Hi Steemit! It's Lynn from Korea. Let me introduce myself :)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit! 

It's Lynn here. :)  안녕하세요! 스팀잇 가입인사드려요! 

I stumbled upon Steemit online and as I researched more about it, I got really intrigued by Steemit's unique platform and its community. The most exciting thing about Steemit to me is that everyone here seems genuinely supportive of what other Steemians post and share as long as they are authentic. Although I always wanted to try blogging online, I never believed I am a good writer and I never had the courage to write about myself online.  It even took me couple weeks of hesitation after signing up, but I finally decided to start my very first blog on Steemit! I hope my posts here will also bring positive supports from you guys that I can build confidence to write and share more about myself and my experiences with you all. :) 

Where am I from?

Every time I am asked this question, I always start with a deep breath. That is because this question is not as simple as it sounds for me. So here we go..!


Firstly, I was born in Seoul, Korea. Some people say I look Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese...mm anything but Korean. However, my parents are both Koreans, so I assure you I am Korean. :)  I grew up in Korea until I was 8 years old. Since then, my family moved to Saipan. People usually ask me where that is, and I'm always ready to answer that question. Saipan is a small island in the middle of Pacific Ocean. If I still see confused faces, I go on and explain that it's one of the Northern Marianas islands...next to Guam. It is understandable that not many know about this island. If you would look at any printed world map, Saipan isn't even a mere 'dot'! In fact, its area is only 115.4 km2 with barely 50k population. As much as it is hidden away, it is such a beautiful island! 

I was very lucky to have spent my childhood and teenage years living there. The island offers clearest water, bluest skies, beautiful sunsets, and thousands of stars (AND shooting stars!) visible at night, which is rare in modern cities such as Seoul, where I now live in. My friends and family often got together and had BBQ parties or camping at the beach. Life in the paradise was amazing to say the least. ;)

After I graduated from high school in Saipan, I moved to Los Angeles for my undergraduate degree. Although the beaches in LA did not have clear water as Saipan, as an island girl I was very happy to live in the city with many beaches such as Santa Monica and Venice Beach. I love these beaches in LA as they offer LA's unique and artsy vibes. Especially at Venice Beach, I used to love 'people-watching'. There you see surfers, skaters, cyclists, gymnasts, artists, musicians, and all kinds of diverse group of people enjoying their day under the Californian sun. Going to school in LA was also a great experience. Despite of the rigorous curriculum of Architecture, my university was well-known for having great school spirits that I was happy to be part of. And of course, I met a lot of life-long friends there. 

After graduating from college, I moved to Hong Kong for work. Moving to Hong Kong was probably one of the best choices I made in my life. There I worked as an Architectural Designer at an international architecture firm for almost 4 years. Living in Hong Kong really opened my eyes to the bigger world. I met so many interesting people with different backgrounds. The city itself is also very beautiful, from amazing man-made skyscraper skyline by the harbor to natural hike trails or hidden beaches within 30min to 1 hour reach from car or boat rides. I will try to elaborate more about the unique beauties of Hong Kong in the future. 

After living in Hong Kong for 4 years, I felt my motherland was calling. I left Korea since I was 8 years old and I thought it was time I should go back to my roots. I moved back to Korea last year, and lived in Busan for short period of time. I finally moved to Seoul 6 months ago, the city where I was born in. Seoul has been amazing so far with many unique neighborhoods and hidden gems to explore.  I am very excited to finally live here and get to know my country better. I'll try to share about these hidden gems and places I've been so far in Korea in the future posts!

As you can see, my background is from many places. I take pride in it and I wish to share my experiences in depth with you in the future. Stay tuned!

What do I do for living?

As I told you before, I used to be an architectural designer. I used to design hotels, shopping malls, residential towers, luxury villas, street retails, and more. I do still love architecture and design, but I also had other dreams. With demanding and unhealthy work-life balance in architecture industry, I just couldn't find spare time to do much outside of work. So I decided to quit my job and pursue my other dream with my sister, launching a womenswear fashion brand. I am now working full-time on my brand as an art director and my sister as the designer of the brand. It has only been few months since we launched our brand, so everything is new and everything is a first. It is still nerve-racking and stressful to have so much responsibility for your own business's success, but at the same time I am happier than ever to be liberated to do what I love and not follow someone else's schedule. My sister and I started this womenswear brand with a big goal to empower more women to feel confident and sparkly in their daily lives and achieve their dreams. I hope to share with you on my journey of building the business and my work-life as the business grows! 

