Getting To Know The Japanese Steemit Community

in #japan6 years ago

i'm back home in Japan enjoying the sunrise and a coffee. As I was catching up on Steemit I realized something, I think a lot of Japanese posts are not making it to the Steemit community outside of Japan. The Japanese Steemit community is starting to take off. There are a lot of great bloggers, but most are in Japanese. This can be a hurdle for most non-japanese speaking people. However, there are several who are also putting the translations in their posts making it much easier for readers and I wanted to highlight some of them for you as well as talk a bit about my experience with the community as a foreigner.

Let's start with the latter first. I can't say enough good things about the Japanese Steemit community. They have made me feel like I am part of the family, even without ever meeting face to face. I was asked to be an advisor for them and an out reach to the expat community here in Tokyo, which I will be throwing a club night next month to teach Tokyoites about Steemit. That was the first gesture of friendship, aside from comments, posts, follows and upvotes.

Then the outpouring of support and well wishers this past weekend, specifically from the Japanese community, choked me up. I knew I would get votes and I was hoping for them, but when the leaders of the community wrote posts urging others to help and when Japanese members start donating SDB I realized that the Japanese community is where I needed to focus my efforts. Such giving people deserve reciprocation. So, here are some posts I think might peel the curtain back a little of what is going on over here.

@hiradate has a post about himself and @moromaro @sho-t @crypto.hack @shogo @exhige @masan @tonpa @takatomo @taiki9191 and @mnsk0619 meeting in Shibuya for a Steemit study group. They then went to the NEM bar. Yes, there is an actual NEM bar in Shibuya which accepts NEM, BTC and other crypto. His post about that meeting is here.

@sjt has a curation blog going that highlights 5 daily Japanese posts. This is a great idea to further grow the community. I have been watching it for a while now and I believe he/she is fair in selecting the posts. You can find the latest post here.

@yo-yo has a post about a trip to Korea and staying in a traditional Korean inn. in English, Japanese and Korean! You can read about it here.

@ace69 has an interesting post about a Harley Davidson motorcycle that was ravaged by the 3/11 tsunami and found near Canada. I recall hearing about this. You can read about it here.

These are just a few authors that post in Japanese and English. There are many more like my friends @steemitjp and @yoshiko to name a few. I would encourage you to seek a few Japanese Steemians out because the community is really starting to take off over here and there are some fantastic bloggers joining.

I will do these curation/introduction posts about once a month to keep pushing Japanese Steemians to the broader Steemit community.

Thanks for reading. Please upvote their posts before you upvote mine.


I am part of Steemit Blogger Center.

Steemit Blogger Central is building communities and empowering Leaders.

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Our Steemit Blogger Central Discord community is here:

Discord:
https://discord.gg/e5XFZKa

Sort:  

Sorry, saw this post late.
I been following japanese steemians, but only those who post english translation. Although I believe most translations are done through google, we still appreciate the effort, this makes our reading easier.

Came across this post in my feed the other day. Got attracted by the title, images, and infographics, as I like these kind of stuffs. But the post was in pure japanese and google was giving me very poor translation. So I thought, it might be good for another steemian to repost it in English? So that more readers can benefit from taiki's experiment? (I think he was doing some kind of experiment.)
https://steemit.com/japanese/@taiki9121/steem-bot-tracker

@jrvacation, we have done this in the past with my community @steemitbc, but the translation was from English to Japanese. We let the translator take all the rewards as it was more important for us to get exposure.

Also, #culturevulture does this too. They were paying the SBD to the author and the translator would take the STEEM.

I think it's important to get information out to other people. I can talk to the Japanese community and see if it is something people would be interested in. Perhaps we could start a project together?

I agree. Some localised posts are best kept within the community, while others could be translated to gain more exposure, especially those that provide information.
But, we can't translate! Not sure how we can be of help here. LOL.
What we can do, is to support the author or translator with our little voting power.

I will be meeting with the community next weekend to talk about many things. I will bring this up to everyone and see if we can find a good solution.

Support is important, no matter how small.

I resteemed this post. Thank you for your support.

language barriers can be tough, I noticed this when I visited Japan myself... I thought since English was the second language in Japan many people would be able to communicate with me, but this was definitely not the case.

The Japanese steemit community definitely has a lot to offer and I am glad you are taking initiative and helping to spread the word about this

Good work, keep it up
steem on

Thank you for introducing my post!
And thank you for always support ^ ^

Thank you for introducing my article. I think that you are busy now but I support you.

It is important that you try to communicate with other people, even if the translation isn't perfect. It's the effort that counts.

Thank you for introducing me. I hope that the Japanese community will spread. I will support your activities.

The Japanese community is growing a lot! You are doing your part to help that and it should be recognized. We all have our part to play. Keep woking hard!

フォローさせてもらいました。:D

ありがとうございます。おれもフォローをしました。

Hi @rt395... Good morning n welcome back to Jpn! Thank you so much for introducing my post here. Well... I started using steemit since last month. I'm newbie but I have similar opinion with you. I mean, write article in English or another language is important to let everyone know about one's article, and also I think "tag" is very important in steemit, isn't it? I had nice chatting with @olga2772 and @yadamaniart the other day, it was about how we can communicate with steemians outside of Japan and what does "good post" mean. I got some ideas from them and that's also why I tried writing my article in English and Korean yesterday(Korean is 100% translate with Google).
I'm enjoying steemit right now already, but also I think every Japanese steemians has more opportunity to take off to other countries. So I want to keep testing what I can do right now to see which is the best way to write article from Japan to the world... This takes time and not easy to keep going especially I can't get any reactions. But I've known there's some people who are trying to find " good post" so I have positive feeling right now. And in that meaning, your post today also encouraged me a lot. I really appreciate you. I'm thinking write about this topic in my post some day.
Take care and please take some rest first ;)

@yo-yo san, thank you for the welcome back!

There are a lot of factors that go into having your post succeed. Tags are one of the most important, but they are losing their importance because your post will be buried amongst many others under the same tag. This leads to three other options:

  1. Niche tags. They won't get the traffic, but they will get devotees. For example the "Homesteading" tag produced a nice, small, strong community that supported one another.
  2. Bots. Think of them as advertising to get your post notice by everyone else. If you are not using them you are handicapping yourself, as I did for too long. Also, you must know "how" to use them. Time them to vote on your post before the 30min mark so you receive the maximum rewards.
  3. Networking. Just like in life networking and building relationships is essential. Commenting on people's posts, joining their discord servers, etc. This is as important if not more important than tags.

Of course your content needs to stand out. There are several ways to do this, format, presentation(photos) and one I like, sensationalism. Japan is still a very small community so you can find your niche before others and build on that category. However, even the best content will not get you the votes unless you get picked up by a whale or curation service like OCD. It just takes time to build your account and followers. You need to invest your time and your $$. A larger wallet will attract people. Some people don't like this, but it has to be said.

Language. There are 3 primary languages in the world, English, Spanish & Chinese. English has the largest, most valuable audience. I think Chinese and Spanish are probably equal at the moment in terms of value, but with China's crackdown Spanish will take the lead over Chinese.

These are just quick thoughts to get back to you. I will probably make a long, detailed post about them someday....

wow... very interesting! I got many information what I didn't know... Thank you so much for your time to make this note dear and I'm going to do them one by one. yoyo

Great posting and I feel you have sincere positive mind about the steemit community. Thanks Resteem!!

I try to support as many people as I can. I don't think like a whale.

4/14 チェックします!よろしくお願いします。

これたら是非来て下さい!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34