Daily Devo | Short Lesson From Gideon

in #art6 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I share my daily devo/Bible reading. This morning, my husband @voltranrex brought the kids to attend my daughter's sports day and because I had a pounding migraine this morning I had to stay home. And of course, I don't mind because being an introvert I thrive in solitude and stillness. It's a welcome break from my daily routine.

This morning I read from Judges 6, the story about Gideon. I gained some new insights but what amazes me the most is the lesson I learned from a couple of verses here:

"These enemy hordes, coming with their livestock and tents, were as thick as locusts; they arrived in droves of camels too numerous to count. And they stayed until the land was stripped bare." ~ Judges 6:5

The enemy of the Israelites, the Midianites, was too numerous to count and they oppressed the Israelites by taking away their crops and life stocks. Without food resources, the Israelites were left to die in starvation and they cried out to God to deliver them from the calamities. Then God sent his angel to Gideon...

"The Lord said to him, “I will be with you. And you will destroy the Midianites as if you were fighting against one man.” ~ Judges 6: 16

Notice that four words - fighting against one man? The enemy that was too numerous too count was only one man to God.

I often see my problems as too many and I have no strength or capability to solve them. But to God, these problems are "one problem" that he can help me solve if I allow him to be the Lord of my life.

The "devo doodles" in my sketchbook:

1.jpg

2.jpg

30223897_10156149574069070_800994984_o.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post!

My previous posts:

Stencil Painting | Roses, Here Today Gone Tomorrow

A Page From My Sketchbook | Roses!

Mixed-Media Stencil Painting - Frustration and Despair | Making A Decision to Change

Whisper Gallery I - Week XI | The Precious

Winner Announcement | Weekly Doodle Contest Week #3 WINNER

Spending Time and Building Connection With Our Children | FOC Parenting Class On 14 April 2018

Doodle Shoes Project


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE3.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Did you know if you practice saying "I have strength"every day? One day, without realizing it. You will have that strength. Amen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51