My Resolutions for 2019

in #life6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: My Resolutions for 2019


Checking Off My Bucket List


DSC_1114_steem.jpg

This picture is of the delicious 'Grazing Table' prepared by my sister for Christmas Day. Isn't it beautiful?


During a quiet moment yesterday, I had a little think about some things I would like to change in my life for 2019.

Of course, we all seem to have a bucket list which becomes an eternal list of 'things to do' but from this list I've chosen a couple of things that relate directly to my own health and well-being so I thought I would share those with you today.

Here are the two most important changes that I will be making in 2019.

Tai Chi

This has been on my 'To-Do' list since teenage years and something that I've just never gotten around to. Many times when I have witnessed people practising Tai Chi in the park, I have always been mesmerised by their movements and somehow, felt drawn to their energy.

In my local area, as in many other parts of the world, we have the Taoist Tai Chi Society which is a volunteer, non-profit and charitable organisation offering instruction in Tai Chi as developed by Master Moy Lin-shin.

The Taoist Tai Chi Society say that the Tai Chi developed by Master Moy Lin-shin is designed to promote health and well-being for people of all ages and in all health conditions.

The Taoist Society also hold an open day known as Open House providing an opportunity to see demonstrations, learn about the many health benefits and try a free introductory class for members of the public.

Sounds like this is just what the doctor..? no wait... it's just what the Master ordered

Unfortunately, the next open day at my local branch will not be held until 2 February so I will have to practice some patience and utilise my time to learn more about the exercise.

Although, just the thought of attending already fills me with excitement and it is something I am very much looking forward to.

Meditation

Again, this has been on the list for a very long time and in the past, I have used relaxation techniques and breathing exercises to lower my heart rate for whatever reasons.

One of my favourite techniques and one that I found to be the most helpful was being able to breathe deeply into my diaphragm rather than taking shallow breaths into my chest and the feeling that my body was relaxing (you know, that sinking feeling) with every exhale.

Over the past few years (and I think this has been in response to personal trauma) it seems that I have lost this natural ability and I'm finding it really difficult to inhale those really deep slow breaths BUT this is exactly why Meditation has been placed near the top of my list.

For this improvement, I will be looking to Sahaja Yoga Meditation for guidance. Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi is the founder of Sahaja Yoga meditation which she started in 1970 and insisted that it be shared with all people, at no cost. Today, Sahaja Yoga meditation is offered in over one hundred countries worldwide, free of charge.

There are two local options where I can attend classes, the first location resumes classes on the 4 February and the second option resumes on the 7 March... Can you guess which one I'll be attending? Yeah, that was a trick question 'coz it will probably be both hahaha

Anyhoo, that's it for today as it's way too hot to sit next to a computer for much longer but I would be interested to hear if anyone else has made resolutions for the new year, maybe we can motivate each other.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post,
I really do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!

Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.

Please check out my recent posts:

What Does Christmas Mean To You
My Favourite Bullet Journal Pages for 2018
Making My Dad's Birthday Present

Line

Imgur

Line

To make your own steemitboard footer, check out this post by @arcange

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Happy New Year @alphaccino Congratulations on your well thought out New Year's resolutions. All very healthy options and I hope you will reach your goals.

Thank you @trudeehunter, have you made any resolutions yourself?

My motivation came from a quote I heard last year, it was along the lines of my piece of mind is what makes me wealthy. I can't even remember where I heard it, but these interests were ones that I know I would regret not following (especially Tai Chi).

That's a very interesting quote @alphaccino.art Wealth can be measured in so many ways.Yes, I have made resolutions without writing them down because I can remember them well from last year and the year before. (lol)

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

If you get going on the Tai Chi and the meditation. you should have a very healthy year :)

For me in meditation. I find I need to relax my face muscles first. They are always squinched up, and it feels so good to release that tension!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57257.58
ETH 2345.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40