Off Grid / Bushcraft / Self Reliance / Preparedness / Homesteading Series: My Bushcraft/OffGrid standalone BOMBPROOF affordable handsaw. | Pics/ Specs/ Overview.

in #life7 years ago

Now as many of you know, I am an Off Grid/ Bushcraft guy. That means many things to many people but at the heart of it, is improving your skills, as well as having the right tools.

Anything to do with Outdoors life or hiking or being in the bush for a few days, means usually that weight and function are key factors.

The first / main graphic for this post you see above was taken in my side yard of my residence, because the bushes you see here, beside the driveway, need to be trimmed back twice a year, once when summer starts, and once in the fall.

Lots of tools are used for things like this -- and usually the STIHL gas trimmers are used but the times when you want to trim a couple things by hand, or you are out in the woods walking in and out for a week at at a time.... a tool like this BAHCO is perfect in and out of the bush.

If you are cutting dead fall for your fires or fire lays, (on the ground) -- or need to clear a limb off for hanging your hammock - or you need to saw limbs to build your shelter - this thing is a beauty.



I always put bright coloured paracord on all my knives and tools like this, in the handle so you are less likely to lose them in the bush or can spot them easily laying around. I think this is very important!

The teeth are angled differently on all these saws, so pay attention to that. On this BAHCO, there are 2 sizes of teeth, and they all cut on the pull AND the push motion --- which really is the most efficient type of stroke / effort you want.

When something only cuts on the pull motion or the push.... you are wasting half your cutting stroke essentially, give or take a bit of effort or co factors.


This is me inside the hammock, which I can live in half the year or more and have actually done this:


Ounces are Pounds!


Not very BushCrafty?

--

Practical Yard Maintenance w the trusty lightweight Bahco LapLander saw every day and people I know in the Bushcraft community AND who are in the trees / forestry sector alike both swear by this saw as one of the standards of excellence in an affordable ($30 range) saw that is lightweight and easy to find / replace blades on.

What I am saying is that around the house / yard -- or in the bush, this saw you see here in my hands in the picture, is one of the THE TOP small handsaws on the market covering lots of ground in lots of places, for lots of people.

It is largely considered the best bang for the buck in a great pruning saw, which is really what you can call this saw.


STATS ON THIS BAHCO LAPLANDER SAW:

--

Item Weight 200 g
Product Dimensions 27.9 x 10.2 x 5.1 cm
Item model number 396-LAP
Size 8 inches
Color Green
Style folding saw
Power Source Hand-Powered
Item Package Quantity 1
Blade Length 7 inches
Batteries Included? No
Batteries Required? No
Weight 200 grams
Length 27.9 centimeter
Width 10.2 centimeter
Height 5.1 centimeter



This saw is easy to find, order, or replace blades for!

It is a Beaut.


BushCraft / Self Reliance / Outdoors / OffGrid / Homesteading etc:

  • Save your Tinder sources / Respect nature.... - don't cut live trees unless you have to. Always try and use deadfall around you unless it is too rotted or wet to burn or build what you need and remain sustainable, and responsible with your environment.

My Fire Kit which was posted here this week:

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/off-grid-bushcraft-self-reliance-preparedness-homesteading-series-my-bushcraft-offgrid-standalone-fire-kit-in-the-smallest


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/off-grid-bushcraft-self-reliance-preparedness-homesteading-series-my-bushcraft-offgrid-standalone-fire-kit-in-the-smallest

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/daily-digital-detox-a-steemit-community-life-series-and-reminder-or-e-20-intentionally-regularly-unplugging-my-quick-engagement

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/apple-co-founder-steve-wozniak-reveals-he-bought-bitcoin-at-usd700-during-interview-with-cnbc-at-emerge-miami-today-2-min

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/jaxx-wallet-company-announces-huge-expansion-integration-partnerships-with-over-70-leading-blockchain-platforms-exchanges

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/litecoin-founder-charlie-lee-leaves-his-job-at-coinbase-to-focus-on-litecoin-this-likely-signals-big-things-for-usdltc

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/bitcoin-finally-smashes-thru-usd4000-usdcad-this-wkend-usd3k-usd-mark-all-week-or-btc-usd-usd2977-high-keep-calm-and-hodl

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/9-11-attacks-not-the-first-false-flag-classified-documents-here-leaked-by-edward-snowden-conclude-the-uss-liberty-was-a-false


Shelter photo and Bahco saw in packaging via my friend Paul Kirtley's media - He is one of the top bushcraft/outdoors instructors in the world, he is very skilled and very nice! He runs Frontier Bushcraft in the UK! Look him up!

