Apple co-founder Steve Wozniak reveals he bought bitcoin at $700 during interview with CNBC at eMerge Miami today. 2 min. embedded video clip within blog post

in #bitcoin7 years ago

The Apple co-founder many of us call Woz didn't get into how much he acquired, but the cryptocurrency has skyrocketed above $3,000 over the weekend, meaning he would be up $2,300 even if he just bought one bitcoin.

"I remember getting interested in bitcoin some time ago," he said. "It was $70 for a bitcoin, man and I went online and you had to have a special bank account at a special bank and I couldn't buy any bitcoin so I gave up. Eventually I got some of them at the $700 stage and it went down to $350. I didn't invest, I did it so I could play with bitcoin."

When a tech giant as well known as Woz is discussing real world, every day things to do with the emerging tech of crypto and blockchain, you can see that mass adoption is around the corner.

He discussed even, the underlying technology of blockchain for people who may not know what this is all about, which was nice to see.

Wozniak stated he wanted to see how he could do everyday things with the cryptocurrency, like shopping with bitcoin, at places like restaurants and hotels and stated in the video clip embedded in the link / story below how you can search ahead before you take a trip and see what places to shop or stay at - that will take bitcoin.


Real world uses.


"It's not that easy to do yet, but it's getting there. I was just playing around trying out how to buy and sell stuff and I didn't care I lost a ton of money, but now I'm way up," Wozniak went on to say

Woz also discussed blockchain technology & why he feels it's important, as I mentioned just above.

"I like the blockchain technology," he said. "Every single transaction is noted and saved, and that probably has a lot of good security and traceability and looking-back aspects to it ... That's probably why a lot of banks are interested in it."

Bitcoin was priced at about $700 in June of last year before a market correction and downtrend. And again in late October / early November 2016 before it began skyrocketing in value this year.

That is the obvious time the article with CNBC states but they also do not remember or state the last time BTC was at $700 USD --- when it was on a big run up just before the 2013 BTC/Crypto crash I blogged on recently in my article about knowing your history in crypto where I provided year over year historical records and market snapshots.


And now a funny gif of Woz with rapper DMX for your pleasure:


You can view the embedded video via this link right here, it is a cnbc.com video and I could not get the direct link for you, but I tried.

http://www.cnbc.com/2017/06/12/apples-steve-wozniak-bought-bitcoin-at-700.html

It will ask you why you are using an adblocker. LOL

gif via sharegif.com / primary image capture via Conan O'Brian YT as labelled.

If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!


Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/steemitcampfire/@barrydutton/steemit-weekend-camp-fire-series-weekend-5-we-are-steemit-family-come-visit-around-the-fire-with-your-family-every-weekend

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/video-just-released-andreas-antonopoulous-bitcoin-and-blockchain-in-norway-or-crypto-101-46-mins-super-practical-resource-here

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/bilderberg-updates-for-day-2-gathered-in-one-place-for-you-globalist-elite-bilderberg-group-yearly-meeting-this-year-again-in

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/breaking-the-biggest-canadian-coin-exchange-quadrigacx-loses-67-000-usdeth-due-to-coding-error-funds-locked-in-an-executable


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL


Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.

Sort:  

Damn Steve Wozniak.... Stop eating all the Bitcoins and save some for the little people:)

That feeling when you think your ahead of the technology curve because you got in on Bitcoin before Wozniak :)

I am still LOL'g at your comment here

hehehe!

Just like Woz said there, The more places that take this on as a payment option the better. More stable the price will become and stop these swings, because these companies will be dumping huge amounts back on the market and the cycle will continue. I can see where this field finally gets to a place where it moves less then 1% a month. If we ever get there, all of us will be doing very good at that point!

I guess they've now know that the bubble is just started and it takes time to pop up and burst in the other way around.

That's cool he's interested. Yes, we are on the cusp of something wonderful. Good post.

It is key news when a guy like this talks to the masses about such things!

Big names = big news sometimes, as I have said a couple times here! Thanks Woz!!

LOL

That's very cool!

Big names = big news sometimes,

  • this news is being under used and under reported IMHO, like I was saying in the post here.

At $700? Guess he's not that smart after all

Great post my friend. I was wondering if you could help or direct me towards information regarding transferring Steem into a Canadian Bank. I am new to this whole Crypto thing and would like to transfer a bit into my bank in Canada and see how it works. Thanks

No Canadian based bank or exchange handles Steem or anything other than the TOP performing 2-3 coins.

You need to join 2-3 other large exchanges, like Poloniex, Bittrex for starters - they offer most all the coins you want and some carry others, that the other ones don't.

Then you will have to use their services there, or something like shapeshift or changelly to convert your coins.

Then transfer THAT back into Fiat.

QuadrigaCX is the biggest CAN coin exchange, and are a PITA to deal with, due to their CS at times, rules and governance.

That company links your CAN bank accts to their account there via QCX.

Ok thanks for the info. I will give it a try.

It sounds pretty complicated but I am sure I will get it. If not I may lean on you again for advice. Thanks again

I tried to keep it simple, I know when you are new it is scary and confusing, I remember those days.

Try to follow those steps in the order I gave them to you, cross off even one per day and you will be basically gold

Pun intended. (:

Thanks for the help. Solid work you do here on Steemit that's for sure.

Man, that is one of the nicest things you can say on here, that is so great of you!!

TY very much!!!!

And now his starting to enjoy the Bitcoin he bought. Good for them they can do a lot and makes more ton of money since they have money to make it more plenty hahaha, just like the saying in one of our town in Iloilo (province in the Philippines) they usually say "in our place we just pickaxe and shovel our money" woooah can you think why @barrydutton ? Hahaba

LOL, nice to hear from you Diana!

I'm alive then suddenly gone hehehe, will I have to tell the why question, anyway I know the answer! Hahaha. Why they say they just pickaxe and shovel there money? Because, most of the province is an agricultural land, farming is their basic way of living. They dig and shove, like the rest of our region but their the one who's very boastful and proud, which makes the sayings popular,. ;) @barrydutton

"I didn't care, that a lose ton of money and now i am way up, haha", that was funny. Thank you for sharing.

Big names = big news sometimes!!!

TY for commenting today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55213.27
ETH 2919.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.95