Learn Art with Me - Basic Watercolor Materials

Hello friends, this is my second video in the Learn Art with Me series; a semi-comprehensive series for those who want to learn some art. The first set of videos are all going to be the absolute most basic information you will need to know when starting out with watercolor.

The videos will build off of one another - as I continue the series, and incorporate actual art pieces that you can follow along with, I will be able to reference these foundational videos in case you have any question about materials, etc.

Ultimately, I just hope that this series will be a good place for steemians to go who are interested in learning some traditional art.

The most important advice from the video is that if you are starting out in watercolor you really have to start with quality materials; not artists' grade (expensive), but at least student grade(middle road). The quality of the paper, brushes, and paint make a BIG difference!

Brief overview of the video:

The Paper

  • Make Sure to use actual watercolor paper (140 lbs)
    img

The Brushes

  • You only need two good watercolor brushes to get started - student grade.
    Windsor and Newton - Cotman - Size 12 round is a good utility brush
    img

And one Flat Wash brush:
img

The Paint

  • Do NOT use super cheap watercolor paints like what is pictured below; you will never be able to get a smooth wash, the finished product will look splotchy.
    img

  • In order to ensure you are practicing your techniques properly to come to a smooth looking watercolor finish without splotches you need to use student grade paint, like Windsor and Newton Cotman brand:

img

Please leave any questions or comments below!

If you'd like to see more like this, please follow me @allstarrunner!


Please check out some of my art:

@allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner
Sort:  

This is an informative advice. Thanks for sharing.

no problem, glad to help!

I waiting your next content.

Nice job, good info

I liked your intro and outro too!!

thanks; they were made using a program called "Blender"

Great first official episode, brother! Resteemed for more exposure, as I feel like this deserves a lot more attention than it's getting. Very comprehensive! Even though I'm not super unfamiliar, I picked up a lot of neat useful information. I like how you set this up for the absolute beginner. No matter the skill level, I feel everyone will appreciate this. "The Trinity of Watercoloring" haha! Awesome! I think that perfectly captured the content of this video. Should've been the title!

Nice work with this, man! I have no doubt that the exposure will pick up, and by the 5th video you'll have way more viewers in :D

thanks man! Yeah I came up with that trinity thing on the fly lol I majored in Biblical Studies so that is more or less my background, ha. I might actually put a hiatus on the videos until I get a better camera. I don't know when that will be but it bothers me that the quality of the video is so sub par, I feel like I'll probably go back and re-shoot the ones I've already done too, so might as well wait.

Ha! Awesome! Way to put what you learned to work! I totally get why you would be bothered by it. I would be too. But, I feel like for the beginner stuff with the introduction to the basics, you could easily be forgiven for it. For the process ones or ones that require detail, I'm sure a better camera would be beneficial. You don't have to redo all of them, I think.

I like this! Your video was really well-structured and easy to follow. Plus you outlined everything in the post exactly like in the video. Thanks for making quality content, so glad I'm already following you to watch your progress ☺

thanks! it's definitely a work in progress, i really have no idea what i'm doing! lol I need to get a better camera, so I might take a break from the videos until I can get that. But this has still been good practice for me :) thanks again!

Practice is such a great tool for self-development, especially when it's paired with honest feedback. Looking forward to the next video!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64