Hello Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My name is Dave and I am a Business Development Executive in the wonderful world of IT. I'm based in Johannesburg, South Africa. I was introduced to Steemit through @jacor who I met at a recent golf day. I've been wanting to learning about blockchain & cryptocurrency for quite some time, but haven't found a good way to do it...until Steemit arrived in my life. 

So, here I am...ready to learn what this is all about. I am a social person by nature and also very much an extrovert and so what better may to learn about blockchain than through a blockchain-based social media platform. 

I am interested in many things and currently trying to focus my energies. I love to grow, make, build stuff particularly in the context of sustainability. I am married with 2 small children and so finding time for all the fun stuff has been tough. I am hoping that in trying to extend my professional knowledge and I can rope the family into the stories I intend telling here. I'll focus my interactions on a few different things:

  • Growing Vegetables and Fruit - for my family and also our soon-to-be launched small business(es)
  • Craft Beer - I am a novice having only made a couple of batches thus far
  • Cooking in general - it's my greatest passion
  • Vermiculture - that supports all of the above (ok, maybe not the beer)
  • Daily life as a Dad

Growing up I was never good with my pocket money - I would spend it quickly and then have nothing left for the rest of the month. I have decided to make sure my two boys learn the value of money early in their lives; particularly compound interest and investment. So, we are going to start a small business selling chilli sauce and biltong. My eldest son is able to help and so he will. We're going to grow the chilli's ourselves, develop the recipe(s), market and sell the sauce and then invest our profits into an education fund, his own savings account and also into the business. The same goes for the biltong...except we will purchase the meat rather than start a cattle farm! 

My Steemit journey will focus on documenting this journey.

Here's a few pics of our first test batch of chilli sauce that we made.

 

Here's to hoping we all learn something.

Sort:  

Hey @jozijoller

Big welcome to steemit from me

I'm Bania, I just started recently too and i am enjoying every moment here.

Here's a couple posts that can help you figure this place out

Beginners Guide To Getting Started With Steemit (REVISED) by @shayne || 1. The Introduceyourself Or Introduction Post — Steemit

Complete Guide For Steemit. Everything you need to know 👍 — Steemit

7 Helpful Tools And Apps I Use Daily To Grow My Steemit Account as a Minnow

Hope these help you like they helped me. I'm part of a team and we like to help one another learn quick.

You can learn more by checking this out

Introducing Team #minnowtowhale | Newbs, Networkers Welcome‼️ | #minnowsupportproject sub group — Steemit

Welcome! Gave you a follow!

Welcome to Steem @jozijoller I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hello @jozijoller. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Hi Jozijoller its good to see more people around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

Thanks @chrisx. Never thought the 1st response would be from a Rocket Scientist

Welcome! I hope you have fun on Steemit! We are growing faster and is good to know that you are interested in sharing some content with us! I am a Brazilian writer and videomaker, living in London. Here I post about photography, travel and stories. Have a look at my profile and if you like it, follow me. Cheers!

© copyright - all rights reserved by @tinashe

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

QUICK TIPS FOR NEWBIES
👉 CLICK HERE

Thank you


CLICK👆 HERE

Welcome to Steemit Jozijoller:) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Welcome to Steemit hope you'll like it like I do, vote & follow from me.
Steem on Dibaco from the little Netherlands

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58