Propaganda, The Power and Persuasion of Images

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Today we call it propaganda. It used to simply be called advertising. Or telling the countrymen the truth. Bringing awareness.

propaganda.jpeg

I love these old propaganda posters. In the days before internet and television, when your government wanted you to believe a certain way they papered the land with these photos.

pro 19.jpeg

They hoped to sway your thoughts.

pro20.jpeg

If a nation at war believes one thing, they are sure to win, right?

pro5.jpg

Enjoy!

pro16.jpeg

The next two actually give sound advice...

bag.jpeg

pro 22.jpeg

... Unleash the passions with Marihuana!

pro1.jpg

Follow the M&M's!

pro 10.jpg

pro 12.jpg

There was also propaganda against women

pro8.jpg

The power of persuasion is far reaching

pro 17.jpeg

pro111.jpg

A picture is worth a thousand words

pro11.jpg

pro4.png

pro 14.jpg

pro 13.jpg

pro9.jpg

pro15.jpeg

pro21.jpeg

Some of these make you wonder just how far a group will go to persuade the masses...

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

pro6.jpg

Oh, really?

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I hope you enjoyed these powerful old posters :) Please follow @ArbitraryKitten for more

A few you might enjoy-

Success on Steemit is like dating pretty girls
Full STEEM Ahead! 10 Writing Hacks
10 Barely Legal Life Hacks
Best Steemit Tools!
Engage your followers
How to Fail at Steemit, a Parody

.

animated-dividing-line-image-0133 animated-dividing-line-image-0133

animated-arrow-image-0039 Please Upvote and Resteem animated-arrow-image-0040

.
animated-dividing-line-image-0133 animated-dividing-line-image-0133

I ❤ your comments and questions!

Sort:  

Whoa, some of those are intense.. Thanks for sharing!

Absolutely, I am happy you enjoyed them :)

Propaganda had been a part of politics and other institutions for the support of their interests.

Yes, definitely not unbiased!

Omg this is so well done!!! I love the one about "Marihuana"!! I am rolling right now. I love to laugh. I happen to be an avid cannabis user! As I said though, very well done. I wish my vote had more power but you get love and sharing to go with it as well!

Peace,
The Last Sage

Rolling right now, or rolling one right now...?

We're surrounded by propaganda however it is so much more subtle in its delivery these days.
TPTB have become adept at creating a narrative and selling it into the public conciousness however nefarious. Support for constantly murdering innocents all over the world for control of natural resources is a great example, along with outright lies that are fed to us regarding Russia, Syria, Lybia, Ukraine etc.
Our countries are constantly feeding info about dangerous enemies whilst bombing the shit out of countries that refuse to tow the line. And the masses applaud it.
It's appallingly simple and effective mass mind control.
@tremendospercy

It is easy for the ptb to have their "sheeple" believe when children are not even taught how to think for themselves. Critical Thinking is frowned upon. They are raising followers plain and simple.

It's good for their agenda.

I would love to comment on this and maybe even add a poster or two in the comments. But I have been crying. You see I was in a contest where I had to guess number of candies in a jar. I had to guess the area of the jar imagining what a hand size maybe. Then I had to calculate the volume of the jar. Then I calculated the volume of a candy and measured accurately the spaces between candies. As it turns someone has large hands.

NOOOO! There there.. pats Ned on shoulder

But..but I do, I do have small hands... Barely over five inches start of palm to fingertip...

Now that I have know the size of your hands, can I have your credit card number?

It's niner, twentyish, oneteen.

:D

Lmao, Rofl
Guess that is exactly how you count your candies

Oh don't MAKE me use your middle name, Sir.

You just reminded me of something funny. Check my post later in the day

Good selection !)
Here is a propaganda poster of the Soviet Union:

Can you translate for us non speakers? That would be amazing :)

Ok)

-so looks like now
the fascist beast!
want to breathe and live
the beast should be killed!

On the flag - "total mobilization"

1943

Wow.

Thank you very much.

Huh.. So, all this time he's right next to me.

Scary thought.

;)

Upvoted resteemed! Excellent post great work finding all the pics

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Propaganda is right. Powerful and clear messages to all . Very effective in swaying and controlling mass thinking.

Terribly effective I'm afraid. So powerful it's scary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74