Spending Time and Building Connection With Our Children | FOC Parenting Class On 14 April 2018

in #kids6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Hi all, it's Monday and the beginning of another week! So how was your weekend? Was it great? Personally, for me, weekends are full of family time. After rushing to do stuff - working or schooling - during the weekdays, we always try to make time to be with the children. We are not perfect parents and we made (still make) a lot of parenting mistakes we are not proud of but we try to be GOOD ENOUGH parents to our children.

My husband and I attended the Good Enough Parenting workshop and even read the recommended book of the same title. (I wrote a bit about this workshop and some of the thing I learned a while back). We learned a lot of things from this workshop and I do encourage parents, especially those with young children, to attend it too. The trainers are from Singapore, however, currently, there is no workshop scheduled in Kuala Lumpur. The previous workshop in KL was held in October last year. However, if you really want to attend it, there will be one scheduled in Kuching, Sarawak in June this year. You can refer the details below:

WhatsApp Image 2018-03-21 at 3.44.30 PM.jpeg

The fee is MYR160 per person or MYR280 per couple. I think the fee is quite reasonable, don't you think so?

And here is the preview video of the workshop.

One of the main things I learned from this workshop is about building the connection with my children. When children are connected to their parents/caregivers, they feel completely attached to their parents. They feel belong, accepted and loved unconditionally. When children have this sense of connection they will believe the following messages about their parents:

  1. They value me and want to spend time with me
  2. They miss me when I am away from them
  3. They care about my feelings
  4. They accept and proud of me even I have weaknesses
  5. I am special to them
  6. They respect me
  7. They are honest with me
  8. They believe in my capabilities and want to guide me

So how do we build this precious connection with our children? Well, it's quite simple, we make time to be with them, not just as a family but individually with each child. We free ourselves from things that distract us and focus our attention 100% on our children. Even though it sounds simple, it does take a lot of effort to do it. I admit I do struggle a lot to spend time with my kids because I am just having a hard time to extract myself from my busy-ness. However, I tell myself that I may not see the results now but I will reap the positive outcome in the future when my kids are older.

Do you want to learn how to build a connection with your children? Well, you can join us for a 2-hour FOC parenting class this Saturday. However, the class is for non-Muslims only. You can see the details below. Feel free to leave your comment if you are interested to attend the class.

WhatsApp Image 2018-04-04 at 9.24.35 AM.jpeg

Here are some of the pictures of stuff we did with the kids last weekend.

1.jpeg

6.jpeg

7.jpeg

8.jpg

9.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post!

My previous posts:

Doodle Shoes Project

The First Four of My Steemit Comment Stickers

A Short Trip to My Hometown & Gemstone Doodle Project

Doodle Project | My Steemit Doodle Stickers

Doodle Contest Week #3 | Foods & Drinks | SBD4 For The Winner!


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Nice family bonding <3

Yes it is. Thanks @ishanvirtue 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49