Building Connection With My Children Through Play

in #kids6 years ago

Hi all, how was your weekend? I hope you had a great time with your friends and loved ones. My husband and I had the privilege to attend a two-hour parenting class on Saturday afternoon. I talked a bit about this class in one of my previous posts, Spending Time and Building Connection With Our Children | FOC Parenting Class On 14 April 2018. The class was free-of-charge I had a great time learning from the trainers and also from other parents. This parenting class is held once a month since January. However, I missed a couple of classes either because I was sick or the kids were sick and I had to stay home with them.

The lesson

In my previous post, I shared a bit about why it is very important to build the connection with my children. A child who has a healthy connection with his/her parents will feel belong, accepted and loved unconditionally. So how do parents build this precious connection with their children? Simple. PLAY.

Playing is very important and an essential element for young children. Children learn many things through play. It builds their self-confidence, their social skills, and motor skills. The benefit is even more if parents are actively involved in playing with their children. The children will feel more loved and accepted if the parents carve a time out of their busy schedule just to be with them.

Sounds simple, isn't it?

Personally for me, I acknowledge the importance of playing with my kids and giving my full attention to them while playing (not distracted by phone etc). However, to be honest it indeed is easier said than done! I admit I struggle to do this. Here are some of my excuses:

  1. I am tired (who doesn't?)
  2. I am lazy
  3. It's boring (I love my kids but it's hard to show enthusiasm if you have been playing the same board game many times)

So there. If you don't have excuses like I do well good for you! You are a terrific parent! But I can't say it's the same for me. However, though I struggle to do it I have to constantly remind myself that playing with my kids is a form of investment. I probably don't reap the benefit now or the benefit is not tangible but I know if I continue to make the effort despite my excuses, my connection with my children will become closer and I will have less "problematic" teenagers to handle in the future. I know there is no guarantee that my kids will turn out okay but as a mother I have hope and I want to do my best NOW and reduce my future regrets.

Here are some of the pictures of us (mainly my husband because I was busy taking pictures) playing with our children and also a couple of videos my husband @voltranrex playing and bonding with my son. I hope they inspire you to start making more effort to play and build the connection with your little ones.

1.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post!

My previous posts:

Daily Devo | A Man of Suffering

Daily Devo | Short Lesson From Gideon

Stencil Painting | Roses, Here Today Gone Tomorrow

A Page From My Sketchbook | Roses!

Mixed-Media Stencil Painting - Frustration and Despair | Making A Decision to Change

Whisper Gallery I - Week XI | The Precious

Winner Announcement | Weekly Doodle Contest Week #3 WINNER


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE3.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

I am not a parent but I play a lot with my nephews and younger cousins... Bonding is very easy with children and there are many things I do with them that doesn't involve any toys or electronics... Just like my post on minimalism, intangibles like time spent with child is one of the best thing in life.

You are absolutely right @orangila. Children do not need expensive gadgets and toys. Making simple crafts and playing board games or going to the park/playground can be a very fulfilling and enjoyable experience for them.

Yes... and instead of buying games, we think of something to do out of "nothing"... it is very fun to think like a kid of things to play when you have nothing, creativity comes it and it sure can be fun

The excuses... HIT me... Same here...
Tired... Exhausted... Lazy...
Guilty as charged...
I will try my very very best to play with them and be with them everyday...

In the same boat here. You are not alone :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51