Hello Steemit World! My First Impressions...

Hey everyone! I just learned about Steemit on Youtube and I thought it's a brilliant idea. Giving back control and value to content creators is an absolute no brainer, and companies like Facebook and the likes who work on extracting value from users while giving almost nothing back to content creators will soon lose all the good content.

I'm a startup CEO based in Istanbul, Turkey, and I'll tell you more about myself in later posts (if that'll be anything interesting). But the relevant story here is about my family and how this is related.

My dad who's back home in Lebanon runs a fish restaurant and has a Facebook page for his small family business. At first, restaurant customers were engaging with his business very nicely on Facebook and he was enjoying the likes as if it was cash! However Facebook all of a sudden started asking him to pay to promote his page, and posts that used to reach 10's of likes started not showing to anyone. In my opinion, that's pure fraud and greed, and it will backfire eventually. I just wasn't sure when it'll backfire on Facebook since they have such good network effects.

I think Steemit might do just that. And I'm not talking in this case about my dad's little family business. I'm talking about the great writers, curators, photographers, vloggers (is there video here? Haven't seen that yet), musicians, etc... The idea of Steemit has so much potential and I can't wait to see how it'll unfold.

I'm still not sure how this thing works, so feel free to comment and let me know your thoughts, recos on how to use this right.

Cheers from Istanbul guys!

Sort:  

Hi i'm @chrisx , The MelonMan haha
nice to meet you, looking forward to see you around
have as much fun as possible :-)
and my upvote hehe wushhhhhhhhhh
cheers

Hello & Welcome to Steemit xalihalabi,

I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you !

I would just start following and talk to the people here first, with the time
i am sure the trend is going up with you !

bienvenida, willkommen and velkommen

Good Luck & Cheers

Welcome to Steemit! You are going to love it here :)
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Welcome to Steemit @xalihalabi :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Welcome to Steem @xalihalabi I have sent you a tip

Congratulations @xalihalabi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to Steemit @xalihalabi
Hope you have a Great Time here
To stay updated with the latest trends in Technology Do check out my Blog
Follow me and I'll Follow Back
Peace :)

You are welcome to steemit! A great community to be part of.
Feel free to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for food and health-related articles.

welcome to steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39