Above And Away - Sharing One Of My Hiding Spots [ IFC S2R8 ]

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190420_072559.jpg

I'm not usually the guy who would share something so personal with other people, especially if those people are literally strangers on the internet. But since I've been trying to be a lot more open about my life lately, I figured why not, you know.

I don't really get to travel a lot, but I do know that I have an adventurous spirit and I try to make good use out of it every once in a while when I go roaming around looking for new places.

But even though I love exploring, I do find myself visiting some places more often than others, even if it's just for a little while. At this point, calling them hiding spots (or "power spots" like @apolymask puts it) wouldn't be an overstatement.

I've shared my obsession with beauty in quiet places in one of my previous posts too, where I showed a different place I often visit after college to kinda set the mood right. Well, as you read from the title, that place isn't the only one.

A little far from college, there's this whole area near the river where they have a water treatment plant and near it is this giant-ass white tower, which I may add, is really scary-looking and rusty and dark from the inside.

Long story short, I climbed over the fence (and got a small cut on my finger) and watched for any guards, quietly opened the rusty metal door of the tower and sneaked in after making sure that nobody had noticed. Quite Hollywood for me, gotta admit.

I didn't take any photos inside the tower because 1, it wasn't really a photogenic spot to be honest and 2, I couldn't linger too long as I was not supposed to be there and would've been in some serious trouble if I got caught.

Anyway, that's not what I went there for. What I was really looking forward to, is this:

adasda.jpg


dsgdgsg.jpg


rtrtr.jpg


ggg.jpg


Dangerous? Check.
Illegal? I hope not.
Could probably kill you? More or less.
(Hotel? Trivago.)

Jokes aside though, I can't even begin to explain you what all I felt as soon as I stepped up to the very top and saw the horizon right before my eyes the first time. It was... transcendent.

I never knew my city was so beautiful.

I remember just standing there dumbstruck in wonder and awe, and just staring at the beauty right in front of me. The wind, the landscape, the weather, all of it made for such a powerful experience that got me hooked for more.

It's so easy to forget how alive the world really is when you live under dead concrete blocks, and this is exactly why I can't resist places like these. I want to see life happen around me; I want to see ripples in the river, the dangling tree branches, the fisherman in his boat, and the animals near the riverbank.

But all of this beauty comes with a price. Whenever I go to any of these places, there's always a risk of getting caught or falling down and getting seriously injured (or dying, in this case), and that's why I don't really share that place with anyone.

Still, I'm cautious enough to not go too far and stubborn enough to keep coming back.


IMG_20180822_103100.jpg


Imagine sitting there all alone while listening to some beautiful music and just watching the world from up above thinking as if you're inside a novel. For a moment, everything else about your life becomes secondary and all you wanna do is just... be.

I heard myself saying,

"This is it. This is all I want. To fall in love with my own life."

My mind kept reminding me how it's getting late and I should head back home, but my heart silently begged,

"Just a little while longer"

av4tt0mlsg.png

Related articles:

Continue reading:



Capture.PNG

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

Hmmm ... that sounds a bit dangerous but it sure allowed you to take some great photos.

Near my house there is an abandoned factory with a high tower... but I never had the guts to climb those stairs. They seem sketchy as hell. They are similar to this...

Can you imagine climbing 100 meters of that?

Honestly, it the top offers a good view, I would gladly climb 100 meters of that lol. Probably shouldn't, but still would.

Super cool spot!! I would love to check that out in person myself.
I haven't had a chance to read the whole post yet as I'm very busy and there's numerous other entries I have to respond to first and it might be a couple days before I am able to read this and respond in more detail but I just wanted to say that I noticed your IFC tag did not have a date on it.
I'm not sure how far away that spot is from where you live and if you'll be able to get another picture with the date in the image, but that is part of the rules so I just wanted to mention it.

I won't disqualify you if you're unable to get a new picture, we're being very loose and non strict this season and I don't think anyone will object to you forgetting to put that on there, but.. If it's not too far away from where you live, maybe consider trying to get another picture with the date on there just in case someone does object. Cheers! Hope all is well and will talk to you again soon.

