I read this one earlier today). I once had the privilege of meeting him at a Libertopia conference in San Diego.

Do I see "eye to eye" with him? No, not on everything; but my intent here is not to pick apart what he says in his blog. I love the way he takes a fresh run at things; he has often made me think. He is a true gentleman in every sense of the word, and I have even tried personally to persuade him to sign on to Steemit (so far, without success... Paul, if you're reading this... What's holding you back? ;)

If you have a chance, I invite you to investigate my Topical Table of Contents for my blog - just click the GIF below - and I expect that, should you care to, you'll find that I'm not quite "mainstream" in my practice and beliefs of Christianity. Having said all that, I do not reject the fundamental tenets of the Christian faith; just (as I've said before) some of the "trappings and traditions" that have grown up around it, and certainly the practices and teachings of the "organized church" that run counter to truth.

Thanks again, @onceuponatime, for interacting here, and also for bringing Paul Rosenberg to the attention of my audience. 😄😇😄

@creatr

Perhaps you have read "The Grand Inquisitor" myth, chapter 5 of Dostoevsky's The Brothers Karamazov?
https://www.mtholyoke.edu/acad/intrel/pol116/grand.htm

It makes an excellent sequel to your suggestion :-)

I'm sure that I have, but probably about a million years ago in some high school or college class... In other words, I'm sure it will be worth reading and thinking about again from my present perspective.

Thank you for the recommendation! :)

Having now re-read that chapter, I have no argument with Dostoevsky's characterization of the organized church or its minions. Obviously, the Jesus pictured therein was not the motivator behind the oppressive and murderous activities of "the church." Nor is the Jesus in Whom I believe the author of present day evils.

Sadly, we see similar pogroms being enacted today, similarly supported by governments and organized religions side by side, using whatever convenient propaganda and rationale may lie at hand.

Likewise it was in Jesus' day. The world has not changed; in the Gospel of John, we see clearly displayed the perfidy of the "leaders" of the "church" of the day, plotting (and ultimately succeeding) to have Jesus subjected to "capital punishment" - i.e., murdered by the state. Along the way, also plotting to have the man who Jesus brought back to life, Lazarus, also murdered.

I'll once more summarize my thoughts and intent; I believe that Jesus was an historical person, literally the Creator/God of the universe, become a man. I find the Gospel of John to be a credible account of the most significant elements of Jesus' life and teaching. I recommend it to my readers for either their initial or re-consideration, because I think that it is compelling and potentially enlightening.

Thanks again, @onceuponatime, for interacting with me on this topic! ;)

I'm sure God gets a really good chuckle out of all of our finite conceptions of the Infinite!

Yes, I believe He does... Have you, for instance, read my "tongue in cheek" comments about His sense of humor here?: 🏄Great Surfers of the Bible🏄

Thank you for posting @creatr.

Yes...It is the good news of Christ Jesus as the salvation solution for mankind.

Chapter 3 verse 16 of the book of John.....For God loved the world (mankind) so much that He gave His uniquely born Son that anyone who believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Faith alone in Christ alone for salvation.

Religion is man by mans effort to earn the approbation of God.
Christianity on the other hand is God providing mankind a way to have a relationship with Him through His Son Christ Jesus.

Wishing you all the best. Cheers.

Hi, @bleujay,

Thank you for stopping by and for your ever encouraging comments.

My prayer is that I might influence and encourage my Steemit friends everywhere to expose themselves to the scriptures. I want to also leave no doubt in anyone's mind about the fact that Jesus is my Lord.

When I was younger I sort of believed, my granddad bought me a gorgeous white bible with gold trim, I stupidly sneaked it to school where some brat pinched it. I used to pray for help whilst growing up but never got any. I do believe there is something but not sure what.

Hi, Karen! Thank you, as always, for coming by and reading my posts. You are appreciated!

So, I'm sorry to hear that you lost your bible - especially as it was a gift from your granddad, and (because I am one and have a granddaughter whom I cherish!) hearing about that loss saddens me both for you and for him.

I also always wonder when I hear about people praying for help and not getting help. This troubles me even more when it is friends and family members. Personalizing that a bit, my experience has been (and this is very subjective, just want to share) that it seems to me that my prayers for others have been answered more than prayers for myself. This has tended to encourage me to pray for others more! ;) And so, I'll pray for you, my friend...