My friend @geordieprepper here on Steemit is one to follow also for daily skills and tips along these lines.


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.

Sort:  

This is me inside the hammock, which I can live in half the year or more and have actually done this:

That looks and sounds like a great adventure!

Hammocks are fun as it is, and being outdoors to enjoy the stars is wonderful. I would live in my hammock and read all the time, haha.

I stop counting when I hit 150 hammock sleeps / year.

(:

Haha, that is great! I can tell you thoroughly enjoy it.

Hammock Life is so comfortable. If people have not truly given them a chance, they will be adverse to the idea, so I just pray for them

LOL

Lol!

May the Lord have mercy on their souls. 😄

Good Post, I have a similar saw. 👍🏼
Hubby and I are currently building a remote offgrid timberframe cabin and hoping to be fully offgrid ASAP (probably a few years though)...sadly. 😒
I'd drop out right now and never look back lol
Anywho if you'd like to follow our story you can find it @leemlaframboise or @medic8553
I will be following you for more of your great posts!
Have a good day Barry! ☺️

I feel you guys 110% on this, are you in Canadastan????

Oh and if you do not mind, my post from today......Most Canadian thing you might read all year? LOL

Dropping by your posts for both of you tonite soon...

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/well-today-is-canada-s-150th-birthday-here-in-canadastan-the-government-fails-humanity-daily-but-team-together-everyone-achieves

There's nothing like the feeling of living free and independently, @barrydutton

Great post, my friend!

Ty for stopping in buddy!!

I am glad you got out with your dad, too.

You're welcome, my friend! Yes, it was good times today! :)
Thanks!

good post ,I am glad to see your post

Nice feature that the blade locks in place. Does the blade fold fully into the grip or do you have to have alternate protection for it (like a sheath)?

IDK if you saw the 2nd photo of this tool near the end of the post or not in the packaging..... but it shows it almost fully closed - just staged for the product viewing.

It folds right into the handle like a pocket knife and it locks out BOTH ways -- meaning it will not come unlocked even when you have it all the way closed, you press the button to unhinge it. I love this thing.

I know people that have sheaths for them and know people that make them. I have modded sheaths but not made one, the damage to my hands and body, affects lots of simple stuff these days I could normally do.

You can strap this thing in a sheath or outside without one, right to your pack or tuck it in a pocket.

You could find this likely very easily near you in an outdoors store or maybe even in a Lowes or Home Depot or similar. Maybe even at a Harbour Freight.

Coronas are also popular but back to the teeth issue.

Cool... Yeah, it was hard to tell from the picture, but it would make sense from a safety standpoint. Awesome that it locks closed, too. Smart! I figured if it didn't fully close, tho, that it would have to have something covering that blade. Those teeth look mean!

I might have to check 'em out for firepit duties and yard work. Would be worth the $.

I could not believe how well this thing is built and works. I knew it had to be pretty good when 3/4 of the bushcraft community does videos about them and uses and carries them but dang.

LOL

You will not be disappointed. When you are out in the garden or tool sections, have a poke around or worst case - easily grabbed on Amazon

REI out your way might likely have them too, I forgot to mention that.

Agreed...That's a pretty good recommendation. I'll keep an eye open for one. I have a lot of volunteer trees along the fence - again - and they need to be removed. This saw seems like a good answer.

niice post..

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Looks excellent. I am gonna get one!

You won't regret this, I tried to cover home use and off grid use, my own thoughts and how highly this saw is thought of in the off grid community with people a lot more skilled than me.

Covered all the bases I think!

I also have a Bahco Laplander. The bag I just made has an added Bahco saw pocket on the side. Awesome affordable saw. I like Silky saws but so expensive.

I don't think Silky has a model out to this day, that cuts in both directions as well as the price point.

I think you are right on that and yeah the prices are way to high.

Unrelated...

Just a reminder too..... every week on Friday nights EST - we have a

#SteemitCampfire

--

on my page. I put up a reminder post early in the day each Friday (up now) and then after 5-7 pm EST -- the main post goes up and we gather community there on that post for a whole weekend, every weekend, drop in and out as you like and visit.

I have a Bahco Laplander too. I think I might try a Silky though for my next saw, just so I can compare the two.

Thanks.

I am home a few hours later, this post did not have as many comments and votes as I would like, like some others lately......

I thought it was really well timed and had solid and simple content and advice.

--

Just walked in the door, and posted the official

#SteemitCampFire

post now for the weekend - so it is up now on my page!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69