What topics will I be posting on Steemit?

I am a girl with so many interests in life! I wish to share many things I love with you guys. Also, I think sharing with others about what I love will make myself more keen on keeping these hobbies and interests alive. Here are some topics I am planning to write about in the future. 

  • TRAVEL with LYNN : TRAVEL & FILM PHOTOGRAPHY
    • I love, love traveling. I mean, who doesn't? I want to share my travel experiences with you, the places I have been and what my reflections are on them. I take film photographs while I travel as a hobby, so I will share my 35mm photos here too. 
  • KOREA in LYNN's eyes : MY PERSONAL FAVORITE SPOTS IN KOREA
    • I want to introduce to you my personal favorite spots in Korea so that when you ever visit Korea you can visit them also!

  • LYNN's HEALTHY LIFE: MY JOURNEY TO BECOME VEGETARIAN (ESPECIALLY IN KOREA)
    • I've just recently started my journey to become Vegetarian (Ovo-vegetarian to be exact). As Korea is a land of meat-lovers, it is quite challenging to find Vegan & Vegetarian places. I want to share theses hidden restaurants and cafes in Seoul I've tried so far if any of you wish to stay on Vegan/Vegetarian diet while traveling in Korea. I will also share my very own vegetarian recipes and healthy lifestyle tips.


  • HERE IS MY heART : MY SKETCHES & WATERCOLORS
    • I'll be sharing my drawings and paintings here. Hope you'll like my work!


  • LAUNCHING A FASHION BRAND : MY WORK-LIFE JOURNAL
    • As I mentioned before, I want to share with you my journey of launching and building my own business. Not necessarily a success story but it will be about the process. It has only been few months since the launch, so you really are with me on this journey from the beginning! You can find more about the brand on our website and instagram too.


  • LYNN's FAV : MY FAVORITE ALL THINGS
    • I want to share anything from books, songs, architecture, art pieces, artists, and anything that I love and why I love them. Hope you'll find them interesting too. 


Thanks so much for reading my first post on Steemit! I am very excited to be part of this community and looking forward to get to know you guys more as well. Can't wait to hear what you guys think! Feel free to give me some tips on how to become a good Steemian. ;)

THANK YOU! <3

너무 영어로만 제 소개를 했죠?ㅜ 다음에 한국말로도 제 소개를 올릴께요~ 아무튼 스팀잇 한국분들도 만나서 넘 반가워요~! 잘 부탁드립니다 ^^

Love,

Lynn

Sort:  

welcome =D enjoy from @gwapology

Hi @lynnkim. I have a story to come about launching a fashion brand. NOT easy... Followed you. Meanwhile thought you might like this post https://steemit.com/kr/@tarquinmaine/shinyoung-kyun-award-at-the-asiana-film-festival-korea-a-video.

This is a great introduction and I look forward to more interesting posts from you. I just got back from a great holiday in Seoul this March. Hope that you can get lots of followers by following these tips.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@positivesteem/steemit-success-celebrating-my-700-followers-milestone-my-in-depth-sharing-on-the-who-why-how-where-and-when-of-followers-and-a

Hi Lynn!

Welcome to steemit--so glad to have you here.

I have never been to Korea but would love to visit one day. It would be great to get your recommendations on what the best places to visit are! It really seems like you have a wide variety of interests that you'll be able to share here...people really value that!

I wish you the best on your steemit journey! See you around!

Thanks so much for the comment @kccrypto! I will definitely post more on places to visit in Korea as well as my other interests! If you need any further recommendations when you visit, please feel free to let me know and I can give you more extensive recommendations as well. :)

I will definitely let you know!

Thanks Lynn.

Hello Lynn
welcome to steemit, looking forward to seeing your posts soon

Wow, fantastic post! Welcome to steemit. I'll be following you and look forward to hearing all about your travels and other experiences!

Hi Jen! Thanks, I really appreciate your comment :) Will be posting more soon!

Congratulations @lynnkim! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi and welcome!!This is a great introduction!! I'm Nena and I just can't wait to see your other posts!
Kisses!

Welcome to Steem @lynnkim I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97