What It Really Means To Be A Hero [ IFC S2R10 ]

in #life5 years ago (edited)

edit1.png

I'm not gonna lie, this topic is a little overwhelming for me. As I sat down and began to write, I constantly kept thinking as if this post is not just an entry for a contest, but my responsibility (for some unknown reason) to appreciate the real heroes of this world.

I know that sounds kinda silly because appreciating someone is never a responsibility, but a kind gesture. Still, I feel like so often when I'm writing about something like this which I never think that I can write enough about.

For me, the real heroes of our world aren't just your typical heroes like soldiers or fathers or whatever, but also so many other people whose efforts are gone unnoticed. The definition of a hero in my dictionary is a rather simple one:

He who puts himself in danger or discomfort for the selfless purpose of saving others, not because it's necessarily his responsibility, but simply because it's the right thing to do, without expecting any reward and regardless of his own safety, is a true hero.

If you are able to save your friend who's suffering from depression from committing suicide, then you are a hero. If you are a single mother trying to give your child the best life you can even if it's destroying your own, you are a hero.

If you are helping your junior stand up against his bullies, again, you're a hero. If you are an artist who's become one of the reasons for someone to not lose hope in their life, then guess what? You are a fucking hero.

I could keep going, but you get the point. A hero isn't someone who advertises their good deeds. If they do, that's not a hero. That's a politician, or rather, a really smart businessman.

The Greater Good

v247-binn-volunteer-08.jpg

Almost all of us get opportunities at different points in our lives to be a hero, to be better than who we are and to show the world that we care, even if it means revealing ourselves to our darkest fears and showing how broken we really are.

Look at any superhero movie, and you'll find the exact same reason why they all fight in the first place: the greater good. They fight not just to protect their family, but for a purpose greater than their own selves.

They realize how valuable our world really is, even if it is really shitty sometimes. As a kid, I remember my mom often used to tell me,

"Being a good human being, is the greatest success anyone has ever had and ever will have."

Though I didn't really understand what that meant as a kid, it definitely leaves me in tears sometimes now as a young adult who's stepping into the real world and is afraid to find himself.

I don't know if I should share this or not, but there were times in my family where we were having some big financial problems, and my mother started working just so she could help in the situation while also taking care of the house.

What amazes me the most, is that my mother is the first woman from her side of the family to ever have a job. I can't even imagine all the doubts and fear that were circling her head when she made that decision. That right there, is the truest and purest form of heroism I've ever seen in my life. Period.

Most of what's good in me, came from my mother. I've mentioned before how I love helping other people. This wasn't just a quality that I picked up out of nowhere. My mom taught me what kindness is and how important it is, especially now when the world seems more divided than ever.

The Savior And The Saved

baby-2980940_960_720.jpg

For me, a lot of people fall under the category of a hero, and for good reasons. Most people tend to idealize the image of a hero as someone who can perform impressive tricks or who has incredible strength, but the more realistic image of a hero, is usually just a normal guy/girl trying to do good for the world.

I've been saved by a bunch of people who I now consider to be heroes in disguise, and by "saved" I mean that they have helped me get back on my feet in my darkest times when I completely lost all hope for myself.

My favorite artists, including Chester Bennington from Linkin Park for whom I wrote a tribute on his 1st death anniversary, are some of the most influential people in my life.

All these artists who speak from the heart, who let out their true selves even if they might be scared, just so their fans can feel like they belong somewhere, means just... so damn much to me.

I honestly can't express how many times I've felt heard and understood because of artists like these. For me, they too, are the real heroes of the world because they give us something so precious that all of us need: hope.

I might be talking crap right now, I don't know, but what I do know is that all of this is coming straight from my heart. Imagine losing one of your heroes from your life, someone you thought you can go back to when you've lost and are hurt.

Try feeling how emotionally damaging and haunting it would feel like. I have felt that way before and I can tell you, that feeling is definitely not easy to deal with. For a moment, you get so overwhelmed that you literally can't believe it and think it might just be a bad dream.

But then you slowly accept it, and instead of trying to avoid it because it hurts, you start walking the path your saviour showed you, while saving others on the way too.

This is how you become a hero. This is what it means. To save someone, but also teaching them how to save themselves, because you know you won't be around forever but want to do the most you possibly can before you fade away.

av4tt0mlsg.png

Related articles:

Continue reading:



Capture.PNG

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @ayushjalan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 8.01% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @ayushjalan! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57