Let's Start 2017 On The Right Foot - A 30 Days Writing Challenge Proposal

in #challenge308 years ago


For the last month I enjoyed the thrills and cold shivers you get as a witness here on Steemit. The thrills are coming from the real feeling of contributing and belonging to such an amazing project and the cold shivers, well, you get a few when you miss some blocks, or when your node is not working for reasons known only by the highest entities of the Universe (not you, the mere mortal, mind you) or when you strive to understand the implications of publishing an APR of 5% versus an APR of 12% on the alway elusive, but oh, so cheered and precious SBD.

But, in my opinion, a witness shouldn't be involved only at the technical or financial level. I truly think a witness should implement new ways to support the community, new ways to raise awareness for important changes, new ways to improve the entire ecosystem. Some of the most prominent witnesses have contributed hundreds of hours of coding in the form of libraries, web or mobile apps or spin-offs.

But there's life after coding, you know. There are many other ways in which a witness can improve the ecosystem and one of the most obvious is the content.

From this perspective, I want to propose to all my Steemian fellows a 30 days writing challenge.

We will start on January 1st and we will end on January 30th. The last day of the month will be reserved to the aftermath: what went well, what we learned, what we gained, what we lost.

I did dozens of 30 days challenges in my life. My first month on Steemit was actually a 30 days challenge in which I intended to gather enough information to ponder if the platform is right for me or not. Obviously, it turned out the be right. But I also had challenges which ended up with various healthy habits, like running or switching to a raw food diet.

In this challenge there will be no specific topic, just write about what you know. The detailed rules are below but before that, let me tell you that I intend to audit the challenge myself, by compiling each day an article containing all the articles from the previous days. It will act like a repository and it will also help all of us, including me, to stay accountable.

30 Days Writing Challenge Rules

  • keep publishing at least an article per day for 30 days. Obviously.
  • signal in the body of the article, somehow, that this post is part of the 30 days writing challenge (can be different every time, or you can use a snipped and copy paste it across posts)
  • use these tags: challenge30, then yourMainTag, then theRestOfTheTags. Ex: challenge30 cooking steemit.
  • you are NOT required to vote on all the posts from the challenge, if you feel like voting, just go ahead and vote on what you want
  • you can join anytime
  • if you miss a day, you will not be included in the daily list of articles, but you can pick up the next day

30 Days Writing Challenge Benefits

  • exercise discipline
  • make January, usually the worst month of the year, mean something
  • meet - and potentially interact with - new writers
  • increase your revenue by creating more insertion points in the daily reward pool
  • contribute to the growth of the community

Please leave a comment with your opinion about that.

I will post another reminder tomorrow, just to make sure you will remember to write your first article.

Let's start 2017 on the right foot, shall we? :)


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

I'm up for it. haha I can write about how bad my body feels now that you have got me running again!

Welcome aboard! Yes, that would be a very good exercise, to log how you get back in shape :)

Well the exercise will have to wait a day or so.
We have gale force winds and rain here today.If I were a young man I'd say to hell with the weather I'm going to run anyway.

But I'm not a young man, so I'll stay inside today and run when I'm not likely to get blown into the harbour :-)

Precisely :)

Sounds good - I'll be ready to rock and roll - and we tag with challenge30, the main tag, and any other relevant, right?

Exactly! Looking forward to read ALL your 30 posts :)

A great idea and a proposal.

I might join the party.

My only successful 30 days challenge so far was running, of course :) The streak ended after 120 consecutive days of running.

Ps: are we allowed to cheat a little bit? It is possible that there will be days when I won't be online at all...

Pps: I am at the last leg of Balathon with you :) Still reading in the coffee breaks. I'll finish the book tonight, I hope.

You can write more and schedule in advance, if you know you won't be online in a certain day. For scheduling, I think streemian.com offers something, but I never really used it.

Feel free to join the party. It will be fun. Now, that you already had a 120 successful challenge, this will feel like a breeze :)

As for the book, I'm really curious to know your opinion :)

Done. I'll be back from the holidays on 2nd late at night so I am already written and scheduled my first two posts :)

Cool. You understood what I was implying :) OK, then off to ladder.net

Great idea, this is something I was planning on doing for myself, but I like the accountability your adding to this. I have never actually participated in a challenge so I am looking forward to it. This might actually get me to write more being I have not been consistent as I would like to be.

Great initiative.
Will 30 posts in 30 days count for the challenge? I like writing at the weekends and posting during the week when I have had a chance to review a bit. I can do 30 posts but some days I'll post more than one.

You can draft and schedule your posts with ladder.

Thanks I'll check this out. Good luck with the challenge.

Yes, you can write more posts and schedule them in advance. Ideally, you should write every day, but we all have other commitments. At least let's have a string of 30 uninterrupted days with posts on Steemit, ok?

I'll give it a go. I love challenges :)

I'll join you in that challenge (and thanks for scheduling tip I did wonder if there was something) . Some days it might be fiction, non fiction and other days a poem - is that cool?

Absolutely! Write whatever you want, just tag it in such a way that I will discover it and put it in the daily compilation. Welcome :)

When I first heard of witnesses I went to the site with the intention of researching to decide who to vote for...then I got there and it became clear that it would be a full time job. So instead I've allowed it to be organic, figuring if a witness is active in the community then I'll come across them. The credit for finding you goes to a comment by @smysullivan in a post by @papa-pepper about this challenge. Which I think is a great idea and will decide tomorrow if I can commit.
I like what you had to say in this post, but I really like the description you put under your name :) I think a few people have mistaken my own description for a religious one...if they read my playground series that notion would evaporate :) Will have to check out your page now, geeky story telling light seekers generally have fascinating things to say (I should know) ;)

Thanks for the nice words, and yes, figuring out what witness to vote for is an important responsibility. It shouldn't be taken lightly. Other than that, looking forward to have you on board, if you decide to join the challenge. :)

How exciting! I'm brand new - so this challenge will be... challenging :) I've just written my first entry. May I post it tomorrow as Day 1's entry? (or really - i can post it in 4 hours at the strike of midnight hahaha). Where do we post this? Do we just submit our own story - and then put the tag of challenge30 - and it will automatically link to your challenge? (sorry - I'm not sure how this all works) hahaha

oh... and what exactly is a witness? (is that an easy one to explain?)

Thanks!

You post it on your own timeline, it's your content. The aim is to create discipline. If you want to have quality content, the first thing is to have content, right? It's an exercise.

As for witnesses, they are a very important part of the Steemit platform. In short, they are running servers which are signing transactions on the blockchain (meaning they are keeping the whole platform alive). They are also involved in setting up the Steem price, the interest rate for SBD, the account creation fee and a few other blockchain properties.

If you're new here, I highly suggest you take the time to read the Steemit White Paper (the link is the right hamburger menu). Steemit is a very different beast.

Hi I'm starting out with a post , since most of the New Year celebrations have passed I had some time and after all decided to go and give the challenge a shot. Actually in the process of writing I've had many good ideas come up , since I'm not limiting myself to any category , mostly focusing on my strong sides and the poetry just came by itself to have a good time and weave something interesting.

Anyway I need your help for the first one , I'm a bit tired of searching and reading o if you can help me out with the # tags and give me a idea how they work , I presume metadata is very important in the whole process of getting a story to show up , the other factors are out of my reach , I hope people find it interesting :).

Hashtags are just a way to categorize posts on Steemit. Using #challenge30 will help me (and other people interested, to identify the posts in the challenge). Nothing fancy :)

Hmmm this is something. Just be nice ok?

Why wouldn't I be nice? :)

You will see.

Something scary this way comes. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.23
ETH 2524.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51