How eating breakfast made us weak.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This is not yet another post about how eating tons of sugar and junk food makes us weak. Well, it does make us weak, but I'm not here to state the obvious. I'm here to state the less obvious, which is, how eating tons of sugar and junk food can actually benefit us, if timed correctly. And how eating salads 6 times a day isn't going to do much in your fat burning program.

This is a follow-up to my other post, where I briefly explained of what I'm going to talk about bellow. To not get lost in the first paragraph, please take a minute and go read it through https://steemit.com/life/@backyardgoonie/living-it-upside-down-and-the-science-of-intermittent-fasting

First of all, we have to understand a thing or two about the human body. And before this becomes a biology lesson, let's start with a more reader friendly explanation:

Your body needs energy to survive. You eat to survive. Luckily for us, our bodies are capable of storing reasonably high amounts of energy. We store our energy in the form of glycogen, in the form of fat and in the form of muscle. Our liver and muscles combined can only hold up to about 600 grams of glycogen, while our bone structure can hold unimaginably high amounts of fat and muscle.

Now let's take a break for a second and try to focus. I want you to stay with me on this.

We rely on 3 types of stored energy - stored muscle, stored fat and stored glycogen. Our body chooses (subconsciously) when to use which type of energy. We've been trying to make this less of a subconscious choice by doing the following(assuming most people want more muscles, less fat, or both):

-eating enough to prevent muscle loss
-not eating too much to not store fat
-eating regularly to not run out of glycogen and start losing muscles, or store fat

More food-specifically, we did this:

-eating a lot of protein to feed out muscles
-eating little fat (obviously)
-eating carbohydrates in every meal because we shouldn't run out of glycogen and start losing muscles or storing fat

It all makes sense. Until it doesn't.

We've adopted this idea of using carbohydrates(just to make it clear at this point, pretty much everything that isn't meat or diary is considered carbohydrates) as our primary source of energy so much that we've missed the bigger picture by a light year. We have babied ourselves by eating all the time to the point that we can't even imagine going more than a few hours without food. We HAVE to eat first thing in the morning, or bad things will happen. We fear of running out of energy.

But then, we never thought about using fat or muscle as our primary source of energy. Well, we did to the point of not wanting to burn our muscles and to the point of burning as much fat as possible through exercise.

But if we can use and burn fat to exercise, why can't we use and burn fat for sitting behind a desk for the most part of our day? Why do we need to eat early in the morning only to drive to work and then barely move for the next few hours? And then we need to eat again. Does our brain really burn this much? Well yes it does, but to the point of just HAVING to eat? To the point of exhaustion? Why are we getting fatter then?

Now comes the part with the (simplified) biology lesson.

There are two energy systems responsible for your energy levels: aerobic and anaerobic. Aerobic requires oxygen and some sort of stored energy to operate, while anaerobic doesn't require oxygen. Anaerobic system further breaks down into lactic and alactic anaerobic. To summary it up, it goes like this:

-alactic anaerobic energy system gives you short, immense bursts of power, lasting up to 20 seconds, and it needs phosphocreatine to operate (that's why bodybuilders consume creatine, even though some don't know it)

-lactic anaerobic energy system turns on after you run out of phosphocreatine, it still gives you a lot of energy(but noticeably less than alactic) and it lasts for a couple of minutes, or until you run out of glucose(carbohydrates, or sugar). When you're exercising and those muscles start burning, you know you ran out of your sugar reserves

-aerobic system takes over when you're not in need of exerting yourself. It can operate for extended periods of time, only requiring you to breathe and either glucose, fat or muscle to break down(yes, you heard that right. You can burn fat by breathing) - this is also the only way fat can be "burned", meaning, it's used during a chemical process, which I have no idea about, but it requires fat and oxygen, and it produces energy

This means (by all logic) that aerobic system should be operating for the most part of our day, using fat for it's fuel, leaving the carbohydrates(glucose) for more demanding tasks, like exercising.

Yet the 21st century idea goes like this - eat all the time to be able to move around, exercise to burn fat. I'm no expert, but I think we've missed the point a bit. At least I've managed to defy the oh so popular law of breakfast and not turning into a fat slob while eating hamburgers.

My idea is this - everyone can keep themselves healthy and full of energy, while exercising less than the average Joe, or at least, exercise differently. Exercising should be a bonus - to be able to jump higher, run longer, have a huge bicep, whatever. But you shouldn't be sweating your balls trying to do a single push-up.

At the beginning, it does require some willpower and effort to reprogram your body. And it starts with skipping breakfast. The cornerstone of any healthy individual. I'm having mine at around 9pm. That's when I break my fast. But that's just me, going into extremes. I'll show you all a more reasonable way to shift from carbohydrates to fat.