I'm also curious as to whether you read much of that bible before it got pinched? In any case, I really do think that reading the Gospel of John could be a truly good thing for pretty much anyone.

Thanks again for reading my writings! ;)

I got the bible when I was around 8, I was going through a really hard time so clung to it, I never told my granddad I was ashamed and still miss my bible. Think with it getting pinched made me feel as if I wasn't worth helping. Thank you for your prayers but he has selective hearing when it comes to me.

You may have heard the saying, "God works in mysterious ways?"

One of the things that slipped my mind before is this; Why would we even think that the creator of the universe would respond to our notions, or be at our beck and call? And yet, my experience as someone He loves has convinced me of this: that He does love me, but certainly doesn't do whatever I ask simply because I ask.

I think C.S. Lewis put it really well in his "Chronicles of Narnia." In those wonderful stories, Lewis visualizes Jesus as a huge lion, Aslan. In one book, this was said:

"“Aslan is a lion- the Lion, the great Lion." "Ooh" said Susan. "I'd thought he was a man. Is he-quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion"..."Safe?" said Mr Beaver ..."Who said anything about safe? 'Course he isn't safe. But he's good. He's the King, I tell you.”"

I believe that God is the very origin of "Good," and that if He seemed not to respond to you at some point in your life, He has good reasons. As you are my friend, Dear Karen, I hope that you might eventually get past those bad feelings and find out who Jesus really is. Hence my suggestion about the book of John. ;)

I don't for one minute think there is a man/woman sitting up there listening to every ones prayers, My honest thoughts is that this is hell and there is no god looking after us.

Hi, Karen, I appreciate you, including that you are forthright about what you think.

Thanks for being a friend here on Steemit! Hang in there! :)

Always hun. If we were all the same and believed in the same things this world would be so boring :)

Yes, it would... :) And just know that I care about your feelings about things, and am happy that we can interact as friends here. :)

Me too hun, I am glad we are friends and I do respect your beliefs :)

I get what you're doing creatr - but why not pick everyone's name who voted for this post and pray Col 1 9-10 for each one? You can't argue people into the kingdom but you can pray for them. Spiritual things can only be spiritually discerned. Well, that's my take on this :)

"Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word about Christ." - Romans 10:17

All I hope to do is encourage my Steemit friends to expose themselves to the source of faith. I recognize that I am not that source.

There's only a limited amount of joy in preaching to the choir. ;)

@creatr, I do hope you've followed your own advice, and read the Koran, the Vedas, and even some more pagan works.

The only way to know is to experience it.

Hello, @heretickitten, Thanks for your visit and your expressed concern.

I try to sample a broad variety of literature, but the field is so vast that (like anyone) I appreciate suggestions and guidance. And so, for example, this is why I've suggested this particular relatively small sampling of the Christian scriptures for my friends to read.

If you have any guided recommendations, I would appreciate them.

My only recommendation is to read the religious book of every major religion, and try to understand them as if you believed in them.

Thanks, @heretickitten, for your recommendations. I truly do appreciate your comments.

Looking over your blog, I've skimmed (and upvoted!) your article about cults. I can tell, simply from a cursory reading, that I'm in general agreement with your thesis there; but I plan to (sometime later today) read it in greater detail and leave some feedback.

Thanks again! :) I appreciate you!😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks.

As you know, I also appreciate all the stuff you post.

Keep on shining. This world needs light and love.

To be fair I could say why not read the Bhagavad Gita, imho it is like the how to guide for the Bible.

I am not sure if I am a Christian anymore even though I still go through the motions and I feel that it is wrong for me to discuss the reasons with other Christians out of fear of causing them to lose their religion too.

Hey, @gonzo, I really appreciate your stopping by and interacting here. And, to be fair, I will tell you that I've not yet read the Bhagavad Gita; can you recommend a good English translation? You've made me curious by describing it as a "how to guide" for the Bible. ;)

I am honestly interested in hearing what has influenced your thinking, but only what you might voluntarily want to share. I will state clearly that I have no fear of "losing my religion," because I don't really consider it "mine" to begin with; I see it more as a gift of faith from God, and my confidence about "keeping" anything lies much more with Him than with myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34