🏄Great Surfers of the Bible🏄steemCreated with Sketch.

in #funny7 years ago (edited)

Undoubtedly, God has a sense of humor...

Why else would He arrange for a donkey to make an ass of Balaam? And, what about that skinny kid who toppled "Hulk" Goliath, the giant Philistine champion, maybe the biggest "bad ass" soldier ever? Then there's my all-time favorite, where God is seen laughing His head off at earthly "rulers" in Psalm Chapter Two.

And so, with my tongue firmly planted in my cheek, I'd like to share this collection of "surfing greats" with you.

Who are some of the Greatest Surfers of the Old Testament?

If we read The Real Bible, the Authorized King James Version, we can learn this important truth in the following passages.

Bible Humor

Bible Humor
Photo courtesy of Ben White and http://unsplash.com

Note: For your benefit and convenience, my dear reader,

I have "hot-linked" each of the references cited below to their corresponding rendering according to King Jimmy...

We read about the great surfer, Isaac, in Genesis 26:13.

Jehoshaphat, that amazing surfer, is spoken of in II Chronicles 17:12.

Mordecai, man of honor and surfer extraordinaire, is described in Esther 9:4.

Can you see it, brothers and sisters?

We know that all three of these Bible Heroes must have been great surfers, because we are told that they "waxed great," or "waxed greater and greater," or even that they "waxed exceedingly great."

Hmmmm, I wonder if they used Sticky Bumps or that other (Unmentionable Name Brand) surf wax?

God Made an Ass out of Balaam

God Made an Ass out of Balaam
Photo courtesy of Annie Spratt and http://unsplash.com

In the New Testament,

the title "Greatest Surfer of All Time" belongs, without any question whatsoever, to Jesus Himself. We read that Jesus walked on water.

"And in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went unto them, walking on the sea. And when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, It is a spirit; and they cried out for fear. But straightway Jesus spake unto them, saying, Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid." - Matthew 14:25-27

(When was the last time you stood up on a wave without a board?)

We know that Peter was a fairly good surfer, too.

He walked on water like Jesus did, although Peter wiped out pretty quickly.

Bible Humor

Bible Humor
Photo courtesy of Ben White and http://unsplash.com

There are other surfers of note in scripture.

These would include the scholarly and accomplished Apostle Paul, along with many of his traveling companions.

In Acts 27:39-44 we learn that, after their shipwreck, quite a few of them surfed to shore on boards and on assorted broken pieces of the ship. We surfers are creative like that; in the absence of a "regulation board," we will surf on anything available.

Angry Waves

Angry Waves
Photo courtesy of Tim Marshall and http://unsplash.com

When I’m out there riding the waves and I get in trouble,

I’m sure glad that I can turn to Jesus (like Peter did,) and cry out "Lord, save me!"


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!

This post is intended to count towards @dragosroua's Challenge30.


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.00 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Glad you check on these things, Thanks!

You have a new follower

Welcome!

I'm delighted to have you, @gringalicious! Please enjoy taking a look around, and if you find anything of interest to you, I would love to interact. Just click on the GIF below to see my Topical Table of Contents... ;) 😄😇😄

@creatr

Hey @creatr
I am curious to know why the King James Version is the real Bible?

Click the wiki link @creatr offered. There is a distinct subculture of Christianity that insists that the KJV is the only "real" Bible, and they offer a lot of reasoning to support their case. Most of that reasoning is bunk.

I was just looking at the link, I have never heard of this movement before, I found it very curious.

Some of the reasoning, however, I do follow. I mentioned one "specific" to @gonzo. Another quite important one, I'll add here...

The King James is based on source material known as "Textus Receptus," which means "Received Text." Many of the "modern translations" are based on what is actually a few older manuscripts. Scholarship more recent than King James has compared and collated a huge collection of copies of the New Testament (~5000 copies) into what is called the "Majority Text Type." Turns out that "Textus Receptus," while not identical to the "Majority Text," is considerably closer to it that the few older manuscripts on which modern translations are based.

There are of course arguments on both sides. I favor the following: The reason there are a few "older manuscripts" that have been preserved to the present day is that they were intentionally not used because they were know in their time to be corrupt, not accurate or deliberately modified. The "Majority Text" type however, exists in such a large quantity (although not quite as old) because it was recognized as legitimate and accurate.

Hi @gonzo,

Please note the topic is humor...

I intend the term (in this context) "tongue in cheek." Now, I mean no offense to anyone who may feel that way about it -- I'm just "pulling their leg" a little bit -- but you can click on the link and find that there are many who feel that the "Authorized King James Version" is the only "real bible" to use.

To a great extent, they may have some good points. For example, I am appalled that virtually all "modern" translations do great harm by paraphrasing Romans 13:1 to insist that it is talking about human government.

And so, in any case, please don't take this post too seriously? I use the King James bible here simply because it has the archaic term "waxed great" which I've adopted as a pun on my favorite sport, namely surfing.

Thanks for asking! :)

No offense taken, I just thought there would be an interesting reason.

Thank you, @gonzo, and I hope you found the answer interesting!

It was and thanks for sharing the wiki link, I have never heard of this movement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72