Memories From The Bus (Part 2)

in #life5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Memories From The Bus (Part 2)


Yesterday, all my troubles seemed so far away


Banner.jpg


In a previous post, I mentioned that when I first moved to Canberra in 2009 I stayed at a caravan park in an old Bedford bus that belonged to a friend.

That was fun while it lasted but I can tell you, the novelty of using a common shower/toilet block wears off pretty quickly. And I mean, it was so frustrating that it literally became a pain in the ass. (yes, literally haha)


MissStress_blog.jpg

This 'mock license plate' was requested by my friend who told me that his wife refers to the bus as his mistress because of all the time and money he spends on her so he wanted a sign that would reflect how he really felt about his 'Miss Stress'.


At the time, I was getting into Second Life and would often participate in 'Quick Build' competitions. So, you'd be given a subject and a time limit in which to build your entry and since the comp was held in real time, when you needed to go... well for me, it wasn't just a quick run to the next room... no, it was a bloody hike and in that time, the contest would be over or near enough anyway.

This was also the time when I started my first blog on blogger.com called From The Bus; that's where the banner at the top comes from and shows a picture of the bus and my beloved car, Wendy (short for Wednesday).


BirdMontage.jpg

My Lovebirds: Whitey and, you guessed it, Bluey (oh come on now, I am Australian... you're bloody lucky it wasn't Red XD...)


Whilst recently moving all my photos over to a new external HD, I uncovered some folders that I'd forgotten about and one of them contained a whole bunch of photos and graphics from my blog.

The one thing that stuck out the most when looking at them, was how they reminded me of a time when life had slowed right down; it was a time of discovery, of finding my true self; a space in time when I actually enjoyed just being me.


bg_motoX.jpg

Bike vector was created from a photo using paths.


As you can see from my image selection, I also had a healthy interest in MX.

The next image was just a bit of fun but inspired by a bike park called Hungry Creek (NSW) whose advertising slogan was 'Have a dirty weekend at Hungry Creek'. My Dad used to go there when I was a kid and even though it closed years decades ago that 'pun' has always stuck in my mind.


dirty_blog.jpg


Anyhoo, I hope you enjoyed my walk down memory lane, maybe I'll share some of the darker memories with you too but you'll just have to wait until next time.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!

Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.

Please check out my recent posts:

What Does Christmas Mean To You
My Favourite Bullet Journal Pages for 2018
Making My Dad's Birthday Present
My Resolutions for 2019
Summertime - Ice Cream Text
Blueberry Crystals
Memories From The Bus

Line

Imgur

Line

To make your own steemitboard footer, check out this post by @arcange

(Yay, I finally fixed the code so my footer stays updated with my most recent awards)

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66