Designed To Desire - Why Humans Beings Are Never Truly Content

in #life6 years ago (edited)

information-information-board-message-business-card-39604.jpg

If you take a closer look at the nature of us humans, you will see how we are always searching for something, even if we may not know what exactly is it that we are searching for. We are always trying to find ways in which we could make our lives easier, faster, better, and more advanced. But then why are we still so unhappy?

We just simply can't be content with what we have, but instead are driven to always want for more. As soon as one of our wants is fulfilled, we jump to the next one. There's a 'fire' inside of us that drives us to go further and beyond in search for greatness, but this same 'fire' is somehow also the reason of our eternal misery and feelings of dissatisfaction.

This 'fire', though being the very foundation of our being, the base of our creative abilities, and the reason of our countless achievements, is in some way also the cause why we never truly experience contentment and satisfaction and are so insatiable. The very thing about us that makes us different from other species, also makes us feel disconnected.

It's bizarre how the same qualities that make us go to the moon, explore the deepest of the oceans, make the greatest of discoveries, and invent the greatest of inventions, are also what makes us and keeps us perpetually dissatisfied and unhappy. But why is it that way? Why can't we ever be content?

A Survival Strategy?

evolution-297234_960_720.png

If you think about it, it kinda makes sense. Since the beginning of the evolution of our species, beings who had more resources, survived longer, lived better, and well... didn't die. So it makes sense to want to always have more because the more the resources, the more the chances of survival.

We have convinced ourselves that the more you have, the better it is. It may very well be the case when it comes to things like love or knowledge, but is a whole different story when it comes to craving for materialistic things and experiences.

In the world of today, even if our lives are much more convenient, safer and easier than ever, and there's no real need to keep gathering more, we still would rather want to have more than we actually need.

If that's true, doesn't that make greed a major part of our existence? Doesn't that make us eternally greedy beings? It sounds pessimistic, I know, but it's reality. When it comes to exploitation of something for selfish purposes, we humans are pretty much masters.

The Problem With Always Wanting More

pexels-photo-374894.jpeg

After reading the above, you might be wondering why is it that wanting more is a problem even though it is natural to do so? We've seen how it can be a blessing as it makes us push ourselves forward and transcend boundaries, but in some way, it's also a curse. A curse of existential dissatisfaction.

Think about it. We are so drowned in consumption that we desire for more of almost everything that we already have, and wish to have everything that we don't. We can't help but ponder over the experience that we are missing out on if we don't long for the new.

But by doing this, we are disabling ourselves from enjoying the present moment and instead making ourselves live in the thought of the future when we acquire what we want. Ask yourself, is what all you have right now, enough to live a happy life?

The answer is probably no. Right after you read the question, you could instantly and easily think of countless number of things that if you had, would bring you more happiness — or so you think. The craving for wanting more, though having it's own charms, comes with a price. A price that we all are very well aware of.

av4tt0mlsg.png

If you liked this article or found it useful, you might also like:

Continue reading:


Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

I wish I can balance eager want or craving for more with gratitude and satisfaction. It is always hard to know when to show gratitude and when to strongly desire. And by doing both each at specific time will really help mastering you mind. Thanks a lot @ayushjalan

That's so true! We can't always be grateful, even if it's wise to be so. Humans aren't like that. We need that adrenaline rush and craving for newness to find and make greatness.

The answer to your question is "Yes." I live a very happy and satisfied life with very little. Humans aren't living as humans should. The idea that having more stuff is related to some kind of survival of the fittest is a connection that I don't buy.

Often people who have the most stuff aren't healthier, or more fit. They pay people to do for them that which would make and keep them healthier. Comfort is not our friend... being the "richest man in the graveyard" is not a condition to which I aspire.
But to each their own. All I ever wanted, is all I ever needed, and that's where I am in life right now. I hope those who aren't happy with more, will at least try living with less...
Cheers.

Rightly said. You don't need loads of things to make for a happy life. It's about making more out of less. Those who always want more, keep wanting more for the rest of their lives and end up disappointed when they don't get what they desired.

Whether minimalist or hedonist, it all depends on the individual and what his/her environment requires to thrive.

Solid post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Totally agree. Different things work for different people under different circumstances.
Namaste :)

Wanting more to me, has always been a blessing. Being dissatisfied challenges you to push harder.I remember when I was doing so poor in maths,my mom and dad always made a mockery of me. I had to thrive, I had to push hard. Tho the feeling of unsatisfaction can be depressing, it will sure relief when you've gotten what you wanted. But what if you can never get it? I know this question is what you would like to ask. Some great inventors never finished what they started. Don't be someone who never went all out for it, be someone who was not afraid to try. It is better than being satisfied in your comfort zone. Lovely piece

If you know how to channelize that want in the right direction, then it can be made one of the best qualities a person can have. Problem comes when people blindly want for something without giving their want a purpose.

Yea exactly

Posted using Partiko Android

Very interesting and useful article...
Got many insights from this post...

Thanks and have a great day...

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Ask yourself, is what all you have right now, enough to live a happy life?

I can be happy and grateful for what I have. And do I really have anything at all? This is all temporary, owning something could possibly be an illusion to an extent. But there are certainly more things I would like to experience in life.

I do think some people are even more content than I am for sure, I still have many dreams I'd like to do, many things I'd like to see. So I wouldn't say all people are like that but you are touching on an interesting subject and I think it's a powerful one and one I've been thinking about a lot lately as I deal with getting older and having regrets for not achieving as much as I would have liked, though in the end I try to remind myself as I tuck in for bed each night that.. What I have experienced is amazing and a lot more than others have as much as I dislike comparing myself to others.. I do find some gratefulness knowing I've had great friends and family and some romance and seen some amazing things and learned amazing things. I am happy, though.. At the same time.. I do want to experience more. Heh.

As I said before, very interesting subject! I like your writing style and you pose some thought provoking questions. Thanks for a good read!

True. We don't actually own anything forever; nobody does. We just keep it in our possession for as long as we desire.

I can relate with your thinking. Even though I do feel grateful for all the experiences and just the overall way my life is at the time, I still can't help but wonder over all the memories that I'm yet to create and live.

Thank you for the compliment. Glad you liked my work :)

True. We don't actually own anything forever; nobody does. We just keep it in our possession for as long as we desire.

Or for as long as we have the ability to desire. But yeah. I generally agree!

I can relate with your thinking. Even though I do feel grateful for all the experiences and just the overall way my life is at the time, I still can't help but wonder over all the memories that I'm yet to create and live.

I can vibe with that and I think that's a good attitude to have! In fact, I don't think it has to be an all or nothing kind of thing.. I think we can simultaneously be at peace with what we have done and still also want more. :)

You're welcome! Thanks to you as well for sharing such interesting content. I applaud your writing style and way of thinking. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61