A part 2 (possibly even part 3) of "How eating breakfast made us weak" series is coming, since this is already a whole bunch of information, and I want to keep everything somewhat ordered and easy to navigate through. I hope you're already getting the idea of why eating all the time(even if it's good food) ain't that good. Especially first thing in the morning.

Don't be afraid of hunger. You won't waste away. Your muscles won't waste away. Your brain definitely won't waste away. You're just used to run on sugar, that's all.

PS: Yes that's me on the picture. And yes, there's also Jabba the Hutt with a hamburger.

Sort:  

You ever read a post and by the end be like, "yo, I need a friend like you"? This is very informative. I may need time to marinate a little, but I appreciate you sharing no doubt.

Thank you very much, that means a lot to me. I'll be sharing more to help you marinate :) I want to show people a different approach to food, or at least get them thinking about it, since I firmly believe that we've been quite wrong about it for quite some time now. We've lowered our norm to the point that getting fatter and weaker after the age of 30 is considered normal. I won't even start with our fitness norms. Most people can't even do a pull-up. Exercising after turning 30? Nuh-uh, too dangerous. And it all starts with food and how your body makes use of it.

oh much love<3 Actually I don't eat meat but, I wouldn't call myself a vegetarian either.Way more carbs then anything, I would say. I'll be 29 in November and believe I'm a lot more active then most my age, or at least in my immediate circle. My son is 3 and my sister is 13 and between the both of them they keep me pretty active, along with the four mile hike I take to the grocery store every other day it seems. ((One can only carry so much pushing a stroller filled with groceries and 25lb son up and down steep hills)) Nonetheless, I have much room for improvement.

I'll put it like this - some people are trying to lose weight no matter what. Some, like me, are trying to gain weight no matter what. And some(like yourself) are cruising somewhere in the middle, not particularly exceeding, but not failing at it either. My point being: you are the one with the most potential. You're the genetically gifted. You're good at it while not even trying. Can you see what I meant with dropping the norm? A lot more active than most your age? Please don't get me wrong here, but taking care of two children and hiking every other day is exhausting, yes, but shouldn't be physically demanding, and definitely shouldn't be considered exercising. But then again, who am I to be setting the norms.
I'm sorry if I offended you in any way with any of the above, I didn't mean to, I was trying to make a point and got carried away.
Anyways, good job on not eating meat. I'm a vegan myself(on nights I'm not having a hamburger).

No worries my friend. I didn't see anything to take offense to. I agree with you. These activities shouldn't be considered as exercise but more like a warm up possibly. I believe I be more exhausted mentally then physically by the fact of wanting to have the option if I feel like walking and caring my groceries. Don't get me wrong I am grateful to be able to do that much.Personally I would like to put on more weight. But I'm not sure if I'm burning more then what I take in or what.

It has a lot to do with genetics and how your body sees food. If it's constantly being fed, your body thinks either "winter is coming and we need to stock up with supplies", or, "there will be no winter, supplies keep coming in abundance, no need to stock on anything." It all depends on your genetics. That's why a skinny guy has a hard time gaining weight and someone who's fat just can't lose it no matter what. Again, most of this comes down to how restistant(or sensitive) you are to insulin.

Thank you my friend for taking the time to research these things and share with us. What would be a healthier way to put on more weight? Or maybe you'll discuss that in a later post?? I don't want to take you too far off the subject at hand.

A healthy way to put on weight is to put on muscle. And yes, I'll talk about specifics in some future post. Don't want to spam this post too much, since that's a whole new(huge) topic to cover. Thanks again for your awesome feedback!

I'm not an expert in these things but i really believe that you can do more harm to yourself with your "diet" than good. You might feel good now, you might feel good even for a period of time. BUT i do believe that increasing ketones in your blood (fuel from fat) will make it more acid. More acid blood means more work for your kidneys . And kidneys don't do well under much pressure for an extended period of time. That is a well known fact i believe. So if you are sticking with your experiment i really hope, that you drink a lot of water to help your kidneys.

I may be wrong, as i said i am not an expert it's just my opinion on my knowledge gotten from the various sources.

Good luck with your experiment and živjo! :)

Hello there, thank you for commenting! I agree with you, ketones do indeed make my kidneys work harder. But not consuming food throughout makes them work less. And I'm actually cleansing my kidneys daily by fasting. And I'm not even running on ketones that much. I eat carbohydrates every day. Plus I'm catabolizing my muscles for energy(which is a good thing, and I'll explain it, hopefully in part 2). You would have a problem with your kidneys when you would eliminate carbohydrates from your diet completely(the famous ketogenic diet). And this is becoming less and less of an experiment, not trying to brag, but I did my research. But thank you for your support and živijo! :D

Hm....so you only have one meal per day? At 9 pm?

