I have wasted my life/ Ho sprecato la mia vita — Writers Block Poetry Contest Week 2

in #ita6 years ago

Hi everyone, This is my entry for The Writers’ Block Poetry Contest: Week 2

WRITING PROMPT: Write a poem inspired by James Wright’s poem “Lying in a Hammock at William Duffy’s Farm in Pine Island, Minnesota”.

Immagine CC0 creative commons



I have wasted my life
Always making money,
But I take nothing in the afterlife
And I never did something funny.

All I ever cared about
Was becoming rich,
Now, I'm rich, there is no doubt
But soon I'll be in a ditch.

So, you try to enjoy this life
Cause the death does not care,
About who you choose to be your wife
Or what you did and who you were.

Don't make the same mistakes I made
Enjoy your life, travel, love and learn,
From this society, try to evade
Cause the youth doesn't return.





Tutta la mia vita ho vissuto
Pensando solo a guadagnare,
Ora è arrivato il momento tanto temuto
E con me, nulla posso portare.

Dai soldi mi son fatto accecare
E nient'altro mi interessava,
Mi resi conto che la vita andai a sprecare
Quando ormai la morte si avvicinava.

Non ho vissuto quasi mai
Eppure di anni ne ho ottantatre,
Quindi attento a ciò che fai
E pensa spesso anche a te.

Evitate di fare i miei sbagli
Amate, viaggiate, imparate,
Liberatevi dai vostri guinzagli
Perchè la morte arriva e con voi nulla portate.


Se volete, date un occhiata alle altre poesie che ho scritto:

If you like my poems, here is a list from the first to the last one:

From-1-poem-to-50-poems

Poem no. 51Una Brutta Giornata
Poem no. 52Qual'é il nostro scopo in questa vita?
Poem no. 53John Il Senzatetto
Poem no. 54Quel Ragazzo
Poem no. 55Haters Will Hate/ Le Critiche
Poem no. 56The Future/ Il Futuro
Poem no. 57 Satisfaction/ La Soddisfazione
Poem no. 58 We are the zombies/ Gli zombie siamo noi
Sort:  

Bellissima e ci cade a pennello oggi, perchè parlavo di questo ad un'amico che si fa 15 ore al giorno. Io gli ho detto, ma cosa vuoi arrivare a 60 anni che hai solo lavorato e non hai mai dedicato tempo a te stesso? Gli ho detto guarda che poi te ne penti...

Ti ringrazio per i complimenti, fagliela leggere al tuo amico ahaha.

Bravissimo Silviu, una delle migliori!

Ti ringrazio, sono contento che ti sia piaciuta, a me sembrano tutte molto belle quando le scrivo, solo quando le vado a rileggere dopo mesi, mi rendo conto che alcune non sono un granchè.

Da quando ho letto le prime il tuo livello continua a salire, complimenti

Grazie, l'unico modo per migliorare è continuare a scrivere, poi a me piace scrivere e voglio migliorare per questo provo a scrivere almeno una poesia al giorno.

get rich while you enjoy life, working your whole life so your kids may not have to work as hard is joyful to me :)

Do not be the slave of money, think more about enjoying life and all the beauties that it can offer.

nobody is a slave to money "money" is the fruit of your labor some people like more fruit then others so they can have stock and with the stock they will have future profits, that way they can live there life even more, while also making sure there kids will have something as well.

We think in a different way my friend, for me, money can't buy happiness love or health which are the most important...

well your labor does effect your health, but happiness comes from the mind, you cant buy happiness its a feeling, I plan on working hard and gathering as much fruit as i can for my future generations and myself at the same time ill be happy not because of my labor but because I am just happy.

I understand both of your points. Working is totally fine. If you enjoy what you do, especially. There are people who become slaves to money, who are unhappy working and overworking to earn money. That is not okay. Never trade your happiness for money.

happiness is a mindset, work is a necessary thing that has been with every living thing on earth. Now today thanks to our monetary policies and our interventionist government, we may be forced to work more then we should have too. That is a matter of voting for a president, a Representative, that wants to get out of your life.

I read both the English and Italian version (I can understand Italian, even though I cannot speak it). I must say, the Italian version has a different spin to it, it feels stronger and better. Maybe when wanting to make it rhyme in English, there was a lot that was twisted and changed to fit the rhyme. In a way, I would think it would have been better not use rhyme. Really good job though; totally loved the Italian version. The last line is written exceptionally, :"Perchè la morte arriva e con voi nulla portate." It emphases the point really well, to something that was already said earlier, but in a more concrete tone.

Actually i like more the english version, I first wrote it in english then i tryed to express the same ideas in italian.
Thank you for your comment, I apreciate it.

I guess that is why poetry is subjective. It could be totally the mental perception that we tend to swoon over foreign countries (Italian is quite a romantic language), so that even if it does not say the same, I am biased to like it more hahaha.

Simply motivation of wisdom. nice one great poem so many related on this. thanks for sharing this. have nice day. bon giorno amigo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64242.18
ETH 3496.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50