"KILL THE PAD" CHALLENGE SUBMISSION THREAD WEEK #1 - SPONSORED BY STEEM MUSIC ALLIANCE

in #killthepad6 years ago (edited)


Artwork by @scuzzy

What is Kill The Pad Challenge?

Kill The Pad challenge is a bi-weekly topical text based rap competition for SBD. Why am I starting a text based rap initiative? We have many creative writers in the hip hop community. One doesn't have to get onto the mic to show their prowess with lyricism. This will benefit the less experienced and the more experienced alike. Topicals are always a good exercise. It's all about elevating together, learning from each other, and growing as an artist.

IF YOU ARE A RAPPER, WRITER, OR POET THEN YOU SHOULD PARTICIPATE! LET'S HONE OUR SKILLS AND BECOME BETTER ARTISTS TOGETHER!



This challenge is sponsored by the SMA. If you are a musician, singer, song writer, rapper, or musically inclined in any way, head over there and connect with other musicians! An invite button is at the bottom of the post.




This is the submission post. Please submit links to your post here before Thursday at 3 A.M. EST.

If you want to participate but didn't already do so before today, that's fine, you can. However, please make yourself acquainted with the rules and the topic on the original post.

However, that post is too old to be upvoted/resteemed, so if you haven't already done so on that post, you can also upvote/resteem this post in order to enter the challenge. Other than that, all the rules remain.






I will be judging your entries on a few criteria. Structure, content, rhyme scheme, and how well it fits the topic. Each will be given a number from 0-10. The average will be the overall score. I will also be leaving critiques on each of the raps submitted. This is all constructive criticism!! I believe that people can't truly grow as artists without objective onlookers critiquing their work.

Remember, this is a rap competition. While most rap can be considered poetry, most poetry wouldn't be considered rap. If you are a poet, don't worry, do what you do. I will try to leave critiques for every entry and let you know what could be improved upon, if anything.

DO NOT POST LYRICS ON THIS PAGE. Please put them in your own post and wait until next Wednesday for the submission post. Thanks!!





Are you a music creator or just love music?

Steem Music Alliance. Singers, producers, everything.

Sort:  

Yeaaa dude! Left you a critique my man! Thanks for participating!

Yo yo. Good stuff man!!

Definitely a verse I and I believe many other people can relate to. Sometimes even when we runaway from home, the abuse still lingers in the mind. Good entry man, I hope life finds you in good health and well being

Left you a critique my dude!

Sweet!! Can't wait to read it man!

Very deep entry, with nice/noncliche good rhyming pattering and rhythm and I liked about 80% of it but the last few lines do raise concern. Only because I know truly how we can fail to cope with such tyranny oppression and violent abuse. We are quick to retaliate and involve innocent lives as we seek vengeance so I hope you have been able to handle your growth from these situations in a better light and I am sorry you went through what you went through. You are not alone at all. We shall stay stronger than those who had laid hands with bad intentions

Thanks man, i have grown a extreme amount since then its been a good 14 years and im stronger then ever :) but its a level most people dont get to see or hear about which i remember very well, i knew it would be somewhat controversial towards the end but unfortunately it becomes a very rational thought when your falling off the edge of sanity. I really appreciate the feedback :)

Loved this man!! Left a full critique on your post!

@simgirl spitting facts in #killthepad!!

I don't often say this, but I loved the effectiveness of your repetition. It really drives home hope and positive inspiration. Nice entry

Woot woot, can't wait to read this!

Thanks everyone!

Nice attempt, I like the Acrostics section of your entry. The more you write the easier it will be to overcome and master Writer's Block with effective literature you create with intentful purpose and impacting passion.

"Nice attempt" OUCH! They did say this game can be brutal lol Anyhow, I appreciate you checking it out and leaving a comment. Took it upon myself to edit it a bit to hopefully better depic the journey of the piece. About to view your submission next and see what I can learn from there lol

Beautiful initiative james. I invited my pal to join the blockchain recently, and I will get this across to him soon as he joins.

Unfortunately I do not write rap or rap (songs yes), but I will definitely reach out to a few people. this is really cool though. Thanks.

Thanks for the support! Tell all your friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33