I must've forgotten about the date part when I was taking the shot. Unfortunately, the place isn't close enough for me to go whenever I want so I might not be able to provide for a second photo with a date on it.

I'm really hoping that it doesn't count as a violation of the rules since going there again this soon would require me to delay some of my other obligations.

Still, I will try my best to do so. Just in case I actually do, do you want me to use the original date of when I went there or the date of when I'll be going there again?

I'll be waiting for when you have the time to read the whole thing. It's always fun to talk with you about things and I'm hoping this post strikes an interesting conversation too :)

That's a bummer it's not very close. I think you'll probably be alright if you don't get another picture since we have less players this season and they seem more chill and relaxed about it all and not as cut throat as last season.I doubt anyone will challenge you on it, but.. It is possible.
However I wouldn't go too far out of your way or worry too much since you're already in the finals!

If you do happen to go back there to get another pic.. Umm.. I think either way will work, but would probably be better to use the more current date on the actual day that you would go if you do go.

I think it's fun to chat with you as well! We've had some really great ones in the past. You're a great conversationalist and writer and it's a pleasure to get into details about things with you. Once again sorry I haven't responded to some of our previous stuff, I'm flabbergastedly overwhelmed trying to keep up and it's on my mind a lot to get back to all the messages I haven't yet, but haven't been able to. I have a lot on my plate at the moment and I tend to bite more than I can chew.

I think your post did potentially create some good conversation it was deep as usual and I have a feeling you'll have some interesting responses to what I said and then I'll have some more to bounce back off of that and so on so forth, lol. Whatever the case though it definitely gave me some good things to think about! Especially the falling in love with yourself part.. I really gotta work on that more! And I feel like I've been making good progress. Lately I don't feel so distressed and depressed and have been enjoying being alone with myself. :) I think your article helped me even more with that. So thank you! Your writing has helped me more than you know, it's interesting how that happens.. From half way around the world it seems like magic we're even talking at all let alone having such deep and awesome chats. I'm grateful for it! Peace.

What a relief, lol. Perhaps I should be more careful when reading the rules in future contests.

You're a great conversationalist and writer and it's a pleasure to get into details about things with you.

So are you! It takes two to have a great conversation, after all. I like the way you look at things and even more how you are so attentive when responding or commenting on a post. Most people here don't bother commenting because they don't see it as a direct source of income, but it's the best tool to make bonds with people and keep an active fanbase.

Once again sorry I haven't responded to some of our previous stuff, I'm flabbergastedly overwhelmed trying to keep up and it's on my mind a lot to get back to all the messages I haven't yet, but haven't been able to. I have a lot on my plate at the moment and I tend to bite more than I can chew.

You don't need to apologize at all buddy :) I can understand. There are a lot of other people you need to interact with and it can get a bit messy, and that's okay. When you reply doesn't matter as much as replying itself.

I think your post did potentially create some good conversation it was deep as usual and I have a feeling you'll have some interesting responses to what I said and then I'll have some more to bounce back off of that and so on so forth, lol.

Lol now there's mad pressure on me to say something interesting haha! But yeah, it usually is that way between us. I don't really get to have interesting conversations like this is my family so it's a big deal for me whenever I get to have it with people like you on the internet, so I can actually share my mind with others.

Lately I don't feel so distressed and depressed and have been enjoying being alone with myself. :) I think your article helped me even more with that. So thank you! Your writing has helped me more than you know, it's interesting how that happens.. From half way around the world it seems like magic we're even talking at all let alone having such deep and awesome chats. I'm grateful for it!

That's so great! I'm so happy that you're making progress with your mental health. I seriously can't express how much it means to me when someone feels better and more understood because of my work. That's one of the main reasons why I do what I do in the first place.

Indeed, it's amazing how similar people can be even from the opposite sides of the world and understand each other in a way that not even the people close to us are able to. It's strange and beautiful at the same time.

I too hope we can keep having these awesome conversations :)

Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53