That is correct, my friend. I've started eating only once a day in April this year. Been eating twice per day before(breaking my fast at around 3pm), for the last four years. And now I feel better then ever before. I'll explain it in greater detail in the upcoming posts. Thank you for commenting!

I used to have no issues with fasting....i had issues after the fast ended. ;) Meaning I often didnt eat anything till I got home...so my first meal was at 6pm. I then of course sometimes had an unhealthy snack at 9 or 10 pm...before bed. :D I was a whale. Honestly I never minded beeing a whale (yes really)....till I turned 30. Then i had an apropriate female breakdown. :) I enrolled in this diet program (I think you are slovene?)...so you might know it - Cindi one. You know they teach you the opposite? I was told that all this starvation periods I had and then ofc overeating was making my body to store more. Then again thyroid issues and polycystic ovaries don't make anything easier. So I was told to eat small meals spread during the day in a way for the body to stop storing and well....burn as it goes. They also teach you to not eat 3 hours before bed. Something with quality sleep.

Fasting has a lot to do with hormones, specifically, insulin. Insulin basically stores the food you just ate. The more insulin there is, or the more sensitive you are to it, the more of the food you eat your body is going to store. Insulin builds up as you fast and releases when you eat carbohydrates(sugar). This is also the reason why people with diabetes benefit from fasting more than they do from insulin shots. But oddly, they are also taught to carry sugar with them at all the time not to suddenly collapse. In reality they're making it even worse by making themselves even more resistant to insulin, by eating all the time. Who's teaching them the exact opposite of what they should be doing? You're right, I am Slovene, but I have no idea about the Cindi diet program. I've lost my interest in most diet programs out there years ago. They are all more of the same - eat throughout the day, foods that are high in protein, low in fat and moderate in carbohydrates. I'm not saying that they're wrong, I'm saying that they missed the point a bit. However, they were right about the starvation period - yes you were overeating, but your body was storing more because of built up insulin, not just because you ate more food. By limiting(hard word) myself to one meal only, I can pretty much eat anything without the fear of overeating. In fact, it's quite the opposite - I find myself undereating on nights I'm having a hamburger, since "bad" food is not as much energy dense as "good" food, and I get filled up faster. But then again, I'm trying to gain weight myself. When you sleep, HGH(human growth hormone) is released. HGH also builds up with fasting. It also makes your body to store things, but differently. When combined with insulin, you kinda get a double effect of storing things. Some say that's bad, I find it great. But as I said, I'll go more into details in the following post(s). This is actually a sneak peek of part 2. Thanks again for replying!

Well calory vise if I was only eating one hamburger per day I would be losing weight too...I mean...unless I made a 2k cal hamburger or smth. :D

I get what you are saying. It makes sense. Still think it has a lot to do with personality. I mean...both cases need lots of discipline and changing life styles.....which people hate do to. I was one of them. Eating more times per day helped me (-30kg)...I am not sure I am willing to change my routine again. Will keep on reading tho.....maybe when I hit 40 and have another female crisis I will revisit this blog lol. :)

Ty for the reply and a great explanation!

Believe me, it's not only the hamburger. It's just the main(or the tastiest) part of my meal.
And yes, this has a whole bunch to do with personality and turning your life upside down. But my goal is to show you all a manageable way to do so. Hopefully, before the next crisis hits you.
Thank for the feedback, great job dropping 30kg btw :o

I love that post. It triggers my biologist heart. I used to study biology for a while until I went out into the world. Looking forward to the next part.

I also consume breakfast relatively late but not as late as you.

Congrats for eating just once a day, I love eating too much to do so.

Thank you for reading it through! I'll sure do my best with the next part. And thank you, I'm kinda proud of myself for being able to eat only once a day :) And believe me, I love eating even more than you do. Waaaay more.

I've gone without breakfast for years and don't see any reason to go back. Not having to constantly eat gives a lot of freedom too!

One of the best things you did for yourself, friend. But did you do it consciously or did you just go by feel? Either way, it's great, but knowing more about it is even better. Thanks for stopping by!

I actually started doing it by feel but lately I've gotten into intermittent fasting on the Internet and since I've done it more consciously.

Great job man, I'm happy for you. I hope you can learn a thing or two about intermittent fasting from my blog. Keep it up!

I believe you're talking about intermittent fasting, your form is very extreme not breaking the fast until 9pm, pretty hardcore!

Thank you for reading through! I do indeed talk about intermittent fasting. This is actually my second post about it, since it's a huge topic to cover. And yes, eating once a day is quite hardcore, at least for most people. Thank you for your feedback!

This post has received a 0.76 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @backyardgoonie.

This post has received a 13.51 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @backyardgoonie. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45