Beginners Guide To Getting Started With Steemit (REVISED) by @shayne || 1. The Introduceyourself Or Introduction Post

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

1. The #introduceyourself or #introduction post

This is a big one.

A good Introduce Yourself post acts like a lighthouse that attracts other users to your page. You can use this opportunity to showcase who you are, what you plan to do with Steemit, and why people should follow your account.

These posts get regular attention from Whales (big accounts) because if new members have a great introduction post that nets them a nice profit, they'll be more likely to stick around and spread the good word about Steemit. Whales want this because the more users there are, the better their investment grows. It's really quite simple.

So how do you craft a good Introduce Yourself post?

Check out mine, because I did everything right:

Here's my Introduction video for easy access:

So, what are we looking at here?

Verify yourself

In your post you should have a picture of video of yourself (preferably video) with some identifying marker to verify that you are indeed the person making the post. This typically means you holding up a piece of paper that has the date and your steemit account ID.

Extra points for doing something creative and personal.

Who are you?

Tell us about your history. Enough that you are being sincere but probably not so much that we have to stay up past our bedtimes just to learn it.

Steemit is a lot like YouTube used to be, meaning we care about you as a person here, we're interested in your views and interests. So don't be shy.

Talk about why you joined Steemit

Why are you here? Are you trying to make money? Are you looking for an audience for your artistic content? Are you a disenfranchised blogger or YouTuber?

Tell us why you joined Steemit. Don't be ashamed because people come here for all sorts of crazy reasons.

MAKE SURE YOU USE THE RIGHT TAGS!

I can't stress this enough.

Before you post, make sure that the first tag listed is "introduceyourself", all one word, and the second is "introduction". Don't use "cryptocurrency" or "photography" or "hi" or anything like that for your first tag -- "introduceyourself" FIRST! You can use your remaining 3-4 tags for whatever you want.

The reason is that the "introduceyourself" tag is the one that will attract everyone. It is a very powerful tag.

Side note: don't abuse this tag just to get views. It will be tempting to do this, especially as you discover that it tends to get you $$$s, but if you abuse it then people will eventually find you out and you'll likely get flagged if you persist. Be honest with your content and how you tag it.

This post will be your home base for a while

If you follow the tips I'm giving you here, this introduceyourself post will be your home base for about a week, so you really want it to represent you and be a good ambassador for why people should follow you and consume the content you put out.

INDEX:

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

Great post. It helped me a lot.
I just got on Steemit and was a bit lost and intimidated by sheer amount of things available. I am new at blogging so I made some to follow notes (by following your guide). I plan to introduce myself (after I finish my avatar and how I made walkthrough or something).

Can you make a post about how to cash in your Steem into dollars or other available currency?

Thank you. Keep up the good work.

Wish I'd seen this earlier! Thank you so much for sharing!
Upvoted and followed :3

See, that's why I keep writing these sorts of things. People will show up some time after I've made one of these guides and miss the tips. I guess I need to stay on top of it lol

Yea...haha >_<

Great, thank you for the post, it will definitely be of great help, will be following you for more post before ...posting my experience on steemit..
I trust you will follow to check out my post..

hEY @shayne Welcome to this new amazing World of sTeemit ...

I'm new here's mY_inTro:https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@suraj/me-myself-on-steemit

nice post i love it .
keep posting :)

As always, great informative post, thank you!

So here I am with another question, after reading through this, I believe we did decent with our own introduction post, however, I was given ideas of more we could have and should have done. Such as why we are on steemit, and just some other details we forgot to add when shooting our video. Would it be out of line to do another introductory post down the road sharing some of these things?

Not at all! You could do a re-introduction post. Use the same tag. I see no problem with that unless you're doing it every day lol

Awesome, thank you Shayne!

I am definitely redoing it again! Thanks pal.

Thanks for the info!!! I gave you a follow on YouTube and Steemit...would you please check out my YouTube and Steemit also. What's sad is that I did not even think to see if there was a special introduction tag for my intro blog :(

Anyway, I am here on YouTube:https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJ_mCjzjperc3iu1ZCAurjA
My introduction blog is here:https://steemit.com/story/@theweirview/living-the-dream

Have a good day!

Shayne. Again valuable information. I'm from waaay back, all this technology has me baffled. I haven't as yet done my intro post, either from lack of knowledge, but I suspect more from fear. I know I have to overcome both, and you are ever so slowly assisting me and for that I want to say thank you..billytwohearts

Very helpful writeup. Following for more posts from you

Thank you

Thank You for this informative Blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34