5 Questions I've Started To Ask Myself Every Night Before Going To Sleep

in #life5 years ago

girl-1851360_960_720.png

If you've been following my blog, you know that I've been trying to make some small changes in my life lately. One of which, is the title itself. I've started asking myself these five questions every night before going to bed.

Before I tell you guys what they are, just keep in mind that this is in no way a permanent thing. I might change, add, or remove some questions or maybe even throw away the idea entirely. Like I said, I'm still trying out new things and experimenting to figure out what works for me, and what doesn't.

Alright, let's get into it.

Question 1: One thing you are grateful for

Kinda cliché, I know, but the point still remains: there is always something in life to be grateful about. No matter how bad your day was, there are still things out there that can remind you of how things are actually not as bad as they seem.

You have food on your plate for survival, you have electricity and internet for entertainment, you have good friends and family to keep you company, and most important of all (to me at least) you have hope in your heart to lead your life. We often forget to appreciate how rare it is to even exist in the first place.

Question 2: One thing you are working on

This one is to remind myself to always keep working on something no matter what it is. It can either be working on my body, working (studying) for my academics, or my favourite, working on my next article for Steemit.

The idea is pretty simple here. The only reason I get so bored sometimes is because, well, I have nothing to do. But when I ask myself this question, it indirectly tells me that I am supposed to be working on something, which gives me that push to actually get off my ass and start working.

Question 3: One thing you are proud of

I know, I know, it's not always possible to be proud of yourself every single day because we don't normally get that many opportunities to do things that make us feel proud of ourselves. But the thing is, this question is kinda linked with the previous one.

You can literally just make yourself feel proud of yourself for the work you have done. In my case, I surely feel a little proud when I finish writing one of my articles, especially the ones that include revelation of my fears and some personal stuff, which required me to be extremely honest and vulnerable. Taking pride after completing a goal is a super healthy practice for both, your mental and emotional well-being.

Question 4: One friend you talked to

This is the part where the introvert in me (which is most of me anyways) would tell myself to shut up, but I've learned that in the long run, it's better to be honest. I admit, I do get pretty lonely at times and feel the need to have a genuine conversation with someone.

But because text is the new talk, the amount of face-to-face and verbal communication between friends have definitely reduced. So, to counter this, I try to have at least one genuine verbal conversation with any one of my friends and even that is a little hard to do sometimes because it's harder to find free time as you get older.

Question 5: One person you helped today

I saved the best one for last. In fact, I added this one in the list just yesterday and I think it's already my favourite question because it induces me to become a better person. The way I see it, one of the biggest purposes of human life should be about serving other people.

The fun part is, this one is actually not as difficult as the previous question. Even if you are someone like me who spends most of their time indoors, it's still super easy to help people out. In my case, I help my mom cut vegetables sometimes so it's a little less work for her allowing her to prepare the dinner a little faster. These little acts of kindness go a long way and if you do them consistently for long enough, they even become a memory when you get older.

I would love to know if you guys have any more ideas. If you do, let me know in the comments!

av4tt0mlsg.png

Related articles:

Continue reading:



Capture.PNG

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 111 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

5 SBD you say?

flips table

The world isn't fair!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ayushjalan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28