It's Not Christmas Yet, But...

in #life7 years ago

November and December tend to inspire a desire to give. I haven't decided yet if I believe that it's due to mass media conditioned consumerism, or if it's an anciently raw pagan realized drive due to the fact that it is just plain cold and there's nothing better to do. Perhaps it's a little bit of both. Whatever it may be, it's a very real thing. We love to give during the chilliest months.

But the "season of giving" should not be a season at all. It should be a far more often recurrence. I'm not just talking about material gifts here. I am thinking more along the lines of a giving of yourself.

Here at Steemit, giving is encouraged via positive, conversation provoking comments and upvotes. It doesn't cost you a thing, but it means the world to the receiver.

How can you transfer this into the really real world?

Little things like paying the toll for the car behind you- I have had that happen once and it felt really good! It was a nice surprise for my morning, and it quite literally put a smile on my face and set the rest of my day up for a more positive outcome. I do not have many toll booths in my part of the world, but when I do encounter one I pay for the vehicle behind me. I remember how awesome it felt to be the recipient of that little gesture and want to share it with someone else.

But more than that, the good feeling of doing so actually is more powerful than the one I experienced when I was the receiver of the gift.

You can give a smile. A shoulder. A hand.

You can even give hope.

We are all connected, each and every one of us. Even if you consider the gesture minimal, your kind act changes that persons day and causes a domino effect.

Your kindness causes a chain reaction of good.

shaded line.jpeg

I appreciate your support :)

If you feel this post is undervalued, tips are appreciated
arbitrary-kitten bitshares address- 1QBofdLaCckmiHoY1wXg4KF63zzPw7WRd9

More by @ArbitraryKitten you might love :)

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 Which Side of the Window do You Choose to be on?
~
Ask and You Shall Receive
~
If you have loved and lost, this is the most eye opening two minutes of your week
~
The Secret to Living Happy
~
Tips to Travel, Even if you Think it's too Expensive!
~
A Positive Post
~
Steemit is Like Marriage, and Most Marriages Fail. Do This to Keep Your Blog (and Marriage) Alive!
~
What Do Steemit and Pretty Woman Have in Common?
~
Behind the Meme- Grumpy Cat
~
How to Prevent S.A.D.
~
Loneliness is Deadly
~
Reflections on 9-11 and the Meaning of Home
~
Can You Die of a Broken Heart?

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Great post as always @arbitrarykitten. People always think giving means monetary gifts, but like you said a simple smile can make someone's day.
😁

Love the positive vibes in this post <3
I always believed that helping others is helping self. What you give its always come back twice of it to you :)

Thank you! I love sharing the vibes- we all need a little more!

Strike that~ a lot more!

Wait what ? You mean I can send gifts outside of season?

Haha, that hit me like a truck. I have been too normalized by the society that I almost take everything for granted, what a nice wake up call !

Although I said so, I think nothing much is going to change. It takes a lot of courage and time to even initiate something, much less an internal change from ourselves.

What am I talking here...

Just by you changing- things change

You cause a chain reaction.

The next person will change a bit, if only with a renewed sense of humanity...

You can even give just a simple comment and a hello.

"Hello"

Thanks for sharing. Nice post :).

She only took a catnap ;)

Hey you!

I see your rep is pumped up :-)

The more I give Steemit, the bigger that number gets...

;)

Steemcleaners just destroyed my post payout girl. I had $4 and they cut it to $0. You think I can convince them to change their vote?

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I always think of specific holidays as annual reminders to behave that way all year. By Christmas time I am burned out on giving and I appreciate the extra holiday magic to remind me of how powerful giving physical gifts and giving of myself can be.

Oh, right. Well said.

I feel the same about Christmas. It's magical and twinkly and warm and cozy... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66548.53
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91