How to enchant and engage your beloved Steemit followers

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Let the taste linger in the Steemians mind...

See what I did there?

blog.jpeg

Hello my fellow Steemians! I hope you are all doing well!

.

We’ve all been there. You wrote a long and thought provoking piece and it’s gathering a whole lot of…

Crickets.

You begin to self-analyze and self-sabotage. You wonder if you posted at the correct time. You fret over the heartfelt content you worked so long on, and you try to ignore that little voice “what if they just don’t like me”.

Stop it! Stop it right now and take action!

Firstly, if you put in the effort and post and engage consistently, you will grow.

Secondly, be authentic. Make sure your writing is YOU.

But most importantly, anything worth doing is worth doing well.

Following are tips to help you make sure your posts are dripping quality and will keep 'em coming back for more.

1. Time Out

When your piece is finished, step away! Go get a cup of coffee, stretch and walk around a bit. DO NOT hit publish immediately. You worked hard, take a five minute break.

When you come back-

2. Read It

Out loud. Read it to your cat. Or your wall if you don’t have a cat. You will hear things that are off that you can easily correct.

3. Sweep the Dust Bunnies

Is that word necessary? Do you notice you use the same word over and over? Thesaurus is your friend.

Can it be simplified? Do you say the same thing over and over? Clean it up!

4. Don’t Be a Cannibal

Examine your punctuation, or lack thereof. There is a big difference between “Let’s eat Grandma” and “Let’s eat, Grandma.”

6. Embrace Zombies

Steer clear of passive voice. If you can add "by zombies" to the end of a sentence, rearrange that bad boy.

If you Steemit, they will come.

Here are a few helpful articles

Grow and Succeed on Steemit with these tools

Don't be a Zero, be a Steemit HERO!

My recent 500 follower milestone

Full STEEM ahead!

Thank you for your support!

Sort:  

Hello, we chatted a week ago or so. I prepared this VLOG review on your blog and if you are not opposed to the idea I will be publishing this post with a review of another steemian author tomorrow. If you want me to add any info, let me know

Intelligent...
Dangerous...

He he!

Word Dominatrix is my job title. As a Word Dominatrix I whip words into line. Flog them into submission. :)

I am honored by your review, and that you appreciate me as an Author.

I also am big on helping Minnows. I had a few hands when I first arrived, and I know the Steemit Universe can be a lot of information at once so I like to help out the New Kids on the block :)

I treasure honesty and authenticity, so yes, tell it as you see it!
Thank you so much!

Cool, watch for the post tomorrow, I'm just waiting for the other author to get back to me. You're a smart one! Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

"If you Steemit, they will come." Love it! :)

he he! I thought that was pretty accurate. Cute. And accurate!

I am merely writing from what I think because I have no outside world experience that I can share except the past which isn't worth telling anyway.

Anything can be written and there will be a reader. Try it out, you may surprise yourself.

And always push yourself. If youre not uncomfortable, youre not growing :)

😂 i could see my husband sulking in the back of my mind while reading this.
Very helpful. Thank you.
I'm resteeming so I can point him easily to it

Ha ha! Perfect!

Love the "zombie" suggestion...great advice on all points!

Zombies need love, too.

Much appreciated :)

Thank you for this. I have a very poor education, bad eyesight and i'm dyslexic. So writing is rather a challenge for me. I am endeavoring to persevere though, and this has helped.

That is amazing that you are persevering through and going after what you want!

I love that spirit! Keep it up, I look forward to your posts :)

Thank you, its encouragement like you have just given me ,that gives me the energy to continue : o)

That makes my heart happy <3

Good to hear that, your a very kind person and deserve kind things : o)

You may like my post I just put up : o)

I will check it out!

Ha ha. Thank you so much for the tips! All very useful, but I really loved your fourth point about being a cannibal. Poor Grandma. xD

Yes, please don't eat grams. She may be sweet, but let's keep her on this side for a while ;)

this is a very interesting post, was in the middle of a post but i getting up to go look for some zombies to embrace.

Here, you can have mine :)

If you can add "by zombies" to the end of a sentence, rearrange that bad boy.

LOL, can you explain that one?

Lol of course :)

I'm referring to passive voice.

Passive- She was chased. (By zombies)
Active- The zombies chased her.

See how you can add by zombies to the first one?

If you can add 'by zombies' and it makes sense, try to change the sentence. You can't always, but you don't want too much passive voice in your writing.

Hope that explained it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57962.42
ETH 3050.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25