Whisper Gallery I - Week XI | The Precious

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Sometime in December/January, I was contacted by @mrblinddraw if I would be interested to be a part of his art initiative called the Whisper Gallery. I was intrigued and wanted to participate however I hesitated because I was very sick at that time. He assured me that it's a long project and I could select a slot whichever is suitable for me. So I selected the second week of April which is this week!

The Whisper Gallery art collaboration is based on the game called "Chinese Whispers".

"A chain of artistic creations that are each initiated by a seed idea/art piece (one piece of artwork inspires the next piece, and so on). Each week we will have a featured artist who will create a piece that is inspired by the piece from the week before."~ @mrblinddraw

There were ten artists participated in the past couple of months. You can see the trail of artwork in this post: Whisper Gallery I: Week IX

Let me present you the doodle art I made for this collaboration which I named The Precious.

header.jpg

The inspiration

My work is inspired by @scuzzy's digital art, Parakeet Island, which was inspired by @adrianv's painting "World of Dreams".

scuzzy.png

Source: @scuzzy's Parakeet Island

"What I saw in @adrianv's World of Dreams was a bird's eye view of a group of islands. So I used that concept to design my piece -- a closeup of a section of an island." ~ @scuzzy

Read @scuzzy's original post here.

These are the things I saw in Parakeet Island - the cliffs, the crashing waves, the mountains, and the sky. I imagined the mighty forces that created those things. What pushed the mountains and the cliffs upward? The thrust and fold movements of the tectonic plates deep within the earth. And far beneath these plates are where the gemstones are formed. Do you know that most gemstones are formed in the Earth's crust which is about 25 miles beneath the Earth's surface? And only two gemstones - diamond and peridot - are formed in the Earth's mantle? These gemstones are so rare and difficult to extract and that is why they are so precious! So I decided to create a doodle art with 5 gemstones of different colors - blue, purple, orange, pink and green.

The doodle

It took me a couple of days to work on this mixed-media doodle art. I painted the gemstones using water-soluble colored pencils and white gouache paint. I drew the rest of the doodle freehand. I drew a basic outline and used it to guide the flow of my work. Here is a time-lapse video of me drawing a section of it:

And here are the progress photos:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post!

My previous posts:

Winner Announcement | Weekly Doodle Contest Week #3 WINNER

Spending Time and Building Connection With Our Children | FOC Parenting Class On 14 April 2018

Doodle Shoes Project

The First Four of My Steemit Comment Stickers

A Short Trip to My Hometown & Gemstone Doodle Project


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48